North in Tassie?

• Thread starter CrowFan
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

C

CrowFan

I am sure this will generate some debate, but I reckon North ought to give up on sydney and instead go to a state that really wants a team. A state like Tassie perhaps. Tassie can only support one team, but at least it would be a good one, no one wants to watch losers after all.

If we want a true national game, tassie should get a team of its own, and I reckon north should be it.

Good Point Crow fan!!

Fitzroy tried and were reasonably successful in Tasmania, even though they weren't going real well.

North could probably expect 15,000 to home games in Tassie, which is a lot better than the poultry 6,900 odd in Sydney

Tasmania is a football state and have been crying out for a team for a long time, Sydney have one team and they're starting to drop off them. North aren't needed in Sydney but they would be welcomed in Tasmania with open arms.

I think it would just come down to logistics as to whether they would make a profit or not. One thing is for certain, they would increase their membership in Tasmania which has to be a positive in itself. I don't think they have increased their Sydney membership judging by the turnout last week.

Tasmania would have their own team in the AFL today if their market could support one.

Lack of a suitable AFL venue, potential for sponsorship, population are all factors why they are not in the AFL today which is a great shame.

They were also on record to have been very disappointed with their attendances at the Ansett Cup games, apparently thousands below what was expected. The shape of the TFL with many teams merging does not bode well either, though perhaps you are right that the kangaroos playing games there will boost popularity in both the club and sport.

The opportunities available in the Sydney market is what attracted the Kangaroos to Sydney. Perhaps Sydney is not ready for another team at this stage. The point is, the potential for it to happen is there, unlike in Tassie.

Nothing against Tasmania because we would not have a premiership today had it not been for the Baldocks, Stewarts, etc. Plus the many other greats of the game from all clubs to hail from Tassie.

Forget it,that's not going to happen ,as the AFL have made it clear that they don't feel Tassie can support a team and they therefore won't support any move down there and without AFL subsidies it would be Footy Suicide to try.

The problems associated with bringing AFL footy to Tasmania are many :

1) Its too small - sorry guys but 450,000 people just do not generate enough money to support an AFL footy club. You need a regular crowd of at least 25,000 at home games to make the venture worthwhile. It does not sound like much, but 25,000 at Bellreive Oval for a footy game means that 12.5 % of the entire population of Southern Tasmania showing up for a game - not likely to happen.

2) The venues are not good enough - Bellreive Oval in Hobart and York Park in Launceston are both scheduled for redevelopment - good because they need to be. At the moment neither is an AFL standard venue and that goes for Nth Hobart Oval as well.

3) Its been tried before - Have to take issue with GoCatsGo here, the Fitzroy experiment in the early 80's was actually a dismal failure, the crowds were pathetic and the already struggling club lost alot of money in the venture.

4) Tasmanians have had their chances before - Most notably with the Ansett Cup games of recent years. The crowds have been pathetic, like 3500 or so showing up for the Ansett Cup game in Hobart and a slightly better 5000 for the game in Davenport. If Tasmanians are really that interested in footy why don't they show up in greater numbers ?

5) If its not Carlton forget it - Every Tasmania I have ever known is a Blues supporter. In fact I get the distinct impression that Hobart is basically a Blues town. Any effort to bring footy to Tasmania must have Carlton involved in some way otherwise I just don't think its going to get much support.

Would absolutely love to see AFL footy in Tasmania. Its an important market for football that is in danger of slipping away. I hope the powers that be can find some way of bringing more footy there because to lose this imporatnt market would be a backward step thats for sure.

Hawthorn and Richmond did get 15,000 for a practice match, You'd think the fixture as an ansett game would get a crowd. But later Richmond v someone else drew a poor crowd.

Melbourne are investigating but have they got support in Tassie ? Perhaps against Hawks (who will pay some ansett games there) or Carlton.

Melbourne v Hawthorn might be OK as it's one game which is poorly supported in melbourne (you'd think we would hate each other by now)

We don't want them.
frown.gif

I too would love to see an AFL team in Tasmania, but I doubt whether there will ever be one. The very poor crowds at most AFL matches that have been played there have really stymied any push for an AFL side to be based there. Fitzroy's venture into Tasmania was quite frankly a disaster with very poor crowds and little money made. Whether this was because of Fitzroy's poor drawing power or Tasmanian's general apathy towards the matches is debatable. Probably a combination of both. Channel 7 even went so far to play a backing tape of crowd sounds for one Fitzroy match in order to give a bit more 'big crowd atmosphere' for the viewers. Other matches in Tasmania, not involving Fitzroy have been poorly attended as well. North are far, far better going into Sydney or even Canberra and the southern NSW/Riverina area than Tasmania. Melbourne's venture into Tassie will ultimately fail as well for the same reasons as Fitzroy's did.

I thought the Demons thoughts about Tasmania were sound but the Demons probably don't have the support there. As a Hawthorn supporter im mildly supportive of playing regular ansett cup games there as it's a way to 'do our bit' for national exposure without any risk, percieved or otherwise, that Hawthorn would be re-located there. As you quite rightly say it's very remote that a team be started/moved there. The hawks have played every state for the past three years so why not Tassie as well. Perhaps Hawthorn has the most right to be called 'Australias team'

This is better than the sydney market. North's victorian fans have obviously been put out by the whole thing as attendances have fallen here. The perception that they would move totally is not healthy.

PS Didn't a Hawks/Fitzroy game get 35,000 in hobart in the eighties ? scored 35 goals I think too.

I honestly dont think Sydney is ready to support 2 teams. I reckon moving there would spell the eventual death of North. Its a huge risk. Sydney siders seem to be very narrow minded in their view of AFL, and it will take years to change their beligerance.

You can say a lot about the spiteful rivalry about SA and Vics (blah blah) but at least we both appreciate sport in its many forms. Sydney siders don't like it simply because it has the 'vic' stigma, which I think is pathetic.

Tassie may not be the answer, but neither is Sydney. Watch the bandwagoners drop off if the swans miss the finals.

The Kangaroos are not wanted in Sydney and now Tassie don't want them.
Try Darwin - if that fails, maybe Alice Springs would take them!

Maybe the Kangaroos should set up their own league or perhaps play a few games in Uzbekistan - maybe they might want them.

to bloodstained angel

I dont think you know a real lot about anything !

geelong has a population of around 450,000 people and can support an AFL team so why cant Tassie ????

Strange answer !!!

Yeah thats why we are broke. If it wasn't for the Bank forgetting thier loan we wouldn,t be here.

Sorry Chev1977

Firstly the population of Geelong is not 450,000 its actually less than half that. Don't belive me ? - check the latest Australian Yearbook.

Geelong is having alot of trouble trying to make enough money out of their existing geographical region. Thats why they are pushing hard into the Melbourne Metro area by playing more games at Colonial and the MCG. And as Whiskas pointed out, if it wasn't for the Banks generosity in retiring alot of Geelongs debt then they would be in a lot of trouble.

Secondly- I will stick to my original proposition that Tasmania's population is not large enough to generate the kinds of income streams that are required to keep an AFL club up and running. The yearly bill runs into millions of dollars for these operations.

Take for example the Hobart area - population 200,000. A break even point for Bellerive Oval or North Hobart Oval would be a crowd of 25-30,000 people.

Such a crowd represents 12.5 % of the entire popoulation of the Greater Hobart area. When was the last time 12.5 % of a city's entire population turned out to see a footy game ? 100,000 crowd at the MCG represents around 3 % of the entire population of Melbourne. Can you now see what AFL is up against in Tasmania ?

Either way you look at it - the figures don't add up. AFL footy is an espensive operation that seems to be beyond the means of Tasmian at the moment.

450,000 in Geelong?
biggrin.gif

I don't think so.

And you are right BA, Tassie simply could not support an AFL club.

Chev, the same as Darwin, Alice Springs, the Gold Coast, Sydney, Canberra and wherever else you suggested well supported Vic teams be relocated too.

I think that 25,000 to 30,000 would turn up to a game in Hobart because there is nothing else to do in Tasmania anyway.

Again to bloodstained Angel

Adelaide has a population approx 900,000 ok (I know that beacuse I have lived here all my life) and I still belive geelong has just under half a million people !

but if adelaide can fit 45,000 people regularly into football park meaning that would be about 1 person in every ten people going to the footy correct ? then a small state like Tassie with 12.4 per cent of the population going to it would mean there would be a regular attendance of 20,000 give or take a couple of thousand people which is about the same amount of members as most clubs

However Tassie may not get the crowds now but if they had a team in the AFL I swear on on grave they would get huge crowds.

And Hobart Oval etc... Would be better than that bloody Colonial Stadium

and Futhermore even if they couldn't quite finance there own team I think the Tasmanian league could own them like the SANFL owns the crows but with a little assistance from the AFL

PSS. Victorians are afraid of losing a team to another state. (in a nutshell)

I rest my case and I speak the truth !!!

There are several negatives that are keeping a Tassie side out of the AFL:
1.From what I am reading Tasmanian Football needs a BIG restructure. The statewide league is hanging on for dear life and people are trying to get the point through to the men in suits that regional footy is the way to go. The clubs in the regional leagues are pulling in huge crowds and having a great time, the Stet Wide league clubs are really struggling. I think there is room for both. My idea would be to merge the State Wide League, Northern Tasmanian Football League and Southern Football League. Create one league (run by Football Tasmania), but split it into 2 divisions, North and South. have the two branches would simply run as the NTFL & STFL run now (with perhaps one or 2 mergers - no more than 12 teams per division), with Grand Finalists in each divison. The two divisional premiers then play off for a state league trophy. There you have it - a statewide league, with a focus on regional footy!

2. The intense rivalry between football fans/administrations in the North and South. A plan for a new stadium, with money from the Federal Government was shelved as
Senator in the North of the state didnt want to see a new stadium in Hobart. The arguement is any Tassie AFL/VFL based team should be based in Launceston. This is due to the fact that Launceston is easier to get to than Hobart for the northern supporters. The Government has since provided money for bellrieve in Hobart and York park in Launceston to have upgrades, with York Park getting lights.
3. The crowds this year at Preseason games, were better in the North than the South. I got the impression that the games were too early for them - people had other sporting commitments etc. In the late 90's however the were getting crowds of about 17,000 for the preseason games, so the support is there.
4. the Government support for it is not as strong as it was, mainly due to the fact that Football people in Tassie can't even get the Statewide league structure right! the Groom government did support it and funded a report into it. At the time they promoted it saying it could bring about 14 million to the state per year. This research actually went into a proposal that was presented to the AFL in 1996. Tasmania is the only state that has done this. There is talk another report will be done.

I believe that they can support an AFL team, but the administration down there need to get their house in order first.

Jerome

I will say it again, Geelong is not even close to having half a million residents.

The City of Greater Geelong, which includes surrounding areas not in Geelong, has just under 200,000 residents.

And yes chev, of course those of us who are dreaded 'Victorians' are interested in the long-term viability of our football teams. I cannot believe how simplistic some of you think the problems of this competition are. Get rid of some of the Victorian clubs and everything will be fine!

You are interested in promoting the game overseas yet at the same time destroying football at its grass roots level. Make your mind up

I think it was you SAINTER who said geelong got out of trouble from the bank ?

well Geelong has under 200,000 people I agree. I heard somewhere that is was around 450,000 so that person was wrong!

Geelong have been established since 1859 and in the VFL/AFL from 1897 not bad I think with premierships in 1925,31,51,52,63 so I think Tasmania can hold an AFL team !!

The debt hasn't been around that long ! Geelong them selves stuffed up somwhere.

and who loves Melbourne that much to represent sole suburbs promote Tassie, Darwin places like that and Canberra

whoever said Alice Springs needs to be shot !!

We may have one of the biggest stadiums in the world being the MCG but the following is tiny compared to soccer so have a bit of self pride and belive in your game I do!!!

International Competition would leave the AFL for dead.

I hope to see it before I die and I will make sure it will.

Aim for the sky not for a suburb that has a huge crime rate

People like me care about footy not suburban pride WHAT PRIDE ??? Melbourne is huge it aint small and pretty like Adelaide we care about our city.

and it shows on the board too so all the way with spliting up melbourne teams and share the load around to citys that WILL look after our game.

ENOUGH SAID !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, heres the Truth
Tasmania is really 2 states
basically the north and south of tassie hate each other this is why they have more success with regional league footy and why an AFL team would fail there, would it be the team of the north of the south, while it is only a short drive from launceston to hobart about 1hr 45mins you'd think it was like driving across the nullabor the way tasmanians talk about it. perhaps a tasmanian team in the VFL would be a good idea then at least there would be no byes in the league and bendigo might be able to beat someone

North in Tassie?