Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025

Why Carlton lost.

It was an away game. They are always harder to win.

In fairness to Carlton, they only had 6 months to prepare physically and mentally for last night's game. I'm tempering my disappointment in them.

Loving it.

"It's hard to win when you're on the back foot, Brisbane did it last year but are Carlton Brisbane? No they are not".

Our 2024 season is going to be used as delusional copium across the entire AFL for the next decade.

Then you saw some players start getting a bit ahead of themselves, a bit of lairising, the odd soft effort (Motlop in particular).

Then Richmond start kicking some goals and you see some players thinking to themselves "gee I have to step up here and be the one to get the game back on our terms here". And that's when the panic sets in. That's when players move away from the game plan. And that's when you lose the trust of your team mates, because now nobody knows what their mate is gonna do.

How many times did we see Carlton players crash into each other in the second half? Dropped marks for seemingly no reason? Kicks from skillful players that didn't just miss, they missed by METRES?

Jason Dunstall doing some of my dirty work for me here. And Jesse Motlop can count himself EXTREMELY fortunate he hasn't been singled out here, because it could be argued he was the catalyst for everything that followed.

On reflection if I'd have been in Vossy's shoes I would have definitely subbed him off the very first moment I saw him fail to body line the ball and soccer off the ground instead. It may be only a single incident, but that attitude spread through the entire group like a virus. In that moment I would have considered "setting standards" with respect to the whole season more important than any strategic/tactical considerations with regards to winning the match.

We saw our boys afflicted by what became a complete loss of trust and confidence for a full two matches after our Carlton loss last year. Playing North on a sleepy Friday arvo at Norwood, with the attention of the footy world across town at Adelaide Oval, came at precisely the right time, and acted as a bit of circuit breaker for us. On the other hand, Carlton have Hawthorn up next, then the Bulldogs, then Collingwood, all in prime time. They will have absolutely nowhere to hide.

Sometimes it's nice to be a big club. Sometimes it's... not so nice.

The decision to drop a few role players and go with even less depth looks real shaky right now. Too many "superstars" not wanting to do the hard yards. Backline went completely to water under the slightest pressure and not because the ball was coming in too fast over their heads - because they all panicked and had no plan on what to do. About the only one who looked like trying was Silvagni when he went forward - was throwing himself at the contest. Honestly he should have walked from the Blues and gone to another club with a bit of heart

Between them and Collingwood they have a bunch of senior guys that look like theyve gone another year too many

The decision to drop a few role players and go with even less depth looks real shaky right now. Too many "superstars" not wanting to do the hard yards. Backline went completely to water under the slightest pressure and not because the ball was coming in too fast over their heads - because they all panicked and had no plan on what to do. About the only one who looked like trying was Silvagni when he went forward - was throwing himself at the contest. Honestly he should have walked from the Blues and gone to another club with a bit of heart

Between them and Collingwood they have a bunch of senior guys that look like theyve gone another year too many
i think carltons only real senior citizen who has gone on too long is haynes. walsh looks cooked but hes only 24 or whatever.

guys like mcgovern, williams etc look terrible but have never really performed to any notable level in their time at carlton anyway.

Its early days but I would be really questioning Docherty too. Two games in a row they have tried to bring him in and he looks a long way off the pace. He got a lot of ball in the last quarter and wasted all of it. Clearly not fit enough or ready to play yet but they seem to have no other options

I couldn't name a player in that side last night who used the ball well either.

Also kudos to the Tigers for sitting McIntosh on Crippa all night, worked a treat and really helped minimise hurt. Obviously it won't work for teams who have more than 1 mid like us. Overall I thought the Richmond box had a good night in the moves they made.

Seem to have massive high performance team issues preparing that side both physically and mentally

Plus you could mention the C word

Culture

Kulcha is spelt with a k, I think.

Also kudos to the Tigers for sitting McIntosh on Crippa all night, worked a treat and really helped minimise hurt. Obviously it won't work for teams who have more than 1 mid like us. Overall I thought the Richmond box had a good night in the moves they made.
It didnt work early as Cripps was just way to strong, but McIntosh running power really started to hurt. Smart use of an older winger who is willing to play a role to free up the young kids. Just shows how Richmond have guys who are willing to play a role for the team while Carlton seem to have none

Agree, he really worked into the game. I thought he was also a bit of a chaos merchant nullifier when there was loose ball to be won. Really put in work.

Have always liked Silvagni and last night did little to dissuade me from that view. The longer the game went the more noticeable his performance became. Always have time for those players who set their own internal standards, and aren't swayed by what is going on around them.

I thought JSOS looked fine as well. His body composition looked completely different - looked taller and stronger.

A couple of old guys like me who are Blues fanatics said ages ago Carlton hadn't utilised SOS well and were petrified another team would get hold of him . They really rate his endeavour above anyone else in the team , especially when things aren't going well which has been often enough ,he's one of the few who really throw themselves in.

Ess v Hawthorn I think it's called throwball.Both sides shovelling it to a team mate.No free kicks.May as well allow two handed throws.
Allowing throwing would eliminate any illegal disposal free kicks. "Holding the ball" free kicks would actually BE for "holding the ball".

In concert with the elimination of prior opportunity, I think it would work well.

Allowing throwing has been seriously considered by the lawmakers at multiple junctures in the sport's history.

Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025