Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread IX

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

If you've got time to wait for the point...!
Seriously - how do teams perform under him? You'd think most would be asleep 5 minutes into a team meeting..!
Sheedy often took 10 minutes to get to the point, if he even got there at all. Haha.

If whispers are to be believed, Neeld tried to bring a 60's approach onto 2012/3 players.

Overdid the tough love somewhat.

I hope Neeld can find some work as an assistant again.

The poor bloke could probably do with a few weeks/months away from it all. The last eighteen months wouldn't have been much fun for him.

Was there any real need to sack him now? I mean really? They have a caretaker coach for the rest of the year, they were already playing the kids. What was to lose by keeping until the end of the year? Then flush out the entire departartment in one hit instead of doing it in drips and drabs throughout the season.

Or is that naive thinking and the club have to be seen to be proactive on this one to save face?

Jack Watts, James Frawley, Max Gawn are the three I can name off the top of my head. God knows who else is/was looking elsewhere.

I can still see Trengove as a 17 year old winning a SANFL prelim final off his own boot, he was nothing short of awesome so much so that he was the only player Centrals tagged in the GF the following week

The kid has talent but needs to put his injuries behind him, get fit and get some confidence back. He still has plenty to give but looks a shadow of what he was prior to being drafted.

I hope Neeld can find some work as an assistant again.

The poor bloke could probably do with a few weeks/months away from it all. The last eighteen months wouldn't have been much fun for him.

Yeah, he's a good bloke from what I can tell and was apparently a gun assistant at Collingwood

Maybe rejoin Watters at the Saints? Or go to GWS as Leon Cameron's senior assistant to escape Victoria altogether?

How do you define "presence" though?

I reckon Neeld has some, it's just an awkward, supressed rage sort presence.

Ross Lyon doesn't have your standard "aura" about him, but he's really interesting to listen to.

It sounds ad hominem, but in a pressure job where you've got to confront the media several times a week, you just can't have the twitch. Horrible to say, but it is so. You need to be able to absorb the hits, and Neeld's very first press conference was essentially him losing his shit. You need to at the very least remain calm and be able to deflect and defend your players. To that end I think that Worsfold is something of a boilerplate - might be boring, but the man's a leader and you just know that he's not going to crack (very rarely goes on a tanty in the box as well - a problem that Buckley and Brad Scott in particular have).

Lyon fits that mold, he has an answer for every question, and you could bet your bottom dollar that if he was in the same situation, he wouldn't be confessing that he doesn't know why everything went wrong. Also, it's horses for courses - Lyon, like Clarkson has a record that speaks for itself, but if neither of them had coached before I wouldn't think them right for Melbourne.

If whispers are to be believed, Neeld tried to bring a 60's approach onto 2012/3 players.

Overdid the tough love somewhat.

Don't need whispers to see that.

He stated it pretty clearly. Then when it didn't work, he backtracked to get the players on-side, which didn't work either.

Also, why, Melbourne? Why now?

I can still see Trengove as a 17 year old winning a SANFL prelim final off his own boot, he was nothing short of awesome so much so that he was the only player Centrals tagged in the GF the following week

The kid has talent but needs to put his injuries behind him, get fit and get some confidence back. He still has plenty to give but looks a shadow of what he was prior to being drafted.

Agree that Trengove will still be a gun player but a more immediate concern, than development, is the players who are out of contract, and even those who are contracted like Frawley, who are not happy and said to be looking elsewhere (I can't say I've heard anything about Gawn but he is not contracted). There is a future spine in Watts, Frawley and Gawn alone which Melbourne had to start protecting.

Hodge free to play next week.
Reprimand for the elbow on Henderson and cleared for contact with Murphy.

It is a sad state of affairs that the Hodge bump on Murphy was even questioned by some. It is a contact sport, accidental collisions will occur that result in injury. I was neither here nor there on the Henderson bump either, as per usual it looks 10 times worse in slow motion but other than seeing it in live action, we only get to see it in slow mo on replay.

Hodge free to play next week.
Reprimand for the elbow on Henderson and cleared for contact with Murphy.

butt.hurt thine name is carlton.

I hear they're privately seething again

It is a sad state of affairs that the Hodge bump on Murphy was even questioned by some.

Let's get one thing clear here - the Hodge collision was not a bump. Hodge's arm makes it look funny, but it's two people going for the ball, seeing that a collision might happen, and turning side-on and protecting their heads while going for the ball.

I totally would not be surprised if Caro sneaks in another article about Hird this week when the attention of journalists will be stuck on Melbourne

Peter Jackson is not a man to waste money. I would say the sacking of Neeld came down to the value of keeping him and not having to pay him out to the idea that having him gone might see a bigger return in terms of fans coming to games, and corporate clients putting in.

I tell you one thing, Gary Lyon better keep his bloody hands off em this time. He is not a solution of any sort for Melbourne and will only make things worse, the more he gets involved.

Let's get one thing clear here - the Hodge collision was not a bump. Hodge's arm makes it look funny, but it's two people going for the ball, seeing that a collision might happen, and turning side-on and protecting their heads while going for the ball.

I agree with the intent of what you're saying but how do you summarise that into 1 word? It's a shame you even had to type that as the word bump is now considered a malicious act whereas it has always been a part of football. It wasn't a shirtfront, it was a bump imo, but shirtfront is a word that has vanished from the footballing vocabulary.

I want to be able to call that a bump, say to a mate "gee did you see that bump from Hodge, cudos to Murphy too for the way he attacked it. Shame he got hurt but that's footy, great stuff"

rather than

"gee did you see that not a bump. Hodge's arm makes it look funny, but it's two people going for the ball, seeing that a collision might happen, and turning side-on and protecting their heads while going for the ball from Hodge, cudos to Murphy too for the way he attacked it. Shame he got hurt but that's footy, great stuff"

I totally would not be surprised if Caro sneaks in another article about Hird this week when the attention of journalists will be stuck on Melbourne

She'll probably have to seeing as her source on the MFC board was sacked.

It is a sad state of affairs that the Hodge bump on Murphy was even questioned by some. It is a contact sport, accidental collisions will occur that result in injury. I was neither here nor there on the Henderson bump either, as per usual it looks 10 times worse in slow motion but other than seeing it in live action, we only get to see it in slow mo on replay.
The amount of Carlton supporters sooking that Hodge is now a sniper is hilarious.

I agree with the intent of what you're saying but how do you summarise that into 1 word? It's a shame you even had to type that as the word bump is now considered a malicious act whereas it has always been a part of football. It wasn't a shirtfront, it was a bump imo, but shirtfront is a word that has vanished from the footballing vocabulary.

I think it's body contact while going for the ball. In Aussie Rules, for me, a bump is when your focus your attention on hitting the player (for various reasons) and you aren't particularly focused on winning the ball. I don't really consider a player using his body & momentum to help win the ball like Hodge did here to be a bump. I just consider it to be using his body.

What Neeld should do is take some time off. Spend his money forget that chapter of his life then go to gws under Cameron. Less media attention and can give a big F you to Melbourne when GWS go past them.

That's if he is vengeful which he probably isn't. But it's what I'd do. Some way to get back at the media throngs who have been call for his head too would be nice.

Wasnt it neeld who had the media at him for alleged racist comments? I mean the guy never stood a chance from day 1. Now to have people like Ox who have been potting him suddenly vindicated doesn't really seem fair tbh. What have these past players done about the Melbourne situation? Just offered special comments and grown their media career. I'll tell you what true respectable human beings do when the club they love is in trouble and there is a moron in charge? They walk in, take his job and start fixing the joint.