Resource Noob's 2025 Draft Prospect Video Thread

One of Mutineer favourites
Max Thompson #7 for Bendigo looks a good type too.

Not sure where he's been at the start of the year but the last 2-3 weeks I've been blown away by some of his stuff. Seems some sort of utility player, don't really know what position he plays the best but some his kicking and contest stuff is ridiculous when it comes off.

NOOB US BLUES FANS ARE GONNA NEED THIS CODY MATCH DONE EXPRESS. BOY IS GOING WILD IN THE 4TH!

Wheres Jeanne Pratt's CC to pay for the HD behind the goals footage?
You don't have to plead too much. These are the pre champs dog weeks of the season, half the pool off playing APS, scraping the barrel for content.

Willem Duursma #7
Thrillem continues to put up big numbers and influence games for his Gippsland Power team. Here we again saw issues with his disposal effectiveness at times, but its one of very few weaknesses in his game. His combination of size, speed and reaction times around congestion allows him to swoop on loose balls rapidly or close space quickly to apply pressure. With his team trailing entering the fourth quarter Willem lifted and was a significant factor in helping the power surge to victory.

Sam Toner #1
Toner put himself into the mid season draft conversation with a strong double performance across the two Young Guns games, kicking 7 goals, impacting in the air and on the ground and exciting watchers with his raw potential. Signed with the Richmond VFL program for 2025 he's yet to show his full capability at that level and would be a longer term prospect if picked.

Is your love not enough??

I'd say there's an excellent chance that I get to his game sometime this week.
I'll have to tell some former girlfriends that I am Kenough!

No rush mate, just seeing if it was on the agenda! If you pop a link on the cats draft/trade thread several people will go wild, including me

Cody Walker #2
A bit of a break out game for Cody who we know seems destined to be a star but has been ticking along just solidly up to now in his bottom age season. In this game we got the full Cody Walker experience. Power through the contest, ferocious tackling, pace and agility, strong in the air, and most importantly able to impact the scoreboard through his own goals and setting up teammates. A performance to leave Carlton fans pumped.

Talor Byrne worth a look, though he's playing mostly midfield currently for the Rebels I reckon he's a sneaky draft chance but more as a small forward, good set of wheels, hard nosed and a decent kick. Bit of Ollie Hannaford about his game and impressed playing mostly forward for VC in that trial game vs the Young Guns. 2nd best on the ground behind Cody Walker on the weekend.

I did his last last week and was very impressed with him. I imagine I'll have enough time to get to him again this week.

How did I miss that, embarassing.:oops:

Big again on the weekend, reckon AFL clubs will have interest from a small forward point of view, late birthday too.
Think he will get a small forward gig for VC probably.

How did I miss that, embarassing.:oops:

Big again on the weekend, reckon AFL clubs will have interest from a small forward point of view, late birthday too.
Think he will get a small forward gig for VC probably.
Your welcome for the Byrne request already aswell 😉

Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves #3
This was NHH's first game back after an extended break with a shoulder injury and he put together a strong performance through three quarters before fading out in the fourth, clearly short of full match fitness. He played exclusively forward, and mostly out of the goal square as a marking target with only a couple of ventures outside of the 50. He kicked 4 goals through three quarters and looked lively whenever the footy was in his area, helping his team to a comfortable lead which they held all game.

if there is a bloke I think fits us it's this guy. A marking medium forward who can tackle is exactly what I want Archer Day-Wicks to be. Noah obviously have a much higher ceiling to potentially play midfield from what I hear

I don't think there's much evidence yet that NHH can play midfield. He's pretty exclusively played wing or forward, at least at Talent League level. I was hoping we'd see him get a run through the midfield this year but any plans that might have existed have been derailed by his injury.

I don't think he needs to be a midfielder to be a real top prospect though. His running power and pace, aerial strength and kicking skills are pretty exciting, and he's shown that he can step up in big moments.

I agree that he would be a great fit for essendon.

I don't think there's much evidence yet that NHH can play midfield. He's pretty exclusively played wing or forward, at least at Talent League level. I was hoping we'd see him get a run through the midfield this year but any plans that might have existed have been derailed by his injury.

I don't think he needs to be a midfielder to be a real top prospect though. His running power and pace, aerial strength and kicking skills are pretty exciting, and he's shown that he can step up in big moments.

I agree that he would be a great fit for essendon.
apologies, wing is what I was meaning, midfield was just the ultimate result.

Archer May #1
It seems only a matter of time before Archer May gets his opportunity on an AFL list. He had his supporters after a solid top age season for the Dragons in 2023, and then had his name mentioned as a possible pick up in last years MSD. This year, after a hot start with Subiaco in the WAFL he's again firmly in the MSD frame and seems likely to be taken.

Here we look back to last year at probably his best game playing for Richmond in the VFL tallying 17 disposals, 11 marks and 4 goals. Not the quickest key forward but a big powerful frame and soft hands, active and competitive, strong forward craft to position himself ahead of the play or find space inside the 50.

Tom McCarthy #1
McCarthy is another of the Richmond VFL linked players being discussed as potential mid season draft picks. He's a versatile type who can play a number of roles. In this game he was deployed primarily as a medium sized defender, working hard both ways and being effective at disrupting opposition moves as well as getting involved in attacking ball movement.

Jesse Mellor #1
After booting a bag for Vic Country in the Young Guns trial game a couple of weeks ago, Jesse Mellor backed up that performance by going big again on the weekend for the Falcons. He and his team struggled a little with the Devil's pressure in the first half, but they burst into life in the second half launching a ferocious comeback on the back of Mellor's 4 second half goals and fiery competitive spirit, ultimately falling just short of a come from behind win. Mellor was impactful in all the ways you want to see from a forward, taking marks on the lead and in contested situations, crumbing and even snapping a quick left foot goal from the middle of the pack at a forward 50 stoppage.

Talor Byrne #2
Another strong performance from Byrne who's putting together a solid body of work through this first third of the season. Given his lack of size might make it difficult for him as a pure mid at AFL level it was encouraging to see him pop up with a couple of goals here and I'll be keen to see if we get more of him in different roles as the season progresses.

The broadcast had some major issues with lag spikes which affects this video a little.