Cars & Transportation Non-Drivers

• Thread starter Thread starter emuboy

Voluntary non driver here.

I prefer the non driving lifestyle; can get drunk whenever I want without having to worry about driving/collecting a car.

Because someone else has to! :cool:

Far too many leeches in the non-driving set. Happy not to pay for the upfront and ongoing costs of owning a car, but just as happy to be driven around by others.

I live close to friends and work with city close by as well, I'm happy to parlay the savings from not owning a car into paying a little extra rent. It's well worth the sacrifice and cost.

Now this is smart. I choose to live closer to the city and PT infrastructure for the trade-off of less land and smaller house. People need to make minimising commuting a higher priority in their lives.

Because someone else has to! :cool:

Far too many leeches in the non-driving set. Happy not to pay for the upfront and ongoing costs of owning a car, but just as happy to be driven around by others.

[\QUOTE]

You mean like uber drivers? In all seriousness though as I've taken a somewhat moral standpoint against owning a car rarely if ever ask lifts of friends as I know it would be a pain in the ass and I know I can't return the favour. If someone insists on helping me out or it is a damn near necessity I'll buy them dinner or something above the usual worth associated with that type of favour.

You're in the minority.

Couples are the worst. I once had a mate's girlfriend text me to ask if I could drive because 'we've' driven the last few times. I don't remember her ever driving me anywhere...

I'd be interested to know what percentage of big footy users live in the city, compared to those that don't. Obviously you would expect the city dwellers to outnumber the country bumpkins, but reading through the responses to a few topics lately have me wondering if the difference is even greater than expected.

On topic - I live nearly 100 km from where I work (not a lot of use for a programmer around home!) so I need to be able to drive. I don't think I know anyone that hasn't gotten their licence - if anyone around here is unable to drive, there is a fair chance that they have had their licence suspended or cancelled!

I'd be interested to know what percentage of big footy users live in the city, compared to those that don't. Obviously you would expect the city dwellers to outnumber the country bumpkins, but reading through the responses to a few topics lately have me wondering if the difference is even greater than expected.

On topic - I live nearly 100 km from where I work (not a lot of use for a programmer around home!) so I need to be able to drive. I don't think I know anyone that hasn't gotten their licence - if anyone around here is unable to drive, there is a fair chance that they have had their licence suspended or cancelled!
I suspect most people on BF live in the suburbs of a city Ie a metro area , but not the CBD itself
Wow , 100km!!
How long does it take you to get to/from work each day ? :o
I don't know how you do it haha
Is there any reason why you haven't moved closer to where you work ?

The non drivers are like. Nah it doesn't bother me, I don't mind taking public transport etc. 1. You always get stuck driving them home and look bad if you don't offer or 2. You can't make plans to catch up with a non driver in a location that is not near a train station.

So even if they aren't asking you for a lift, you still need to cater for them not being able to get to certain places, therefore changing your plans. Or you can't be out too late as they don't want to walk in the dark from the train station. Whatever way you look at it, they are a burden.

All non-drivers should be banished to an island like Tasmania with only other non-drivers, let's see how they get on then when they can't get lifts from anyone and there's no taxis or uber drivers to take them around.

My grandma never drove. Lived in Richmond/Clifton Hill from birth until her 50s probably so with the transport there you could see how she would've got along fine, particularly with my grandpa being there as a driver from about the time she was 19. I'd probably be in a similar boat if I lived in that area to be honest, maybe having a license but doubt I'd do much driving.

However, my mum has a friend who lives out in one of the suburbs who has never bothered to get her license due to apathy and a bit of angst about it I'm pretty certain. Mum rarely has seen her through the years, probably in some way due to the license issue. Whenever they wanted to go shopping or meet for lunch it involved my mum driving 20-25 kilometres her way, or trying to find a central point where she could get the bus to. She used to constantly find things hard because she would spend half her day waiting for buses or her husband to be free to pick her up.

I'm close to getting my license after two years of apathy. I don't really need it with my parents still around, but getting transport from certain places or to get to a mates house kilometres away on a different train line drives me absolutely nuts. No idea how someone could go their life living like that. Last year I spent at least three hours on two consecutive Saturdays getting to and from a place that is a 15 minute car ride.

If you're without a license as an independent adult, despite how nice your mates or family might seem about it, deep down I'm sure they're absolutely shitty at you. You become a massive liability. It's different of course if you live in the CBD or nearby. I honestly doubt Victoria has sophisticated and efficient enough transport for most suburb dwellers to get by with anyway. There's more trains, new buses and trams but I always find that there's areas they just don't cover and the regularity of those services can absolutely waste your day.

The non drivers are like. Nah it doesn't bother me, I don't mind taking public transport etc. 1. You always get stuck driving them home and look bad if you don't offer or 2. You can't make plans to catch up with a non driver in a location that is not near a train station.

So even if they aren't asking you for a lift, you still need to cater for them not being able to get to certain places, therefore changing your plans. Or you can't be out too late as they don't want to walk in the dark from the train station. Whatever way you look at it, they are a burden.

I don't want to go anywhere that is not close to a train station. Seriously, anywhere that's worth going to has a train close by

I suspect most people on BF live in the suburbs of a city Ie a metro area , but not the CBD itself
Wow , 100km!!
How long does it take you to get to/from work each day ? :eek:
I don't know how you do it haha
Is there any reason why you haven't moved closer to where you work ?

Takes about an hour each way - the drive is mostly highway, so it's not too bad.

As for why I live so far away from work - when my wife and I decided to build a house, we had to choose between being close to her work or my work. We compromised and built 5 minutes from hers...

I'm 21 and had to re-get my Ls. Bought a car and the altinator & battery went. Really gotta get onto it, but I've managed fine without it so far. Main reason I want my licence is because the Mrs and I are moving out soon and without a licence I'm kinda limiting where we can go.

Have a mate who is nearly 24 and has done about 50h on his L's only. Usually gets his parents to drop him places and then someone gives him a lift home. A hassle to say the least

I have my license but I haven't owned a car for nearly 8 years

Also, some of us non-drivers actually have the physical ability to ride a bike, so you guys don't have to sook about making plans to meet at a train station :rolleyes:

Drivers who run red lights and stop signs sometimes end up in jail.

Am yet to a see a cyclist even receive a warning.

well if you want to feel better I can tell you twice I've received $290 for 'not obeying traffic signals'

One of them was turning left from Swanston St to La Trobe St when the lights were on for just the trams continuing along Swanston St

The other was one of the pedestrian lights on St Kilda Road by the NGV - After I had stopped at the said light, saw that there absolutely no pedestrians, and then continued on again.

In reality, cyclists should be able to treat most traffic lights as give way signs. That doesn't mean you can fly through an intersection, rather, if it's clear, continue on. It actually helps traffic flow more.

But you know, guys like you would have a sook even though it doesn't affect you.