Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

What ? if daicos gets the ball green will just pick him up and handball daicos with the ball for a clearance .

Diacos isn't going anywhere near green IMO .

Daicos will be used off the HBF on his return from injury.

GWS need to take a leaf out of hawks book and hard tag him to take his influence out of the game

Also with Taylor Adams doing a hammy at training they will be 1 inside mid down .

Realise they won't oppose each other directly but whoever has the greater influence on the game will be a factor in winning the game .
N Daicos may not even play .

Don't forget, Brisbane has not won a home final beyond week 1 since 2003.
None of us forget, but neither did we talked ourselves or our history up when we were down. This is really the first year where there's a sense that we're in it to win it, on our board. (admittedly I wasn't around for our 3 peat and post 3 peat period, so I don't know what our board was like then).

My post was squarely aimed at the West Coast board, because there was still a sense of entitlement on here during the early part of the season, mainly based around comments that West Coast won't be down the bottom long, and posters here referring to West Coasts history of never being down long and always rebuilding quickly, because "we're West Coast".

I've mentioned before that all Club boards have their own "feel" to them. Eg. Richmond's is rabid, North's has a persecution complex, and West Coast's has a sense of blue blood entitlement.

Don't get me wrong, I like the West Coast board in general. There's good banter and wit here. Posters a mostly polite and accommodating of interlopers, but it takes a bit of getting used to the sense of entitlement here that pervades some topics/discussion.

Should be a Brisbane and Collingwood grand final (stating the obvious I know).

I don’t think either prelim will be close in the end. Particularly the one at the GABBA. Now or never. If they can’t wipe the floor with this Carlton side to make a grand final then they may as well give up honestly 🤷‍♂️

None of us forget, but neither did we talked ourselves or our history up when we were down. This is really the first year where there's a sense that we're in it to win it, on our board. (admittedly I wasn't around for our 3 peat and post 3 peat period, so I don't know what our board was like then).

My post was squarely aimed at the West Coast board, because there was still a sense of entitlement on here during the early part of the season, mainly based around comments that West Coast won't be down the bottom long, and posters here referring to West Coasts history of never being down long and always rebuilding quickly, because "we're West Coast".

I've mentioned before that all Club boards have their own "feel" to them. Eg. Richmond's is rabid, North's has a persecution complex, and West Coast's has a sense of blue blood entitlement.

Don't get me wrong, I like the West Coast board in general. There's good banter and wit here. Posters a mostly polite and accommodating of interlopers, but it takes a bit of getting used to the sense of entitlement here that pervades some topics/discussion.
I like your insights and think you're a more valuable contributor than many actual West Coast supporters here but I think you're out of line on this one.

West Coast fans don't have a "sense of entitlement" about rising from the bottom of the ladder because we have a fantastic track record across 40 years of getting off the bottom of the ladder. I thought we were a bottom four side this year but we were certainly not a wooden spoon team with a healthy list.

Don't get me wrong, there are some questionable people on this board as well but suggesting we're entitled is ignorant. Doing so on our board is also questionable.

All good mate, wasn't trying to be nasty with it by any means.

Personally think this season is lining up for the Lions, the only thing between them and the premiership is their record at the MCG.

Regarding the arrogance here, there is a bit, four premierships and having Fremantle as cross-town counterparts will do that - but much of it is also an inside joke that understandably posters from other boards will misinterpret.

The Port board is indeed an entertaining read at the moment:

The amount of people that ridiculed me for not getting excited about our mid season winning run.

The worst thing about Ken as coach is that we can't even enjoy wins any more.

Unless it's a premiership win it always just feels like a rope a dope. Sucking us in to kick us in the balls again.

I drove 3 hours to and 3 hours home to watch that *ing s**t.

* I hate this club

Done.

Hinkley has become the everlasting poo - no matter how many times you try to wipe him away he just wont go.

Wtf is a "worse" result anyway

We ******* lost.

If it wasn't for James Hird he might be the worst coach in AFL history.

They should name a type of cancer after Ken.

The result doesn't even hurt. Neither did the Brisbane game.

The only thing that hurts is that we are literally the Ken Hinkley football club and there's nothing anyone can do about it.

Not only is he lazy he's dumb and nasty too. Total package our Kenny... phowarrr what a guy hey, all class.

How often have we heard it trotted out over the years his special bond with the players, his man management skills.

The only thing that hurt last night was when the camera panned to the faces in the crowd.

Woke up just as numb as I was last night. Result didn't hurt, I didn't really care. It was all so predictable and groundhog Day. Not sure I uncrossed my arms for the whole game.

If you told me in preseason we'd finish 5th, not winning a final, it wouldn't have surprised. We're stuck in a mid table rut and I have no belief that we're turning that around anytime soon. There's no high picks coming in and our list is all over the shop. Wouldn't be surprised if next year is another of those Ken fall off a cliff years.

Time to really deinvest myself until Hinkleys inevitably gone I reckon.

The Port board is indeed an entertaining read at the moment:

Happy Antonio Banderas GIF

They are convinced that they have a premiership winning list and that Ken is the sole reason they aren’t winning flags.

It is truly something else how they have been hoodwinked by Karen C and the rest of of the Port Power cheerleaders in the media into believing the hype around their playing group.

Their list is average. Ken overachieved in the early years and it seems to have flowed on from there. They are convinced he has cost them multiple flags.

A brilliant trio of young mids, a few other quality players, some role players and then a whole heap of nothing. But Esava and Zerk and Sweet will save them. Just a few more missing pieces. They’ll come good 😂

Haha, solid troll by the AFL

If I had a penny for every time Freo were involved in one of Carlton's greatest moments in the past decade, I'd have two pennies, which isn't a lot but still weird that I have two.

I like your insights and think you're a more valuable contributor than many actual West Coast supporters here but I think you're out of line on this one.

West Coast fans don't have a "sense of entitlement" about rising from the bottom of the ladder because we have a fantastic track record across 40 years of getting off the bottom of the ladder. I thought we were a bottom four side this year but we were certainly not a wooden spoon team with a healthy list.

Don't get me wrong, there are some questionable people on this board as well but suggesting we're entitled is ignorant. Doing so on our board is also questionable.
I didn't pull this out of nowhere. That comment is based on actual discussions on here where that was repeated word for word by a couple of different posters, multiple times. Not randoms either. Long time, respected Eagles posters who have a long history in the draft and trade discussions.

You, as a member of the West Coast board, may not pick up on such impressions, but visitors do.

Having an academy that cordons off highly rated juniors from the rest of the competition in a mechanism not available to other clubs

Some might say that’s entitled

But I wouldn’t want to look like a kettle

PS: West Coast has a strong record of bouncing back well from low finishes - 1987, 1989, 2000/01, 2008-10, 2013/14 and now 2021-20** are the only years we’ve missed finals. It’s a good record and one that provides a justifiable degree of faith that the turnaround will come. Does that count as entitlement, I’m not sure but there is an expectation success will return

Just waiting for Kanes Cornes to come along and say he's stunned by how ugly North's B&F is.

"What an indictment on a footy club where an 18 year old kid in his first year wins the F&B. Liam Shiels had to be dragged out of retirement. Jack Ziebell is cooked and retired and Tarrant Thomas finished 6th after playing only 12 games.
What an embarrassing top 10".

Nah, don't think so.

1694924518941.png

Appreciate the cutting edge insights, briztoon as always.

It certainly comes across as well adjusted when a poster supporting a preliminary finalist comes onto the wooden spooners board and calls them entitled.
I wouldn’t take it too personally.

The Lions are a club that’s been built on handouts. Entitlement is ingrained in their DNA.

I can live with being called entitled, especially since its due to hard earned success without the requirement of hand outs to be relevant.

Just waiting for Kanes Cornes to come along and say he's stunned by how ugly North's B&F is.

"What an indictment on a footy club where an 18 year old kid in his first year wins the F&B. Liam Shiels had to be dragged out of retirement. Jack Ziebell is cooked and retired and Tarrant Thomas finished 6th after playing only 12 games.
What an embarrassing top 10".

Nah, don't think so.

View attachment 1806135

Ben Mackay value just gone up. Probably his highest ever finish in B n F - have to be $1m/year contract in front of him.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app