Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

Nah, Jolly's still a shit.

The sooky la la routine is none too endearing.

He seemed like a real knob after the Josh Fraser article - these comments just confirm it for mine.

Interesting to see quite a few people who heaped abuse on Dean Bailey during the tanking investigation now eating humble pie with the news he's potentially very, very ill.

Some people constantly lose perspective of the fact that, at the end of the day, footy is just a game.

Why would people be eating humble pie over it? I mean, it sucks and all that he is sick and hopefully he gets through it but not really sure why it would or should anyone who gave him shit about tanking feel bad about it now this has come to light.

Humble pie was probably the wrong expression.

What I mean is, some people spend an inordinate amount of time and energy attacking every shred of someone's character, because of something that's happened in sport. Those people tend to melt away very quickly when something serious like this crops up, though.

Hmm? The age average may be a little higher, but there aren't many at the top end who are integral to the team. Players over 25: Newman (31), Stephenson (31), King (29), Edwards (29), Foley (28), Knights (27), Chaplin (27), Maric (27), Deledio (26). The only real drama there is succession planning for Maric.

Agree with this. Oh, hai gang! :)

Dont forget as well yaco55 last year we also took the most 18 year olds of any club outside of the new franchise clubs( did that also the draft prior). This year is a combination of 1. Draft not being that deep and we are holding for next years draft, hence having only 39 listed players. 2. Using the rookie list as insurance so hence more ready to go bodys. Our list age is still quite young 24.63 years 95.18 games 188.22cm 88.59kg.

Agree with this. Oh, hai gang! :)

Dont forget as well yaco55 last year we also took the most 18 year olds of any club outside of the new franchise clubs( did that also the draft prior). This year is a combination of 1. Draft not being that deep and we are holding for next years draft, hence having only 39 listed players. 2. Using the rookie list as insurance so hence more ready to go bodys. Our list age is still quite young 24.63 years 95.18 games 188.22cm 88.59kg.

I don't think you have anything to worry about regarding the age profile of your list...

You guys are right though, We are building for a tilt when i believe our window opens 2015-2016. In those years our average games will be over 100 and when you normally hit that mark you should be top 4. Lot can go wrong but its a first time in a long while I can be proud of how our club is managing its list.

I'd be interested to know how you see Dimma using Maric, Hampson & Vickery in the same team, along with Riewoldt?

Personaly Hampson will be used as a ruck 90% of the time and stay mainly in the centre part of the ground, a roll when he played at the blues he did ok in being he is so athletic. Maric groins need to be managed so he can only ruck 50% of games, hampson will pick up that slack. When Hammer is rucking Maric will go forward. As Maric can take a grab and is surprising quite smart in front of goals. I dont see Hampson being used as a forward unless we need a match up or we are dominating.

I see in most games we play Hampson and Maric will both be named in the side. Vickery will play forward and stay forward. It is a big year for Vickery, he needs to perform forward if he does not his spots at risk as we have taller options now that can replace him. We have a few taller players who are just waiting to take his spot. McBean, Griffiths and Elton. All three are nearly 200cm and have played well in the VFL. Griffiths is the smokey, If you remember in 2011 he played on Fletcher and it was one of those really rare occasion where fletch got beaten. Griffith has had some major issues since then and that has caused him to lose an appetite for the contest...if he can correct that he will cause extreme pressure on Vickery.

Dare I ask (and please, don't make this a pissing contest between him and Daniher), how much game time do you envisage McBean getting?

And Ben Griffiths- can he still make it? And Astbury? Fair few question marks there, but potentially a lot of talent too.

Dare I ask (and please, don't make this a pissing contest between him and Daniher), how much game time do you envisage McBean getting?

And Ben Griffiths- can he still make it? And Astbury? Fair few question marks there, but potentially a lot of talent too.

No pissing contest here mate. You guys have a ripper and being Daniher has played AFL and McBean has not, Daniher is in front.

To McBean game time, I think he will get what Daniher got this year. Maybe 6 games or so to see how he goes. If he performs at the level like he did in the VFL he will stay in the side and start to become a starting 22 player. He kicked 35 goals last year with only playing 15 games or so. McBean is a talent.

To Astbury, I think he is done. To many injurys unfortunatly, he has a wider turning circle then my mother in law and his knee injurys has robbed his pace. He has no longer any burst on the lead. What may save him is that he is a smart footballer, can read the play well and is a decent size. IMO he will be gone next year ( hope I am wrong). It sad to say that as he was at the start of his career someone who had the tools to make it.

Ben Griffiths is the one for me. If he can recover from his bout of the scares he will make it. He is 200cm plus, can take a grab and kick it accurately 70 meters plus. You might remember the Hawks game when he kicked it from full back to past the center square to Newman who handballed it to Martin for one of the quickest goals you will see.

hardwick has tried to make him a backman due to his kicking can get over the press but unfortunately he is a natural forward. I rate ben, I saw what he did to Fletcher when his body was sound and he was not scared to go at the contest. He was a handful due to his height and athletisim.

He is just to scared to get hurt anymore due to his injuries he has had. We have signed him to a one year contract. IMO the penny might drop that he cant avoid what might happen, injury wise as he is on his last chance and needs to play that way. I expect huge things from the kid.

No pissing contest here mate. You guys have a ripper and being Daniher has played AFL and McBean has not, Daniher is in front.

To McBean game time, I think he will get what Daniher got this year. Maybe 6 games or so to see how he goes. If he performs at the level like he did in the VFL he will stay in the side and start to become a starting 22 player. He kicked 35 goals last year with only playing 15 games or so. McBean is a talent.

To Astbury, I think he is done. To many injurys unfortunatly, he has a wider turning circle then my mother in law and his knee injurys has robbed his pace. He has no longer any burst on the lead. What may save him is that he is a smart footballer, can read the play well and is a decent size. IMO he will be gone next year ( hope I am wrong). It sad to say that as he was at the start of his career someone who had the tools to make it.

Ben Griffiths is the one for me. If he can recover from his bout of the scares he will make it. He is 200cm plus, can take a grab and kick it accurately 70 meters plus. You might remember the Hawks game when he kicked it from full back to past the center square to Newman who handballed it to Martin for one of the quickest goals you will see.

hardwick has tried to make him a backman due to his kicking can get over the press but unfortunately he is a natural forward. I rate ben, I saw what he did to Fletcher when his body was sound and he was not scared to go at the contest. He was a handful due to his height and athletisim.

He is just to scared to get hurt anymore due to his injuries he has had. We have signed him to a one year contract. IMO the penny might drop that he cant avoid what might happen, injury wise as he is on his last chance and needs to play that way. I expect huge things from the kid.
Yeah, that comment was just a general comment, not targeted at you specifically. You know how folks get het up when young talls are compared. ;)

I haven't seen McBean in action, so I'm certainly quite interested to see how he goes.

Astbury I sort of liken to Pears- plenty of early signs that have been badly curtailed through injury. Griffiths is a bit like our Gumby- even more wretched luck with injuries but plenty of signs on the few occasions he makes it on the park.