Vintage Bay Norf

Should this thread be short listed for the 2011 TOTY?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Who cares

If they did, I wonder how many North flogs would front up for the I told you so's.

i wouldn't, why would I if my team no longer exists. I'd give up on footy altogether.

Yeah, I don't think I would make much of an effort to get back into it.
I already have other sports to pay attention to.

I do concede that we were beaten fairly.

That being said, the celebratory nature of Sydney supporters is greatly overzealous. Did you see the game? They played as bad as North, and North are no good at all.

Anyway, enjoy the rest of the season. Narrow wins against bottom 4 sides will rocket you into finals contention! I know our season is dead and buried. What about yours?

Norf 2010 board.

Jimbob. Why are you such a shit president?

8035964.jpg

So really.....the last thing you want is for North to fold? :cool:

Hmm.. I dunno about it being the very last thing I want but its definitely not that high up on my wish list. More the point, it'll probably end up happening sooner or later regardless of weather I want it or not.

But like the old saying, you don't know what you've got till its gone, I'm sure a lot of us will miss having Norf around more than we care to think the day it goes the way of the dodo.
Just like Norf supporters will be left to decide which new club to follow, flogs like me will be stuck having to decide which new club to troll. Assuming Norf doesn't simply relocate which frankly is looking more and more like the ideal solution for everyone involved.

Seriously, the Tassie Kangas doesn't sound so bad to me. I'd even buy a membership in their inaugural season to help get the club kickstarted.

Comrade Bosk,

Let not the ways of the Kangaroo dominate your thinking on this matter.

Year after year after year, they have survived through sympathy, handouts and 'equalisation' payments. They are a welfare club, pure and simple.

When push came to shove in 2007, the public was asked to get behind them to help keep them in Melbourne. The public responded. The board promised to deliver a sustainable Melbourne operation in return.

3 years later - Tassie games, Ballarat games, 'please someone pay to watch us' games. Those sympathy members have been short changed.

If North are again faced to choose their destiny, and relocate as an alternative to complete dissolution, heed my words:

Do NOT, under any circumstances, dip into your pockets to get it across the line. North must be commercially viable, or cease dragging down the rest of the competition.

North is like the son who won't move out of home - artificially sustaining their existence is only prolonging the inevitable, and ultimately holding them back from making the changes needed to stand on their own two feet.

GoGriff.

Comrade Bosk,

Let not the ways of the Kangaroo dominate your thinking on this matter.

Year after year after year, they have survived through sympathy, handouts and 'equalisation' payments. They are a welfare club, pure and simple.

When push came to shove in 2007, the public was asked to get behind them to help keep them in Melbourne. The public responded. The board promised to deliver a sustainable Melbourne operation in return.

3 years later - Tassie games, Ballarat games, 'please someone pay to watch us' games. Those sympathy members have been short changed.

If North are again faced to choose their destiny, and relocate as an alternative to complete dissolution, heed my words:

Do NOT, under any circumstances, dip into your pockets to get it across the line. North must be commercially viable, or cease dragging down the rest of the competition.

North is like the son who won't move out of home - artificially sustaining their existence is only prolonging the inevitable, and ultimately holding them back from making the changes needed to stand on their own two feet.

GoGriff.

Comrade GoGriff,

I bow before your superior knowledge on this matter and greatly appreciated reading your excellent post.

There's little doubt Norf have suckled from the AFL teat for far too long and need to be cut loose to either make it on their own, or crawl away to die under a bridge somewhere.

That said, I would gladly cough up the cash for a season membership if I knew that Norf was finally to be relocated to an area capable of sustaining it without any further AFL assistance.
I'm sure you'll agree that the day Norf re-locates will be the day the rest of the competition breathes a collective sigh of relief that it no longer needs to support this club's doomed existence.

Hmm.. I dunno about it being the very last thing I want but its definitely not that high up on my wish list. More the point, it'll probably end up happening sooner or later regardless of weather I want it or not.

But like the old saying, you don't know what you've got till its gone, I'm sure a lot of us will miss having Norf around more than we care to think the day it goes the way of the dodo.
Just like Norf supporters will be left to decide which new club to follow, flogs like me will be stuck having to decide which new club to troll. Assuming Norf doesn't simply relocate which frankly is looking more and more like the ideal solution for everyone involved.

What a great post.

Terrible idea. Tasmania deserve an original team who's history will be 100% theirs. The kangaroos doesn't wash as a nickname for Tassie, and there colours are all wrong. Red and Green, bit of Gold. Mandatory.

This begs the question, would a totally new team based in Tasmania be more financially viable in their very first year than the 'roos are now?

Which begs another question; who's more economically viable at the moment out of NMFC and GCFC?

it's run it's race without old teff melting down.

Vintage Bay Norf