Opinion Non-Crows AFL 7

The quality of the AFL is sooo poor. Game after game players are missing 3 metre handballs, can't pick the ball up cleanly and can't kick straight.

Essendon v GWS is putrid.
Currently not enough talent in Australia to fill 18 squads. The AFL hope that NSW/QLD will increase their output as AFL takes holds in those markets.

Apparently it’s not a matter of saving money. It’s because the on air commentators don’t want to travel

So they say. That's more for guys like Huddo and Dwayne doing two games a weekend plus radio I think.

Would have to be money with Fiveaa. Tredrea and Giniver would only need to travel ten tines a years.

All media outlets do it but I think Fiveaa given their limited calls should be there.

Currently not enough talent in Australia to fill 18 squads. The AFL hope that NSW/QLD will increase their output as AFL takes holds in those markets.
That's the AFLs hope. I don't believe it's a plan that will ever deliver significant results. Very large majority of draftees from NSW/Qld still either come from traditional AFL areas like Riverina Broken Hill, ACT or they are from families that moved there from an AFL state/region.
Been a very few "converts"from Sydney Eastern suburbs drafted, i can't think of a single player recruited from Western Sydney though.

Apparently it’s not a matter of saving money. It’s because the on air commentators don’t want to travel
This week's game for us was so poor and obvious they weren't at the game. Underwood in particular can't read the flow of a game from the screen.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon Longmire and co might know just a little bit about Allir's capabilities?

220px-Aliir_Aliir_2017.3.jpg

o
And yet ...

The thing that annoys me most, especially if this is true, is that those Victorian callers aren’t much cop anyway.

If we were talking commentary teams the level of Richie Benaud or Marv Albert, then sure.

But for Kelly Underwood and Nick Dal Santo?

Would rather they didn’t bother and for SA games got someone local. Hell I’m sure if they asked nice, Bruce would come out of retirement for a few games at AO to commentate his beloved crows.

Unless Port go on a massive run and make the Gf, then it is very very likely, almost certain, that Hinkley won’t get a new contract this year

And all the chest beating by Korne-Francis and his SEN mates over the Sydney result will be in vain

Tredrea will have been proven right and this season will be a waste.

Tredders has played this beautifully.

The thing that annoys me most, especially if this is true, is that those Victorian callers aren’t much cop anyway.

If we were talking commentary teams the level of Richie Benaud or Marv Albert, then sure.

But for Kelly Underwood and Nick Dal Santo?

Would rather they didn’t bother and for SA games got someone local. Hell I’m sure if they asked nice, Bruce would come out of retirement for a few games at AO to commentate his beloved crows.
We should complain to the AFL about the substandard broadcasting our club endures.
Commentating from a studio is so 2020. Foxtel need to be sent a message that "working from home" is lazy and poor quality.
Disrespectful of interstate teams too.

Any word on Harry McKay contesting his ban?

What am I missing? What’s this about songs
The songs in-between goals - drive me nuts, but I hate any pre-match sing-a-long. Live bands - nope. Lip-synchers - nope. Some old song that everyone knows some of the words too - nope. They do it the SCG too, crapola.

It's getting like the one and only time I went to a 20-20 game of cricket. EVERY BALL they blast nothing but brainless rubbish down the speakers ... you can't hear yourself think let alone chat to anyone around you.

That's the AFLs hope. I don't believe it's a plan that will ever deliver significant results. Very large majority of draftees from NSW/Qld still either come from traditional AFL areas like Riverina Broken Hill, ACT or they are from families that moved there from an AFL state/region.
Been a very few "converts"from Sydney Eastern suburbs drafted, i can't think of a single player recruited from Western Sydney though.
Pennant Hills Footy Club has been a handy breeding place for AFL players...Lenny Hayes, the McVeigh brothers, the Jack Brothers, Braeden Campbell come to mind.

Unless Port go on a massive run and make the Gf, then it is very very likely, almost certain, that Hinkley won’t get a new contract this year

And all the chest beating by Korne-Francis and his SEN mates over the Sydney result will be in vain

Tredrea will have been proven right and this season will be a waste.

Tredders has played this beautifully.
Slip into the Eight Koch won't sack him.

Two coaches in the last 30 years have been sacked after making Finals.

Koch won't sack Ken if they do. It will be an FU to Tredrea, and the agitators. He will happily extend his man.

Slip into the Eight Koch won't sack him.

Two coaches in the last 30 years have been sacked after making Finals.

Koch won't sack Ken if they do. It will be an FU to Tredrea, and the agitators. He will happily extend his man.

You might be right. In which case next year if they don’t have a perfect start, the noise will be much louder than it is now.

Pennant Hills Footy Club has been a handy breeding place for AFL players...Lenny Hayes, the McVeigh brothers, the Jack Brothers, Braeden Campbell come to mind.
1 player taken from North of the Barassi line last national draft, and that was the father/son of a Tasmanian, so effectively zero.
Swans have been in Sydney for 40 years, Brisbane Bears/Lions have been in Qld for 35 years. The impact they have had on breeding players in those states over those decades is minimal.
Lenny Hayes family came from Melbourne, his father and grandfather played for Geelong
The McVeighs family also came from Melbourne to the NSW Central coast, their father Tony played with Williamstown in the VFA. Which is my point that they weren't grown by the AFL through the presence of the swans/giants, they are simply the product of a transplanted Aussie Rules family that was always going to choose that code over Rugby.
The Jack's definitely count as " converts" as their father played Rugby League.
I don't know much about Braeden Campbell's background other than he went to a private school (Knox Grammar) which seems to be one of the few rare genuine paths to playing Aussie rules for Sydney natives, along with coming from some of those more exclusive eastern suburbs probably at least partly due to a significant number of ex-melburnians in those areas.

Victorian press having a whinge about Gather round, just didn't see that coming
Caller into SEN this morning, caller in “LIV Golf will be good in Adelaide, but it should be in Melbourne, how good would it be”

De Stoop “yeah you’re right, it would be”

The sense of entitlement from these flogs

Victorian press having a whinge about Gather round, just didn't see that coming

Have a read of this bullshit take

“Let’s make the call now, AFL, for the good of the game, take that game away from Gather Round. Take it away from the Adelaide Oval. Move the game to the MCG and shuffle it around. Even if you have to refund some of the accommodation people have booked for Gather Round. For the good of the game this has to be at the MCG.
“Rip it out for the good of footy. This is a blockbuster game.”

What this reads: All blockbuster games should be in Melbourne. Barrett even wants the Showdown there ffs.

It will always be the VFL to these pricks.