MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

Greene is going to go down as their all time goalkicker and best ever player, when you're struggling for relevance I don't think you let him go.
Disagree. I think you can jettison a type like that if it's the right move for the club. Reckon there would have to be some kind of recent example of that... Shit captain too I reckon. That's just a guess though.

There is definitely something more to it with the Giants than just the injuries and age. Far too much talent to be losing to West Coast. Just a guess but they've cracked the shits to a coach calling them a bunch of weak campaigners constantly it would seem to me.

Good man. Jam is on the way.

I love Brent Daniels, but is he a type we need? And isn't he massively injury prone? Played 11 games out of the last 35 or so.
Ill take Darcy Jones too while im at it. Give me all the injury prone Giants.

Get some bargains!

6dacc04c-c214-4446-9874-bd47794317a9_text.gif

There is definitely something more to it with the Giants than just the injuries and age. Far too much talent to be losing to West Coast. Just a guess but they've cracked the shits to a coach calling them a bunch of weak campaigners constantly it would seem to me.

Definitely think the whole going nuts at the players thing would get old real quick if you're doing it every few weeks.

Loses its impact too. Point of diminishing returns.

Also I don’t miss Toby Bedford anymore, pretty ordinary footballer.

Clayton Oliver managed to get plenty of the footy. Unfortunately, one third of those kicks went straight to the opposition.

And that's not counting the number of times he passed it to a teammate in a bad position.

View attachment 2614381

Just for comparison, Melbourne's disposal efficiency this weekend is below, on the left. Notice how it's now over 75%?

The Dees got rid of Clarry, and suddenly there's far fewer turnovers. The two things are not unconnected.

View attachment 2614386

I think a big week of handball and kicking drills are needed before next week.

1000043104.gif

My two cents about Pendles
What a wank Collingwood resting him to get him an MCG game. They've put making money for him and marketing over the good of their season. Some people are calling it the greatest achievement ever? **** off it is. It's a big deal sure but it's not better than Buddy's 1000
If there was 5 on the bench Boomer Harvey could have played another 100 games

Media has gone soft on calling out Collingwood for this, they've drawn and lost by 5 points the last 2 games. They could have won them with Pendles in considering how well he organises games

My two cents about Pendles
What a wank Collingwood resting him to get him an MCG game. They've put making money for him and marketing over the good of their season. Some people are calling it the greatest achievement ever? **** off it is. It's a big deal sure but it's not better than Buddy's 1000
If there was 5 on the bench Boomer Harvey could have played another 100 games

Media has gone soft on calling out Collingwood for this, they've drawn and lost by 5 points the last 2 games. They could have won them with Pendles in considering how well he organises games
Boomer probably could have played another 50 games regardless, shame they had to boot him early to make way for all the young guns.

The commercialisation of this game has been pretty yuck. Seems like making money is more of the point than celebrating the achievement itself.
yep, kudos to Pendles but it's just turned into a massive cash grab now. not sure if it's him, his manager, or the club that's responsible for it, but i think they've gone seriously overboard on this one.

The commercialisation of this game has been pretty yuck. Seems like making money is more of the point than celebrating the achievement itself.
A lot of that is just what modern footy/sport is. This is a hyper-manifestation of it but not a real exaggeration on what goes on every week that we don't see.

I don't care about all the stuff I don't see. Selling memorabillia in the background is fine.

Collingwood and the media have completely leaned into flogging the merchandising of the event with an AFL approved cap rort to top it off.

yep, kudos to Pendles but it's just turned into a massive cash grab now. not sure if it's him, his manager, or the club that's responsible for it, but i think they've gone seriously overboard on this one.
The whole industry has gotten behind it.