Norwood... New AFL bid rumour

Jul 22, 2000
Port Adelaide
I ran a post before, re Norwood and an AFL aspiration.......

Rumour doing the rounds....BEFORE YOU ALL SHOUT ME DOWN ABOUT NO ROOM IN ADELAIDE, ETC, ETC ,ETC.

Rumour is, Norwood are formulating a new AFL bid....AND are already talking to the AFL..

The theory is....there are still 3/4 of a million people going to footy in Adelaide..The SANFL..outside of the AFL.

Port appeal to Port people...Norwood still have a large dedicated following, and sufficient to have an AFL base.

The rumour says they can afford to take some fans from the Crows as not all Crows fans can get in at Football Park or become members , coupled with the anti Port factor, coupled with the rivalry that has existed between Port and Norwood since 1878.

Could provide sufficient point of difference for a new club in Adelaide.

It would secure a large slice of remaining monies currently going between SANFL clubs and games.

This with the money coming to the AFL thru' TV would not make the proposal a large risk, rather ,a way of securing the majority of Adelaides remaining football community.

Before you guys go ape........can anyone else lend some credence to this...

PA1870

Thanks PA. WHile I don't doubt Norwood would do anything to get into the AFL, as you predicted I'd have to question the feasability. A simple look at a couple of sources gives a good idea of how big the market is here. In Melbourne the ratio of attendance to population is about 12%. Here its 8% (WA 6%, Brisbane 2%, Sydney 1%).
Of that market, only one third will ever go to the football on more ten ocasions (ABS Recreation Survey 1999). This means the market is more like 80,000 in Adelaide not 750,000. The market share between Crows and Port has stayed at 60/40 for years and current attendances run to that ratio. ANyway Norwood would have a huge challenge finding 20,000. I suppose the argument is that there are Crows supporters who can't get seats but all the evidence suggests there might not be as many of them as the Crows supporters would have us believe. So even with a combination of say, encouraging 2% more people to go to the AFL, plus taking some of the crows, well, it's not 20,000. I guess it's a question of how many of the SANFL attendees are not currently attending AFL. Don't have a number on this but I can't see it being half. THen the SANFL stats are pumped up by the large numbers of kids who go but don't pay - no income there. Plus where would they play. Norwood? Well, we'll wait and see I suppose. Interesting.
MH

I have heard that Southport will be the next AFL team.
Even the St Kilda president on Footy Feedback the other night mentioned that if they dont get the membership figures they need they could end up the Southport Saints.

I agree totally that there should be teams from other parts of Australia.

However.....I stress..it is only a rumour, but it appears Norwood ARE talking to the AFL.

The 750,000 figure is the SANFL going population.

PA1870

PA1870, Adelaide is a great footy state but i dont believe it could sustain 3 AFL clubs, other areas would make more sense eg Canberra, Tassie even a second side in Brisbane or Sydney. I cant believe that the Norwood option would even be considered seriously in the next 20 years.

I agree with you Bubbalouis. Can't see Norwood getting in unless they merge with a Vic. side, and even then it's pretty unlikely. I've heard Wayne Jackson say their priority is the eastern seaboard, so I reckon another side out of South Aussie would be a loooooong time coming.

At who's expense will Norwood enter the AFL?

Or will they 'merge' with an existing club?

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

My 2 questions:

1) Can Adelaide support 3 AFL teams? Will this damage the Crows or Powers support base?

2) Will having 3 teams from Adelaide ruin the SANFL, when the Eagles and Dockers joined the AFL the attendances went right down in the WAFL and are still at all time lows now.

Thanks for your input guys....

You ask some very pertenant questions.

No doubt similar questions are being asked by the AFL...

More so the SANFL who have the most to lose, however, the rumour is there are untapped football followers in Adelaide, apart from Crows followers , a sufficient amount to sustain a third club...Norwood....
It will put pressure on Port to lift their game...or drop by the wayside...

Norwood would then fill a gap in Adelaide that many Crows supporters would take up with a second or third team that could allow them to follow AFL football. So alluded theory goes.

PA1870

hmmmmmmm

me thinks it is perhaps not a bad idea but unlikely.

The point missed is there are 2 factors....

1. memberhips - I really doubt Norwoord would have enough. They always were number 2 in the SANFL behind Port so I would expect maybe 25000 members max. Not enough really.

2. Television. TV is worth more to the AFL than bums on seats. Having a third SA side would boost ratings in that you have a whole football state watching, as well as beeming it back to Melbourne. So this would work in Norwood's favour much more than Canberra, NSW or Qld where no-one would watch apart from the actual members of the club (ie once you have Brisbane you are not really going to get broadbased support if you are Southport...really only Southport members...goldcoast maybe ??)

Unlikely and sad really.

ptw

To put things in perspective - the Swans did some market research in autumn regarding playing games in the west of Sydney at the Olympic stadium. They got 55,000 names on a mailing list for people interested in becoming members when games are played at the stadium and a list of 2,000 potential corporate sponsors to jump on board at the same time. This latent potential in Sydney's west dwarfs anything Norwood might be able to contribute to the AFL.

Originally posted by Tim_in_Philly:
To put things in perspective - the Swans did some market research in autumn regarding playing games in the west of Sydney at the Olympic stadium. They got 55,000 names on a mailing list for people interested in becoming members when games are played at the stadium and a list of 2,000 potential corporate sponsors to jump on board at the same time. This latent potential in Sydney's west dwarfs anything Norwood might be able to contribute to the AFL.

Are there any publications available detailing this research Tim?

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Your point is very valid, PTW

But it is also a very good argument to keem all the present melbourne clubs where they are.
Melbourne is the biggest AFL TV audience by a country mile.

We hate going to the MCG to watch our team playing Port Fremantle but we will watch the return fixture on TV on droves.

Any combination of Eagles, Feo, Crows etc etc holds no interest.

Originally posted by ptw:

hmmmmmmm

me thinks it is perhaps not a bad idea but unlikely.

The point missed is there are 2 factors....

1. memberhips - I really doubt Norwoord would have enough. They always were number 2 in the SANFL behind Port so I would expect maybe 25000 members max. Not enough really.

2. Television. TV is worth more to the AFL than bums on seats. Having a third SA side would boost ratings in that you have a whole football state watching, as well as beeming it back to Melbourne. So this would work in Norwood's favour much more than Canberra, NSW or Qld where no-one would watch apart from the actual members of the club (ie once you have Brisbane you are not really going to get broadbased support if you are Southport...really only Southport members...goldcoast maybe ??)

Unlikely and sad really.

ptw

I agree Pess....

It is clear that what is becomming more important than attendance is viewing audience...therefore a club like North are valuable to the league if their games rate well....if only 20000 people turn up to the games then that is fairly insignificant from a league point of view.

Unfortunately for people who like to go to the game, the revenue is maximised by playing as many games outside of Melbourne as possible.

One way around this is to scrap the rule which says that you cannot broadcast against the gate. Find a way to equitably distribute the TV monies and clubs like North will have a much better chance of survival....as you can then broadcast games live into Melbourne...people who want to go to the games can...and those people who stay at home at watch on TV will generate more money for the AFL than if they actually went to the game....

Banning games against the gate comes out of the '70s I think...where most of the money was made from gate receipts.

ptw

Whether the AFL are 'talking' to Norwood or not doesn't really mean a lot. THe AFL are constantly talking to the NTFL, but have no intention of putting a side up there, at least in the next 50 years. Unless Norwood want to move to Sydney, they have no chance of getting an AFL licence, because there is effectively nothing in it for the AFL.
Does it expand the Adelaide market? No.
Does it promote football in new areas? No.
Is there potential for growth? No, Adelaide's population is stagnant.
Does it attract new people to the game? Unlikely. I would expect a vast majority of Norwood fans would follow the Crows. And it certainly wouldn't make any difference outside SA.

To put it bluntly, it would earn the AFL no more in TV rights, any increase in gate receipts would be matched, possibly outweighed in the costs invovled with running an extra AFL team. Bringing in Norwood is somewhat similar to bringing back Fitzroy.

I reckon Peel Thunder have a better chance of getting an AFL licence. At least they are located in a high growth area.

Originally posted by Rob:
Whether the AFL are 'talking' to Norwood or not doesn't really mean a lot. THe AFL are constantly talking to the NTFL, but have no intention of putting a side up there, at least in the next 50 years. Unless Norwood want to move to Sydney, they have no chance of getting an AFL licence, because there is effectively nothing in it for the AFL.
Does it expand the Adelaide market? No.
Does it promote football in new areas? No.
Is there potential for growth? No, Adelaide's population is stagnant.
Does it attract new people to the game? Unlikely. I would expect a vast majority of Norwood fans would follow the Crows. And it certainly wouldn't make any difference outside SA.

To put it bluntly, it would earn the AFL no more in TV rights, any increase in gate receipts would be matched, possibly outweighed in the costs invovled with running an extra AFL team. Bringing in Norwood is somewhat similar to bringing back Fitzroy.

I reckon Peel Thunder have a better chance of getting an AFL licence. At least they are located in a high growth area.

Some good points raised there Rob.

As for Peel Thunder, they need to survive staying in the WAFL by 2002 first
wink.gif

I think if there is a third SA based AFL side it wouldn't be based in Adelaide (notice the thirs AFL denials don't mention the "state" but just "Adelaide"), it would involve a marger, with an AFL team that's close to, say, $10 million in debt and which already has significant South Australian support from a population base of say 100,000 who are closer to Melbourne than Adelaide. Now that's feasible.
MH