<b>Resident Mongrel</b>
10k Posts
Jun 24, 2006
The start of a new era
Essendon supporters can now go 2 ways.

Start to "eat their own"

Or get behind the club for the rest of the year, however long that will be.

EVERY member voted in these board members

Whether you like the decision or not, whether you believe it was handled correctly or not, it has happened.

Sheedy knew there was a good chance this would happen all year, we have now found out.

He's not spitting the dummy is he?

Sheedy has not been sacked, we are not renewing his contract!!!!

Sheeds and Essendon are honouring their contracts, very admirable and the way Essendon should conduct themselves.

What would you be saying IF we waited until the end of the year to not renew his contract and by then we were left with the bottom of the barrel as far as replacement coaches go?

IF you have a problem with the board and the way they have handled things, you will get a chance at the next elections to have your ultimate say.

Until then SUPPORT the club and turn up to every game you can and cheer for YOUR Bombers as you always have.

You will be sadly missed Sheeds but OUR club will go on

Start to "eat their own"

Whether you like the decision or not, whether you believe it was handled correctly or not, it has happened.

Sheedy knew there was a good chance this would happen all year, we have now found out.

Sheeds and Essendon are honouring their contracts, very admirable and the way Essendon should conduct themselves.

What would you be saying IF we waited until the end of the year to not renew his contract and by then we were left with the bottom of the barrel as far as replacement coaches go?

IF you have a problem with the board and the way they have handled things, you will get a chance at the next elections to have your ultimate say.

Until then SUPPORT the club and turn up to every game you can and cheer for YOUR Bombers as you always have.

Great post :thumbsu:

Start to "eat their own"

Great Post Merv :thumbsu:

Yeah, I dunno, Merv. I'm angry, and to be honest, I don't see why we're especially needed now. If the board has indicated that our season is a write-off, why should I turn up and clap & yell?

Maybe next year, or something.

Im in total shock....i woke up late today (2pm) and i knew sheeds was under pressure but i never could prepare myself like this. It feels like i lost a father or uncle or something.

Love ya sheeds have a good one mate:thumbsu:

As for Essendon its a new era for the first time in 30 years.

Yeah, I dunno, Merv. I'm angry, and to be honest, I don't see why we're especially needed now. If the board has indicated that our season is a write-off, why should I turn up and clap & yell?

Because you dont go for the board. You go because you love the bombers and want to support your team and players.

Seems to me there's two ways to slice this loyalty thing. I've been around for each of Sheedy's mad misadventures, and I've been around for the flags, and I've been to every Melbourne game in the last few years, when it's been lean and you wonder why you waste so much of your weekend on something so infuriating.

It comes down to this: I don't trust anyone to get it right as much as I trust Sheedy.

I'm not ready to cut him loose because a bunch of nobodies sitting around a table say I should. This club vs individuals shite is nonsense, and if you believe it you're a goddamn robot, or a very recent Essendon supporter.

Did I miss something?

When did they write off our season?

I don't agree with the decision but I will be there to support the boys and Sheedy for the rest of the season and beyond

I reckon there is atleast 12 other clubs out there that would take Sheedy in an instant. The question for me is is any one better than Sheedy in the market. The answer is a big NO.
I would love to have Sheedy at the Dogs. My God that would be a big boost for our club.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

Seems to me there's two ways to slice this loyalty thing. I've been around for each of Sheedy's mad misadventures, and I've been around for the flags, and I've been to every Melbourne game in the last few years, when it's been lean and you wonder why you waste so much of your weekend on something so infuriating.

It comes down to this: I don't trust anyone to get it right as much as I trust Sheedy.

I'm not ready to cut him loose because a bunch of nobodies sitting around a table say I should. This club vs individuals shite is nonsense, and if you believe it you're a goddamn robot, or a very recent Essendon supporte
r.

Zark, take a deep breath mate.

They are not a bunch of nobodies, they are your clubs decision makers and YOU voted them in

If you actually believe what you wrote about the individual vs the club then you have no idea.

BTW, I have supported Essendon for 37 years, and i'm not a robot

I didn't mean to impugn your loyalties, Merv, but a club is made up of individuals. I don't know what I'm supporting if not those individuals.

I certainly didn't vote these donkeys in, and you can bet I'll be voting them out.

Zark, take a deep breath mate.

They are not a bunch of nobodies, they are your clubs decision makers and YOU voted them in

If you actually believe what you wrote about the individual vs the club then you have no idea.

BTW, I have supported Essendon for 37 years, and i'm not a robot

This isnt correct. For him to have voted them in implies he chose to vote in the board elections AND voted for a winning candidate.

Not to mention, most rank and file EFC members, who pay their membership to watch the club play from the same seat next to the same people from year to year, could not name most members on the board nor have any clue what agendas they might have, even at election time.

To tell members to ignore the sacking "because they voted in the board" is rediculous. You can make an argument that we should all get behind the club and support it - I applaud the sentiment, even though I dont intend to follow it - but telling people they made this happen? What a crock of crap.

This isnt correct. For him to have voted them in implies he chose to vote in the board elections AND voted for a winning candidate.

Not to mention, most rank and file EFC members, who pay their membership to watch the club play from the same seat next to the same people from year to year, could not name most members on the board nor have any clue what agendas they might have, even at election time.

To tell members to ignore the sacking "because they voted in the board" is rediculous. You can make an argument that we should all get behind the club and support it - I applaud the sentiment, even though I dont intend to follow it - but telling people they made this happen? What a crock of crap.

I'm not telling members to ignore the sacking, as you would have seen if you read my post with an open mind and not eyes with blurred vision.

I am asking them to coninue to support the club in a time when we MAY lose a lot of supporters.

When i use the word YOU, it is intended as in the collective.

But you are correct he may not have voted for those members, that is true.

But it is still wrong to abandon your club because you don't agree with a decision they made.

What would happen if we won the flag next year? will you then return?

I'm not telling members to ignore the sacking, as you would have seen if you read my post with an open mind and not eyes with blurred vision.

I am asking them to coninue to support the club in a time when we MAY lose a lot of supporters.

When i use the word YOU, it is intended as in the collective.

But you are correct he may not have voted for those members, that is true.

But it is still wrong to abandon your club because you don't agree with a decision they made.

What would happen if we won the flag next year? will you then return?

You've got the right moves Swervyn- think I'll get out the 84 G/F and watch the last quarter again. It feels like an anchor has been lifted, and the Dons will sail again.

Well I haven't abandoned anyone or anything, except our hopes for this season, which I've done under instruction from the Essendon Directors.

But a lot of us are angry, and looking around for ways to voice that anger.

(I, for one, recommend ranting on BigFooty. But I would like to do something these egoistic morons on the Board will hear, too.)

You've got the right moves Swervyn- think I'll get out the 84 G/F and watch the last quarter again. It feels like an anchor has been lifted, and the Dons will sail again.

Well it took me a long time mate, but i finally "sailed" with you on this decision this year.

I still feel quite sad in some ways and glad in others.

I do agree the anchor is lifted and it's full steam ahead

Well I haven't abandoned anyone or anything, except our hopes for this season, which I've done under instruction from the Essendon Directors.

But a lot of us are angry, and looking around for ways to voice that anger.

(I, for one, recommend ranting on BigFooty. But I would like to do something these egoistic morons on the Board will hear, too.)

Better to rant on the net than follow a Tiger's example and spit on the coach, for example, IMO ;)

There would be a line up outside Windy Hill just waiting for the board otherwise :eek:

Start to "eat their own"

Agreed. Can't see why anyone would stop supporting the club because a coach who has been at the club for 27 years is finally told we might need some new blood. This day could have come any point in the last 5 years, and would definitely have come at some point in the next 5.

I support the EFC... its a Bombers membership, not a Kevin Sheedy membership. Top bloke, top promoter of the game, tragic he'll end up giving what he's got to offer to one of our opponents, and I'll love watching him weave his genius there...

But it had to happen eventually, so let's get behind him and the boys for the rest of the year, give him a ripper of a send off in Round 21 (or the finals... if we happen to get there), and get behind his replacement when he gets on board!!

I will support the Club until I die...

Actually, change that, I will support the Club until long after I die...

I'm sure a number of people agree.

I think the whole club needs a bit of a shakeup and if that means a change of coach then so be it, its not like Essendon hires and fires people all the time. Sure there is the initial shock but that will subside over time.

Now is when you are needed most