North Melb Align with Tassie & Ballarat

Travvy43 said:
The rumour is true, and marc Grieg has also gone, the vice captain, he has accepted a coaching job with a club in the warracknabeal region.

Nick Bye has gone too, the second string ruckmn, was anumber one ruckman before porter was there, he is going down to play int he geelong FL.

That's 3 very good players, but in a way, it's to be expected. It's happened at most clubs when they have aligned. Look at the amount of ex-bullants in the GV at the moment. Hopefully it strengthens the Ballarat FL, though I'm surprised Grieg has gone to Warracknabeal and Bye to Geelong. I thought Greig was a local boy? Is Bye returning home?

Guinea said:
That's 3 very good players, but in a way, it's to be expected. It's happened at most clubs when they have aligned. Look at the amount of ex-bullants in the GV at the moment. Hopefully it strengthens the Ballarat FL, though I'm surprised Grieg has gone to Warracknabeal and Bye to Geelong. I thought Greig was a local boy? Is Bye returning home?

Grieg is a local boy, but got a handsome offer from what i hear. And yeah, bye is a geelong boy, will play down there but i think he will be still based in melbourne where he works.

A bit of discussion on this at vflfooty.com, but North Melbourne must worried. I can't see them wanting to agree to the Devils requirement of a max of 6 players, locked into a deal for 3-years.

North Ballarat would be left with up to 10 or more Roos players. Surely the Roosters would only want about 6 Roos players as well? How did the meeting with the members go? Are they as opposed to the alignment as the playing list is?

If either deal falls through, the Roos are a bit stuck for options, and I can't see them wanting to be locked in for 3 years if it isn't working.

that's happening every where, i can use Northern Bullants for a example half the side is Carlton Senior players. this aligning with the VFL was a big mistake also AFL Totally stuffed they should Have kept the Resereves side biggest ever mistake to ever had happen .

onslaught said:
How did the meeting with the members go? Are they as opposed to the alignment as the playing list is?

Cant speak for North Ballarat but I can bet you there was no "meeting" with the members of the Devils. She's basically a case of what the Decision Makers think is right is right!

I dare say, same goes for the players!

If they disagree, what are Wade, Abel, Armstrong and Co gonna do?

go back on the idea?

F**k the Devils! When they finally come to Hobart (haven't been here in 5 years) I'll be yelling GO YOU F**KIN SEAGULLS!

Barge said:
Cant speak for North Ballarat but I can bet you there was no "meeting" with the members of the Devils. She's basically a case of what the Decision Makers think is right is right!
The members would've received that pointless little feedback form, but that's about all.
They're not a real club, just a corporate franchise for bandwagoners.

onslaught said:
The Devils were flying over for a meeting earlier today between the Roos, the Roosters and Tassy.

Anyone heard any news?
No mate wasn't home to see the news. I did see in the Mercury today however, a small ad in the back somewhere from the Devils (AFL Tasmania) saying that they would be holding a members forum (presumably at North Hobart Oval) early next week to enlighten members on the situation.
At the bottom of the ad is stated financial card holders only to attend, and membership cards must be produced on entry.

What a fun meeting that'll be.

Kingpin said:
No mate wasn't home to see the news. I did see in the Mercury today however, a small ad in the back somewhere from the Devils (AFL Tasmania) saying that they would be holding a members forum (presumably at North Hobart Oval) early next week to enlighten members on the situation.
At the bottom of the ad is stated financial card holders only to attend, and membership cards must be produced on entry.

What a fun meeting that'll be.

Any chance of getting a tape recorder in there? I'd love to hear the reception the most loved bloke in Tas footy (Scott Wade) gets...could he sink it any further into the mire...

there was a bit on the news tonight, devils will get both Rawlings's wen available and by the sounds of it they are only in it to get hold of some tall kpp.

with this going ahead wouldnt it be great to see the Mariners back in the TAC cup, its a real shame they would have really mixed it with the top teams this year, and with some of the players coming through they would be very competitive in years to come.

masthead.gif

28/10/05: Members Show Support For VFL Alliance

By Brett Stubbs
Devils members unanimously agreed last night to support the club's partial VFL alignment with the Kangaroos.
Only about 20 of the Devils' 2000 members turned up at the members'
forum in Hobart, but all voted in favour of the move.
"We have been members since the inception of the club," said Jo Morgan, of New Town.
"I was a probably a bit more against than for it before tonight, but having heard all the criteria, I think they are doing the best for the club."
Steve Williams agreed.
"There was no animosity," Williams said.
"The normal questions were asked like `Are the Tassie boys going to miss out if we do go in?'
"But they were all answered. It was quite encouraging."
For Lauderdale's Robert Hamilton, one of his main concerns was the relationship between the Devils and the Kangaroos.
"The thing I like about it is there seems to be a commitment by North Melbourne to the Devils to make it work," Hamilton said.
"There will be some resistance [next season], but when the public see it out on the field, I think they can be won over."
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said the meeting was productive despite the low turn-out.
"There were no dissenters at all," Wade said.
"The view of the members present tonight was that it was a terrific thing for the Devils and they were all for it.
"We do understand there will be some members who won't support the decision, but they had the opportunity to turn up tonight.
"They can suggest the notice was too short, but if they felt so passionate about it, then I would have thought they would have turned up."

20 people out of 2000 members is hardly unanamous support. Interesting that so few turned up.

Kingpin said:
masthead.gif

28/10/05: Members Show Support For VFL Alliance

By Brett Stubbs
Devils members unanimously agreed last night to support the club's partial VFL alignment with the Kangaroos.
Only about 20 of the Devils' 2000 members turned up at the members'
forum in Hobart, but all voted in favour of the move.
"We have been members since the inception of the club," said Jo Morgan, of New Town.
"I was a probably a bit more against than for it before tonight, but having heard all the criteria, I think they are doing the best for the club."
Steve Williams agreed.
"There was no animosity," Williams said.
"The normal questions were asked like `Are the Tassie boys going to miss out if we do go in?'
"But they were all answered. It was quite encouraging."
For Lauderdale's Robert Hamilton, one of his main concerns was the relationship between the Devils and the Kangaroos.
"The thing I like about it is there seems to be a commitment by North Melbourne to the Devils to make it work," Hamilton said.
"There will be some resistance [next season], but when the public see it out on the field, I think they can be won over."
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said the meeting was productive despite the low turn-out.
"There were no dissenters at all," Wade said.
"The view of the members present tonight was that it was a terrific thing for the Devils and they were all for it.
"We do understand there will be some members who won't support the decision, but they had the opportunity to turn up tonight.
"They can suggest the notice was too short, but if they felt so passionate about it, then I would have thought they would have turned up."

20 people out of 2000 members is hardly unanamous support. Interesting that so few turned up.

1% support. Sounds like a winner.

Yep glad he and one other walked out he's coming to play for the warrack Eagles
he's originally from up this way any way he was involved with kalkee, in the Horsham district league, he's coaching Warrack eagles in 2006 :) i can see alot of walk outs happening at North Ballarat, half the nB playes won;t get games. this alligning with vfl clubs is total bull******** I wished carlton had gone back on their own as they were close to doing before the 2005 season came about . Marc said he wasn;t vary happy with the roos coming, hope he convinces other to leave and come up here give north ballarat a hint not to take in The Kangaroos i hope the roos enjoy their long trip To Ballarat :)
Marc's a Wimmera boy.
since he was involved with Kalkee when he was younger, before he went to Ballarat .

North Melb Align with Tassie & Ballarat