Non-Lions discussion 2023

The Port concussion drama deserves to blow up into a genuine scandal. There is something very not right about what happened. HIA clearly should have happened for both players. A player has clear, classic signs onfield of concussion and is taken out of the game with “migraine”?? The other player doesn’t even get a HIA even though his immediate body actions and immobility afterwards suggest that should be the minimum level of medical intervention required?? It beggars belief that Port aren’t already being held to account.

If this is allowed to pass unchallenged and unpunished, some clubs might decide to find the most ethically questionable medical staff they can. And in about twenty years the giant lawsuits will come along and something like this will be exhibit one.

Who holds on to their spot after the next round?
A more even competition gives a lot of supporters some hope at this stage of the year.
Only Eagles, North & Hawks not given odds to win the GF.
Hopefully next week we ensure Fremantle joins those three.
Wins assured for Pies, Dees, Bombers and hopefully the Lions.
Other games could go one way or the other.

1690713646972.png
1690713723844.png

Am i the only one who found it strange that Hawthorn played its home game today at Marvel Stadium even though MCG is its home ground. For some reason they played its home game at marvel against the saints where marvel is the saints home ground. I know there has to be a certain amount of games at Marvel but why this game at marvel to actually benefit the saints. If the AFL was fair dinkum to not disadvantage the Hawks with its home, away game it should have played the Hawks v Lions game at Marvel if certain criterias need to be meet.
Am i the only one who found todays fixturing weird for the hawks?

Am i the only one who found it strange that Hawthorn played its home game today at Marvel Stadium even though MCG is its home ground. For some reason they played its home game at marvel against the saints where marvel is the saints home ground. I know there has to be a certain amount of games at Marvel but why this game at marvel to actually benefit the saints. If the AFL was fair dinkum to not disadvantage the Hawks with its home, away game it should have played the Hawks v Lions game at Marvel if certain criterias need to be meet.
100%. Even taking the contractual obligations into account, you should never be scheduled to play a home game there against one of its actual tenants! Such an AFL thing to do.

You forgot about the travel issue.
This should not be underestimated.

The wallabies played New Zealand last night at the MCG. So AFL lost the sat night slot to ARU.

Buddy retires as the 4th highest goal kicker of all time, #1 if you adjust for era played in.

Best player I've seen in my time watching footy (roughly 96-now but don't remember much before 01 other than some finals for the bears/lions). You could argue Voss, Judd, GAJ of course and all would be fair selections, just reckon that as a forward Buddy was just so much better than all of his peers.

Buddy retires as the 4th highest goal kicker of all time, #1 if you adjust for era played in.

Best player I've seen in my time watching footy (roughly 96-now but don't remember much before 01 other than some finals for the bears/lions). You could argue Voss, Judd, GAJ of course and all would be fair selections, just reckon that as a forward Buddy was just so much better than all of his peers.
Buddy probably wins the schoolyard pick tests for most people tbh.

ETA: The guy was so talented that he could've been an elite mid if that is what the Hawks wanted out of him. I could imagine him, in his prime breaking out of clearances taking a bounce and kicking a long range goal.

Aliir Aliir in concussion protocol - absolute bush league stuff from port:

This is a disgrace.

Having read the statement - the claim is that they are putting him in concussion protocol 'out of an abundance of caution' because they didn't do the SCAT5 test (the 15 minute one) during the game. I don't think there is confirmation of any specific symptoms as yet.

Regardless, should be a serious fine and should lead us towards having an independent AFL concussion observer at all games to make these calls. It can't be on a club doctor even if they have impeccable personal character.

Having read the statement - the claim is that they are putting him in concussion protocol 'out of an abundance of caution' because they didn't do the SCAT5 test (the 15 minute one) during the game. I don't think there is confirmation of any specific symptoms as yet.

Regardless, should be a serious fine and should lead us towards having an independent AFL concussion observer at all games to make these calls. It can't be on a club doctor even if they have impeccable personal character.

Based on the vision and the AFL guidelines, Port has no excuse as to why this played out the way it has. The fact they subbed the moustache man out with a migraine, whether true or not, makes it look like they were trying to flaunt the rules to avoid any missed games and to try and save the Adelaide game (in Allirs case).

there was one line in the fox article - Port Adelaide told foxfooty.com.au that both Aliir and Jones presented with symptoms consistent with concussion on Monday.

They should but they won't.

This incident would surely affect any players decision on being traded to Port over the Crows. We're talking potentially life threatening stuff here
I've seen it mentioned that this is the 3rd time Port have done this? I'm not sure what to expect though, with it being the 3rd time they should be raked over the coals. I doubt they will be though.

I don't recall the previous incidents so it seems that this time it's become a much bigger deal in the press / social media. With the entire AFL condemning it perhaps something will be done this time

Non-Lions discussion 2023