Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

It helps when your club has Bruce Mathieson as a benefactor - After all he owns close to half the pokies in Melbourne.

That must be why there's one rich club in Victoria and nine poor ones.

It helps when Mathieson transfers the ownership of hundreds of pokies from one club to Carlton.

Nathan Jones and Jack Grimes co-captains for 2014 according to MFC twitter page.
Good move. I probably would have been happier still had it been given solely to Jones- I know it's easy to say in hindsight, but the guy should have been captain for the past two years.

But this is still a positive move. With any luck, Trengove can now just concentrate on getting his body right and playing footy.

Good move. I probably would have been happier still had it been given solely to Jones- I know it's easy to say in hindsight, but the guy should have been captain for the past two years.

But this is still a positive move. With any luck, Trengove can now just concentrate on getting his body right and playing footy.

Yeah, agreed. I am not a huge fan of dual captaincy. I like the idea of having one strong leader and a strong leadership group behind him.

Still, this is a step well and truly in the right direction!

Good move for the Dees, though I agree with Doss in that it would have been a better move for Jones to hold it alone.

Hope Trengove puts in some solid performances without responsibility weighing him down!

Not necessarily. If he hasn't signed by round 11 however I reckon he is

Then again the fact they actually have a midfield now makes his job so much easier

Agreed. Sofa king glad the paddlepop is departing though. We will stomach the watermarks if it means the proper guernsey comes back.
Yeah, I'm sofa king glad too! ;)

Yeah, the gripe about watermarks is obviously a fairly minor one in the scheme of things- maybe I'm just the old fashioned grizzled types who pines for the days of knitted woollen jumpers.

Can't get used to seeing you sans the blue tracksuit, as an aside.

Yeah, I'm sofa king glad too! ;)

Yeah, the gripe about watermarks is obviously a fairly minor one in the scheme of things- maybe I'm just the old fashioned grizzled types who pines for the days of knitted woollen jumpers.

Can't get used to seeing you sans the blue tracksuit, as an aside.
Cheers Dossie. Yeah, I feel pretty nekkid without the blue suit. You should see POBs and whatboutbob D:

Talking of jumpers...

What are the thoughts about the player names being on the back of them?

Personally, while it's not exactly the biggest issue, I'm not a fan of it.

If it helps the casual observer know who it is I'm all for it. We're not the target audience here, we know the players. Either way, I doubt it'll have any effect on the game. Besides, it might make BT and co. know who the players are

realistically, it accomplishes nothing.

for fans at the ground it's too small to read. and the nature of the game means you'll rarely get shots for tv where names can be clearly read, it's stupid

Talking of jumpers...

What are the thoughts about the player names being on the back of them?

Personally, while it's not exactly the biggest issue, I'm not a fan of it.

It allows the peons to identify players, whereas in the past the ignorance was a good way to identify peons.

The world is upside-down.