Opinion Non-Crows AFL 9

Which team will finish the 2024 season higher ranked?

What about Walker, Brown and Crouch? Weren't they special sauces?

Walker was NSW academy, Brown and Crouch were something else

Nah. Every club had access to the NSW Scholarship program. We just happened to sign one of the only two decent players to come from it.

Crouch came from the U17 minidraft that we traded a first rounder to get pick 2 in. Brown was the steak knives. Again, all clubs had access to it and one club even outbid us for the first pick.

Michalanney is literally the only decent player we've received priority access to that other clubs haven't.

What about Walker, Brown and Crouch? Weren't they special sauces?

Walker was NSW academy, Brown and Crouch were something else

We didn't have any special exclusive zone access to Walker. All NSW scholarship players were available to all clubs to sign, it was whoever got in first. I think the story goes that Walker begged us to sign him.

However once we did sign him, we could take him exclusively in the draft once he was draft eligible

We didn't have any special exclusive zone access to Walker. All NSW scholarship players were available to all clubs to sign, it was whoever got in first. I think the story goes that Walker begged us to sign him.

However once we did sign him, we could take him exclusively in the draft once he was draft eligible

Reckon Rendell had a fair bit to do with it

A lot of the Victorian clubs heavily benefitted from the early 2000s policy of handing out start of first round picks for winning under a certain amount of games. At the time, non-Victorian clubs were powerful (Brisbane, Port Adelaide, Adelaide, West Coast, Sydney all regular finalists)

When the tide started to turn and clubs like Brisbane, Port Adelaide, Adelaide and West Coast begun to fall down the ladder, the AFL wound back the first round priority pick system. The last one was handed out in 2009. In 2010 they instead started handing out list concessions to Gold Coast and GWS. They never reintroduced the priority pick system.

The clubs that suffered, were the rules similar to 2004?

Gold Coast eligible 2011, 2012, 2015, 2018, 2019
North Melbourne eligible 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023
West Coast eligible 2010, 2022, 2023
Brisbane eligible 2011, 2015, 2016
Melbourne eligible 2012, 2013, 2014
St Kilda eligible 2014, 2018
GWS eligible 2012, 2013
Carlton eligible 2015, 2018
Adelaide eligible 2020
Port Adelaide eligible 2011
Essendon eligible 2016
Fremantle eligible 2016

Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, Richmond, Sydney, Western Bulldogs not eligible
GC received a first round PP a couple of years ago to get Anderson and NM received one for this year, so the first round PP system must still be in place occasionally. There may be others I can't remember

Its the entire reason Gill has stuck around like a foul stench for a whole year and a bit longer than he was supposed to..

To first get his morning coffee buddy Clarko out of the s**t and help him broom the hawthorn racism scandal under the rug..

And then to make sure he got a heap of draft concessions for clarko at north..
Absolutely this.

Reckon Rendell had a fair bit to do with it

The opposite, actually. Fantasia signed him up a few years out. Around the time Rendell came in, Walker had an accident (motorbiking from memory) and got hurt, and Rendell wanted to cut him saying he wasn't worth the $10k or so they were putting in. It was only after he was told they'd already spent the money that he agreed to keep him.

For all the plaudits that Rendell gets, his first year wasn't very special. Dangerfield at 10 was a great get, yes, and Otten was a decent second round pick. Walker obviously but he was already locked into the club at that point and Rendell's preference was to avoid taking him. Then he got fleeced at the draft table and then laughed about it, and picked up Jarrhan Jacky, Myke Cook, Tony Armstrong, Aaron Kite, James Moss, Jared Petrenko, Ed Curnow and and Brodie Martin. About the only decent player in that list was Curnow and we lost him after one year!

The opposite, actually. Fantasia signed him up a few years out. Around the time Rendell came in, Walker had an accident (motorbiking from memory) and got hurt, and Rendell wanted to cut him saying he wasn't worth the $10k or so they were putting in. It was only after he was told they'd already spent the money that he agreed to keep him.

Really?

Some quotes in this thread about Rendell identifying him as a major talent.

Really?

We signed him in 2006 and Rendell joined the club in 2007, so whoever first identified him and made the call was not Rendell

Really?

At that point he'd had a very good junior season, and we had committed to taking him, so I guess we weren't going to ring him up and tell him he was junk.

The funny thing in that article is Walker talking about how he couldn't believe it when he was told we were drafting him. Mate, we committed to you two years earlier! :p

Its the entire reason Gill has stuck around like a foul stench for a whole year and a bit longer than he was supposed to..

To first get his morning coffee buddy Clarko out of the s**t and help him broom the hawthorn racism scandal under the rug..

And then to make sure he got a heap of draft concessions for clarko at north..

Clarko isnt a great coach at all.. its all a mirage.

His success at the Hawks came off the back of a team built on generous draft concessions too..

Clarko is a fraud.. he only wants to be the coach of a club if it is sucked off by the AFL.. he knows the best chance he has of winning a flag is through building a team with concessions.

He’d never go coach a club that doesnt get them.

If it doesnt work at north.. he’ll go to Tassie when they come in and he’ll take Sanders and mckercher with him, demand a shitload of draft concessions and the right to steal any players from other teams he choses.
Genuine question, did Clarko get the Hawks picks as concessions or did Hawks trade players/pick for them?

My memory is that they traded players and picks for them. Wasn't Trent Croad traded to Freo for some high picks, or have I got my years mixed up?

Don't get me wrong, I don't consider Clarko a "fraud" as you have put it, as a poor coach can still ruin a good lists chances of success, but this may certainly downgrade my opinion of him.

GC received a first round PP a couple of years ago to get Anderson and NM received one for this year, so the first round PP system must still be in place occasionally. There may be others I can't remember
It's like North, it's based on vibes and the feeling of the AFL commission. Before it was white line rules, so teams knew if they lost they would get priority picks, all the way up to pick 1.

May 24, 2006, 12:30am

The Adelaide Football Club has signed its first AFL NSW Scholarship player, 16-year-old Taylor Walker from North Broken Hill Football Club.

Genuine question, did Clarko get the Hawks picks as concessions or did Hawks trade players/pick for them?

My memory is that they traded players and picks for them. Wasn't Trent Croad traded to Freo for some high picks, or have I got my years mixed up?

Don't get me wrong, I don't consider Clarko a "fraud" as you have put it, as a poor coach can still ruin a good lists chances of success, but this may certainly downgrade my opinion of him.
They traded Croad _McPharlin for Fremantle's priority Pick 1 and drafted Hodge (also got Mitchell that draft). I don't think Freo would've traded if it wasn't a free pick.

They got a 2004 priority pick which allowed them to pick both Roughead (#2) and Franklin (#5). Got a 2005 priority pick which allowed them to get Xavier Ellis and Beau Dowler (meh).

As an example, take the 3 priority picks out in 2005 we draft Hurn instead of Douglas. In 2004 we would've had pick 5 instead of 8. Please refer above as to who that was. :$

Yes they traded for pick 1 but also got priority picks

From memory, the Croad deal for Freo's pick 1 was in 2001 (Clarko was coaching Centrals to a flag at that time).

Their most famous PP was 2004, which allowed them to pick up Jarryd Roughead (pick #2) and Lance Franklin (pick #5). They finished 2nd last that year, with 4 wins for the season, which was low enough to automatically qualify them for a PP under the rules as they stood at the time.

2004 was Clarkson's first season as head coach, so I doubt he would have had much influence at AFL House at that time. He certainly wields an abnormal influence now, but not back in 2004.

Trent Croad was traded to Freo in 2001, in exchange for pick #1 in the draft. Hawthorn used that pick to draft Luke Hodge. That was pre-Clarkson. He was subsequently traded back to Hawthorn in 2003, for pick #10.

From memory, the Croad deal for Freo's pick 1 was in 2001 (Clarko was coaching Centrals to a flag at that time).
Yes, Clarko walked into a team that had Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Roughead and Lewis. The last 3 were drafted just before he got there so he could take credit for their development. Plus Croad (that they traded away for pick 1) walked out on Freo in 2004 and was traded back to Hawks for pick 10.

Their most famous PP was 2004, which allowed them to pick up Jarryd Roughead (pick #2) and Lance Franklin (pick #5). They finished 2nd last that year, with 4 wins for the season, which was low enough to qualify them for a PP under the rules as they stood at the time.

2004 was Clarkson's first season as head coach, so I doubt he would have had much influence at AFL House at that time. He certainly wields an abnormal influence now, but not back in 2004.
2005 was his first year.

Priority picks given to clubs since 2000

Carlton - Pick 1, Pick 1, Pick 2, Pick 17
Hawthorn - Pick 1, Pick 2, Pick 3
St Kilda - Pick 1, Pick 2
Melbourne - Pick 1, Pick 3, Pick 17
Western Bulldogs - Pick 1, Pick 3
Gold Coast - Pick 1, Pick 15, Pick 22, Pick 27
Richmond - Pick 1, Pick 18
Fremantle - Pick 1
Collingwood - Pick 2
West Coast - Pick 3, Pick 18, Pick 26, Pick 28
Essendon - Pick 18
North Melbourne - 2023 end of 1st, 2023 2nd, 2023 3rd, 2024 1st, 2024 1st
Brisbane - Pick 21, Pick 29
Port Adelaide - Pick 28
Geelong - Nothing
GWS - Nothing
Sydney - Nothing
Adelaide - Nothing

"All clubs have benefitted"
And the other three have all had certain leg ups recently.