Dylan12

Sep 7, 2007
Brisbane Lions
Chelsea, Boston Red Sox
You can see why so many Crows players have bailed Adelaide following that debacle of camp in early 2018 and those that remain, seem shadows of themselves.

I reckon that camp alone has been the death-knell of Brett Burton's career.

M Malice

Hall of Famer
Aug 31, 2015
By the Gabba.
Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
You can see why so many Crows players have bailed Adelaide following that debacle of camp in early 2018 and those that remain, seem shadows of themselves.

I don't mind Sam McClure, one of the few OK journalists who report on the game.

Dylan12

Sep 7, 2007
Brisbane Lions
Chelsea, Boston Red Sox
I don't mind Sam McClure, one of the few OK journalists who report on the game.
He's actually a major douche.

Last year I trained at Pro-Sport in Richmond, which specialises in small group training i.e. 10-15 people, and I trained with him for a good six months most mornings and I kid you not, one of the biggest tools going around. Has massive tickets on himself and clearly sees himself as a celebrity, which probably doesn't help when you had people regularly sucking up to him; god only knows why.

Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Dec 21, 1999
Far North Fitzroy
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Worried about the holding the ball rule more than ever - it’s going to cost teams goals every week. Maybe decide games.

You’re a backman, ball is in dispute on the ground you’re on the ground closest to it, you can’t grab it, you don’t want to slap it out as their are small forwards lurking. Someone scoops it into you and squeezes it in. 3 others pile on top. Ball ends up somewhere near your knees. *Whistle* HTB dragged it in
Well, that would be an umpiring error and not the law at fault. If you're not the one pulling it in, it's a ball-up. And if '3 others pile on' there's a fair chance it should be in the back.

Ball gets hand passed to you, you have to take possession. You get immediately tackled, ball pinned to your chest by a strong full forward. You have half an arm free. Do you make out you are trying to get rid of it when you don’t really want to? Do you “try” squeeze it on the boot possibly missing your foot and getting pinned for incorrect disposal? Again forwards are lurking.
You choose to do the obligatory I’m trying to get it out.
*Whistle* HTB no genuine attempt.
If the ball is pinned, it's a ball-up. If you have an arm free and you do make a 'genuine attempt' to get rid of it, but can't - ball-up; if you do get rid of it (with a legal, or attempted legal disposal) - play on. The only thing that confuses me is why this law was forgotten about in the first place.

For some historical perspective, a Footy Record article from 1984 (when congestion and stoppages were way less prevalent than they are now):

Untitled.jpg

Dylan12

Sep 7, 2007
Brisbane Lions
Chelsea, Boston Red Sox
Well, that would be an umpiring error and not the law at fault. If you're not the one pulling it in, it's a ball-up. And if '3 others pile on' there's a fair chance it should be in the back.

If the ball is pinned, it's a ball-up. If you have an arm free and you do make a 'genuine attempt' to get rid of it, but can't - ball-up; if you do get rid of it (with a legal, or attempted legal disposal) - play on. The only thing that confuses me is why this law was forgotten about in the first place.

For some historical perspective, a Footy Record article from 1984 (when congestion and stoppages were way less prevalent than they are now):

View attachment 907391
Can't believe you've been sitting on this article for 36 years waiting to break it out Rip. :p

It was worth it.

The Zork

Oct 8, 2014
Brisbane Lions

View attachment 907391
Yep. Swap “rule” with “interpretations” in my first sentence and that’s more accurately what I was getting at. There’s not many rules I don’t disagree with. 50m for protected zones is one I don’t like for instance even though they’ve dropped off a bit lately.

Umpires who don’t have a feel for the game, fall for players bending rules and like to rely on guessing are who I have my gripe with.

jackess

30k Posts 10k Posts
Aug 10, 2005
Brisbane Lions
On Foxsports.com- Gary Ablett's 17 month old son has a rare and degenerative disease, nothing worse in the world than a seriously ill child, lets hope all ends well for Gary and his family.

I hope Gary is getting all the help his kids needs. Isn't he one of those Christians who aren't too keen on modern medicine?

M Malice

Hall of Famer
Aug 31, 2015
By the Gabba.
Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
I hope Gary is getting all the help his kids needs. Isn't he one of those Christians who aren't too keen on modern medicine?
I know he is devoutly religious although I have no idea what denomination he is/what doctrine he follows, hopefully it's one that is for modern medicine.

I believe during his recovery after shoulder surgery he refused to take anti inflammatory’s which slowed his recovery and was widely criticised about it at the time.

I remember that the same as you.

Having said that the kid has obviously been through a lot of testing so they Are engaging with the medical system.

Bloody horrible situation. I’ve not been an Ablett fan but I really feel for the family.

BangyBangy

BangyBangyMightyLoins
Oct 16, 2013
Brisbane Lions

Yet he put his hand up to mentor Matt Rowell following his recent shoulder dislocation.

Well, he tried to put his hand up, ... but... .

bungalow_bill

Dec 11, 2010
Brisbane Lions

May have been health reasons as opposed to religious - there are risks associated with A I's

Watched a footy show interview of Stuart dew last night. Re Rowell he said (paraphrased) they would do the best thing by Rowell as it would be best long term interest of the club as they believe he will be with them for years.

Will be conservative to ensure he doesn’t have recurring issues during his long career and if that meant out for this year, then he’s out for the year.

From that I expected today’s announcement.

Oct 29, 2008
Brisbane Lions
Blazers/Heat, ORST beavers

Really amazing Burton lasted as long as he did. Injuries followed him everywhere he went as a fitness boss then somehow parachuted into a management role at the Crows with basically no qualifications. Things just seemed to get worse wherever he went.

Agree, get the feeling that Adelaide thought it's only Brisbane and they don't know what they were doing, but Burton was in fact a factor in our 'averageness'. Costly appointment.