Opinion Non-Crows AFL 9

Which team will finish the 2024 season higher ranked?

Predicting someone will be premiers or make a GF this far out is clutching. I think they will be very competitive again and with the number of MCG games they have, should finish top 4 and anything can happen from there

You might need to speak to Sportsbet.

I’m making a prediction. Nothing more, nothing less.

I don't think the number of sides has or should have anything to do with it, the agreement with the MCC in order to redevelop the MCG was for the grand final and certain number of finals to be played there for the next 50 years when it was the VFL, given the MCC mostly funding it without any federal government assistance.

The bigger issue is that agreement has been modified at least two times in the past to allow finals access to non-victorian teams at the expense of extending the duration of the deal and guaranteed games/audience levels which leads to compromised schedules.

The last deal was in 2018 and extends this deal to 2057, I'll probably be dead before this deal expires because it keeps getting pushed back. I am not sure interstate clubs could have got the numbers to veto that decision, but I don't recall there being much pushback to this deal getting pushed back further.

If the AFL wanted to, I am sure they could guarantee games and audiences for significantly longer period in exchange for being able to move the grand final to the highest place team's home state. I'm not sure how much money the GF makes for them, but I am sure they could offset it. If the MCC has a hardon about the grand final then there is nothing much they can do about... however, they should under no circumstance keep extending the duration of forced grand finals at the MCG. It just isn't fair for the team that finishes higher.
What I’d like to know is; As an Adelaide fan why should I care what the Melbourne Cricket Club wants?

Because I support a team that doesn’t reside in Melbourne, I’m a second class fan according to this league.

It makes me physically ill at the handouts the kangas have gotten .

If they get band 1 for Mckay you’ll know that it been rigged by the afl as another handout.

But as it stands , they’ll use the afl 2024 charity picks this year, which means that the afl can’t take them back, and they’ll package it all up for pick 1 this year.

Then they’ll suck again next year and ask for more charity . Get stuffed !!

As good a game as the AFL GF! Footy fans have been treated this past weekend (unfortunately, Brisbane people probably aren’t thinking the same!)
Both teams came very close… reckon they’re disappointed but proud to have been in it with a chance. Penrith were incredible in that comeback. Threepeats are bloody hard.

All players that missed from 35 meters on slight angles when our season was on the line.

I’d back Tex but not sure the others could be called clutch considering the amount of games we blew that we should have won this year.
Fog kicked clutch goals this year.

Forgotten about Dawson's goal to win the showdown?

... though granted he wasted some chances in front of goal this year.

All players that missed from 35 meters on slight angles when our season was on the line.

I’d back Tex but not sure the others could be called clutch considering the amount of games we blew that we should have won this year.
I would back Fog, he has one of the best goal shot accuracy in the AFL.

What currency would Wines have?

They should get rid of him but wouldn't expect to much coming back.
He is on a huge contract, taking him out of their list would be a huge salary cap relief for Port.

On their board, they suggested a 2nd rounder. I wouldnt even pay that, as Port benefit the most by losing him given his output recently and the progress in the midfield by Butters, Rozee and JHF.

Oh my heart bleeds...p155 off Kelly..you guys got gifted the Daicos brothers with Nick being likely the best player from his draft year.

You have players wanting to come to Collingwood and you get most of your games each year at home further bolstering the desire of players to play there.

"“I think the reality is... the clubs in Victoria, with what’s happened with North Melbourne and the extra couple of picks and what’s going to come at us with Tassie, plus the academies up in Sydney, Gold Coast and Queensland, we’re up against it,” Kelly explained."

All things that apply to the SA clubs...but worse!

(WA at least have a larger population of home grown talent).

I still find it hard to believe they're thought it was a good idea going ahead with that deal without any wider consultation

On the other hand, it aligns pretty well with the contempt Victoria has for the other states

Reading the boards of other interstate clubs, it becoming clear a lot of interstate fans are becoming more and more disillusioned
Sounds like the revolution coming.
Breakaway league!! Kerry Packer style...
Not going to happen but not crazy either.