Cars & Transportation Non-Drivers

• Thread starter Thread starter emuboy

In my personal experience the non drivers I know are all no hopers. They are just lazy and rely on others to drive them around. There's a guy I work with 24 year old mature age apprentice. Absolute drop kick no motivation to do anything. Barely talks, fat, stinks and when he does decide to have a conversation it's just about all the drugs he did on the weekend. My boss have given me the responsibly to drive him to work and home because he doesn't have his license. I'm not an antisocial person but that's still my personal time. I like to have a bit of quiet before work and after. Listen to music or podcasts. I think it's a bit unfair that I have to drive this grub around because he is too lazy to get his license for a job that he is going to need to license

Tell your boss to GAGF. It surely isn't in your job description to chaffeur your co-workers like some low T beta.

If it's a decent length trip I always throw in a bit of cash for petrol, and other times I stump up for a cab so nobody has to drive.
Thats ok, but the problem is then people who don't drive and refuse to throw in money for fuel ie my brother. Refuses to throw in cash for fuel as he complains he has no money despite having worked for years, and yet, stumps up cash for the pub every weekend and is able to travel annually. Things like that are the things that piss me off to no end.

I'm fine with driving people without a license around, but they have to put in.

It's not always about money though, sometimes you just wanna chillax and leave your car at home while someone else schleps you around

If it's a decent length trip I always throw in a bit of cash for petrol, and other times I stump up for a cab so nobody has to drive.

Yep, I'm the same. Uber/walk/PT a lot of places, for longer drives my GF is happy to do the driving, but I also pay her fuel money every month.

Lived in Melbourne for 8 years in late teens/20s.... lived near a train line so I never bothered with a car.... as a single guy, one could get away without having a car in Melbourne, did have a license for ID though

In the US, no car is almost like living with no arm/leg... massive car culture here with a lot of streets not having foot paths and pt being ordinary.... I do drive now

In my personal experience the non drivers I know are all no hopers. They are just lazy and rely on others to drive them around. There's a guy I work with 24 year old mature age apprentice. Absolute drop kick no motivation to do anything. Barely talks, fat, stinks and when he does decide to have a conversation it's just about all the drugs he did on the weekend. My boss have given me the responsibly to drive him to work and home because he doesn't have his license. I'm not an antisocial person but that's still my personal time. I like to have a bit of quiet before work and after. Listen to music or podcasts. I think it's a bit unfair that I have to drive this grub around because he is too lazy to get his license for a job that he is going to need to license

Tell your boss you're not driving him anymore.

It's pretty easy where I live, I can walk into town inside 40 minutes, buses are shitty but regular, taxis are pretty cheap, and most of my friends live locally so it's easy to blag lifts. The amount of complaints I see here about bad driving makes me kinda glad I never bothered with getting a license tbh.

Yes but if you had a license you could be one of those bad drivers too!

Having lived in some pretty big cities (Tokyo, Osaka, Seoul, Pusan, Moscow and New York) the public transport system was so good that I didn't need to learn to drive.

Yeah I lived in London for a couple of years and never had a car, a lot of people there don't as it's easier and quicker just to catch the tube to places.

I'd struggle to get by without a car in Perth with the public transport system here, a lot of places you just can't get to without a car or it takes too long to bother.

Piss funny how people get so defensive about those who don't have a licence. Why does it matter to anyone but yourself? I live 2 minutes from Moonee Ponds station and this i not a really inner suburb. still manage it ok. Many people live inner city for a whole life and never drive and good on them. might be an insecurity and jealousy that some people get by on walking and trams and not paying the thousands of dollars a year cars cost to fillup, then park, register, fix and etc.

Rich from Stratton_Gun as well who admitted in another thread he was living at home until he was 22. big boy is still a baby.

What idiot gives someone without a driving licence an apprenticeship.

Start charging him petrol money. $2 each way? Minimal but at least he knows it isn't a free ride. $20 a week is still cheaper than PT.

Might encourage him to get a license if he
realises he can't freeload forever.

He clearly has enough money to buy drugs it seems.

Piss funny how people get so defensive about those who don't have a licence. Why does it matter to anyone but yourself? I live 2 minutes from Moonee Ponds station and this i not a really inner suburb. still manage it ok. Many people live inner city for a whole life and never drive and good on them. might be an insecurity and jealousy that some people get by on walking and trams and not paying the thousands of dollars a year cars cost to fillup, then park, register, fix and etc.

Rich from Stratton_Gun as well who admitted in another thread he was living at home until he was 22. big boy is still a baby.
Actually I'm 23 and still living at home m8

He'll be asking for a lift to Centrelink next :S

tn_rhtrh.jpg

What idiot gives someone without a driving licence an apprenticeship.

I could understand it if was a young fella who couldn't drive yet, but a 24 year old?

What's the point of being a plumber or a sparky etc. if you can't drive?

'Oh yeah your house is flooding? No problems I'll be there right away. Oh you can't come and pick me up? OK I'll just check the bus timetable...'

I could understand it if was a young fella who couldn't drive yet, but a 24 year old?

What's the point of being a plumber or a sparky etc. if you can't drive?

'Oh yeah your house is flooding? No problems I'll be there right away. Oh you can't come and pick me up? OK I'll just check the bus timetable...'
How big is that cable you laid?
Oh right, might need a massive plunger and pumping equipment. Any chance you can pick me up bloke? Me Utes stuffed. No, well let me check the bus timetable then...

Voluntary non driver here.

I prefer the non driving lifestyle; can get drunk whenever I want without having to worry about driving/collecting a car. Cars are expensive, congratulations you just purchased an asset that depreciates the moment you purchase and thereafter at an alarming rate, not to mention rego, insurance, petrol and servicing/repairs. Driving is stressful, studies have shown it is not good for your health. Cars are a horribly inefficient mode of transporting people, societies that rely heavily on cars for transport I deem as less advanced.

I live close to friends and work with city close by as well, I'm happy to parlay the savings from not owning a car into paying a little extra rent. It's well worth the sacrifice and cost.