MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

Yeah Beveridge is baffling, zero top 4 finishes is garbage. Winning a flag is amazing but it was 10 years ago now, and he’s never given them the strongest chance since then.

What papers over the cracks is how the dogs tend to play under Beveridge, it's still entertaining most times. Compare it to our coasting drought breaker, the fans stopped coming

But the overall point is certainly valid. Been there long enough for minimal achievement in the grand scheme of things

Yeah Beveridge is baffling, zero top 4 finishes is garbage. Winning a flag is amazing but it was 10 years ago now, and he’s never given them the strongest chance since then.
One of the most absurd things I've seen in sport. In my mind Goody should have been sacked in 2023, but keeping Bevo on after then is increasingly absolute lunacy from the Dogs. Have to assume that he has some kind of hold on the players that means the board won't sack him. Because yeah zero top 4 finishes and only gone past the first week of finals in 2/11 seasons with a list that is repeatedly touted whether truly or not as one of the best in the comp and undoubtedly including one of the top 5 players of the last 15 years.

That one flag like I said too was absolutely out of the box - an absurdly young and hyper talented list that peaked at the right time playing a very specific, contingent game plan that just shocked the comp and the umpires esp within the context of the introduction of the preseason bye, and then went on to achieve absolutely nothing else until 2021 and even then almost imploded going from 1st to 5th on the ladder between R20-R23, winning an EF against the only worse finals side than the Dogs and an SF by 1 point. Crazy for that flag to give him 10 years of credit given the number of coaches who've been sacked for less with less talented lists at their disposal in that time.

One of the most absurd things I've seen in sport. In my mind Goody should have been sacked in 2023, but keeping Bevo after then was absolute lunacy from the Dogs. Have to assume that he has some kind of hold on the players that means the board won't sack him. Because yeah zero top 4 finishes and only passed the first week of finals in 2/11 seasons with a list that is repeatedly touted whether truly or not as one of the best in the comp and undoubtedly including one of the top 5 players of the last 15 years.

That one flag like I said too was absolutely out of the box - an absurdly young and hyper talented list that peaked at the right time playing a very specific, contingent game plan that just shocked the comp and the umpires esp within the context of the introduction of the preseason bye, and then went on to achieve absolutely nothing else until 2021 and even then almost imploded going from 1st to 5th on the ladder between R20-R23, winning an EF against the only worse finals side than the Dogs and an SF by 1 point. Crazy for that flag to give him 10 years of credit given the number of coaches who've been sacked for less with less talented lists at their disposal in that time.

Dogs are a club that puts individuals above all, there is no way they ever sack him IMO. He will have to walk for them to get a new coach.

I know many of you don't give a shit about Tassie but this flog McClure is basically trying to shut us down in this clip because we should stump up $1.7 billion for a stadium that seats 23k, yes 23k.

We are a footy state. Always have, always will be. We will have a bigger following on day one than the Giants or Suns.

Some things are bigger than just money.

Dogs fans complaining ironically before the game that this is the 5th time they've copped the new coach bounce in x years - bro the call is coming from inside the house, this is the 5th time that the greatest coach in your history has been outcoached by a caretaker.

I know many of you don't give a shit about Tassie but this flog McClure is basically trying to shut us down in this clip because we should stump up $1.7 billion for a stadium that seats 23k, yes 23k.

We are a footy state. Always have, always will be. We will have a bigger following on day one than the Giants or Suns.

Some things are bigger than just money.

The good news for you is that McLure is chronically wrong about almost everything.

On Bevo, the Dogs are quite decimated by injury and Carlton were long overdue for a win. Beverage’s overall record looks worse by the year however, 1 flag, 2 GF appearances and 7 finals series in 11 years is solid. Haven’t had a year so catastrophically bad enough to get booted mid season. I think he’s a different operator which causes a few problems but overall I don’t really see him as holding this side back.

Essendon getting smashed by Freo at the MCG in front if no one. Some real Dees 2013 vibes about this game.

I don’t know how you could say Essendon have approved at all, still shit, just new younger players every season.

Essendon getting smashed by Freo at the MCG in front if no one. Some real Dees 2013 vibes about this game.
The talent on their list is way, way ahead of that, they're just mired in shit. Scott absolutely the wrong coach to take this group forward. Has them playing disgusting football. This is genuinely one of the worst seasons I've seen from a list that actually has some decent players on it, that one win against us is papering over huge cracks because they look well off winning another game.

Anyway regardless of the opposition this bodes very well for Fremantle's flag hopes, have looked very comfortable at the MCG in their first game there for the year.

Essendon in their next five rounds have the four other worst teams in the comp plus the one team they've already beaten and then the Saints. Still difficult to see them beating anyone except the Eagles, and that too they'll have to do it in Perth.

Why can't anyone just give Essendon the thrashing they deserve rather than letting them fight it out late

Giants playing like pus. Kingsley gonna be in the gun soon with how this season is turning out for them, even with the injuries
They are pretty old now not far off needing a proper rebuild.

What the Giants thinking trading in a dickhead like Clayton Oliver, garbage football club.

If I'm GWS I'm just giving Toby Greene whatever he wants to stay, don't think it'd be a good look for them if he doesn't finish as a one club player. They're definitely up shit creek though with their list, so many old blokes running around out there.

If they beat us again I'm going to crack it, they're an absolute shell of the team that made a prelim in 2023.

Other than giving a kick up the ass to get them to a prelim just after taking over from Leon Cameron, the Giants have really just gone down every year under Kingsley

If I'm GWS I'm just giving Toby Greene whatever he wants to stay, don't think it'd be a good look for them if he doesn't finish as a one club player. They're definitely up shit creek though with their list, so many old blokes running around out there.

If they beat us again I'm going to crack it, they're an absolute shell of the team that made a prelim in 2023.
Greene wants a 3 year deal apparently. No way are they doing that.

How did you feel about the Viney extension? Reckon the Greene one is the same for them.

Greene wants a 3 year deal apparently. No way are they doing that.

How did you feel about the Viney extension? Reckon the Greene one is the same for them.

Greene is going to go down as their all time goalkicker and best ever player, when you're struggling for relevance I don't think you let him go.