gocatsgo

Apr 30, 2000
Reading
What is this game coming to when an 80 year old is asked to lose the bell or get out of the MCG?

No wonder the characters are no longer in the game.

Only a Collingwood moron would have the nerve to complain about this long time Swans supporter being too loud, when they are the loudest and most foul mouthed supporters of everyone.

He was letting a young Collingwood supporter ring it everytime Collingwood scored a goal, so why can't he ring it when Sydney score? after all he's been doing it for 50 years, why suddenly complain?

Magpie supporters, you haven't got a bit of decency amongst any of you. You're all cold and heartless.

And to the 80 year old Swan supporter, Round 22, come down to the Cattery and ring it all day, we aren't the type to complain about noise. Any noise at Geelong is good.

Was it Collingwood people that complained to security ?

Or just another 'theatre goer' perhaps ?

I would have expected better from Collingwood fans thats for sure.

That 80 yr old Swans member has been ringing that bell for decades. it was the ships bell from the Royal Australian Navy vessel he used to serve on as a sailor. Apparently he has vowed never to go to another football game again.

Really, REALLY sad - football as a whole is diminished by this kind of 'incident'

BSA, talking about Sunday's game, I was suprised to see so many Swans supporters at the game. Obviously they must be misguided South Melbourne supporters who think their team really exists (dont take the bait, I am only having a bit of a joke!).

Seriously, I think it would have been heartening to South supporters to see so many fellow supporters there and I also think they matched Collingwood supporters for support or if less in number were only just so.
smile.gif

Yes Greg

It has been great to see all the old South Melbourne faithful turn out in droves for Swans Melbourne games. I heard somewhere that the Swans are actually the 'interstate' club with by far the most support in Victoria.

I try to make it down for at least one Swans Melbourne game every year and it is great fun to catch up with all the SthMelb people at the game and to share a drink at the Albert Park Hotel afterwards.

As this season is wearing on we have goy alot of reasons to be cheerful at the moment :

- We are playing OK now, we might even still sneak into 7th or 8th you never know. But more importantly we are playing out the season with committment and professionalism. I reckon we will finish the seasoon on 9 wins, down 2 on last year and hey, thats not bad for a so-called 'rebuilding season'

- Our crowds have stabilised. In Sydney our home games have 'bottomed out' at around 23,000 which is not too bad when you consider we have lost a few at home. I expected our crowds to go down the gurgler this season, but it hasn't happened which is cheering.

When you consider our crowds in Sydney are still pretty good, and our Melbourne fans are still showing up in impressive numbers (like you saw on Sunday) coupled with the fact that we are still the most watched team on TV., then you have to say that Sydney still commands a huge following - all over Australia.

Sydney has been described in the past as 'everyones second favourite team' I dunno about that but I do know we have a very large supporter base in all parts of Australia.

I agree BSA the clubs from the provinces like Collingwood are struggling to compete with the power clubs.

Collingwood could have been the same side from the past 5 years (or worse)

And to think that a former player of their's has helped make us the 4th ranked defence in the league despite losing Dunkley for long periods.

I hope all the old Sth Melbourne supporters
were cheering Sydney Sydney.
Lets face the fact swans supporters in Sydney
would`nt have a clue about the old south.
Lets see how long the sydney people keep going while the team is down,knowing people up there not long!

terahawk

If you go to a Swans game in Melbourne, the Swans fans will shout out "Carna Sydney" just as much as they shout "Carna Souths" so I guess at least some fans realise its Sydney and not South Melbourne anymore.

Like you, I expected crowds at the SCG to go down the gurgler once we started to lose a few, especially at home. But as I said to Magpie Greg, it hasn't really happened - which goes to show perhaps Sydney footy fans aren't so 'fickle' after all. Our crowds this season are down - no doubt about it - but they haven't plummeted to the levels of the early 90's when we could only manage around 11,500 to a game.

After 18,700 showed for Brisabne Lions in Round 11, our attendances have recovered somewhat to settle at around 23,000.

Which is great news, so terahawk don't accuse Sydney people of deserting the Swans, on the evidence we have its not really happening.

BSA, how many Victorian members of the Sydney Swans would there be at the moment and what would be the rough numbers of Swans supporters at Victorian games? Any idea?

Brisbane Lions Victorian membership is up 42% this year and topped the 3,000 mark about a month ago. We would get about 8,000-10,000 people supporting the Lions at each of their Victorian matches, so there obviously a lot of Fitzroy supporters out there who support the Brisbane Lions, but aren't members. I'm always interested in the Swans' figures and how they compare to Brisbane, because we are the only examples of a relocated/merged Victorian club and it's interesting to reflect on the amount of support they now have from the Fitzroy and South Melbourne faithful. I often wonder what the reasons are as to why they do or don't continue to support a club that has now relocated or merged interstate. The retention and recognition of a great deal of the Fitzroy identity and history in the Brisbane Lions was obviusly a big attraction for me.

BSA

I dont think any Melbourne based South supporter yelled out "Carna the Souths" unless they were supporting South Sydney. It would have been "Come on South". SOuths is a Sydney term. Perhaps you have lived there too long!
wink.gif

Over the past few seasons Sydney's Victorian membership has been about 6,000, it has dropped back principally because Swans are playing less games in Melb this year, to about 4,000 I think.

mike Sheahan has often said that at many Swans games in Melb he has been to the majority has been Swans supporters as distinct from the home team.

Even on the weekend people would say somewhere between a third and a half were Sydney supporters.

Magpie greg - yeah sorry about that mate, of course I'm talking Swans, not the South Sydney Rabbitohs who are, and always will be "Souths" (you're right maybe I have loved here too long ... )

Roylion - Dons figures are about right, give or take a few hundred. As Magpie Greg said above on Sunday he thought half the crowd were easily Swans fans. Out of a total attendance of 33,000 that makes about 16,000 there who were barracking for the Swans - impressive huh ?

I've been down to Swans Melbourne games where you would think you were back at the Lakeside Oval there is so much red and white about. I remember one game especially, Round 21, 1997 at Optus Oval where the Legends Stand was full to capacity and almost everyone there was a Swans fan. Shame we got absolutely towelled that day but the atomsphere at the ground was amazing, everwhere you looked it was a sea of red and white - even in the Heatley Stand !

If they throw out someone for ringing a bell,
does that mean that the Freo supporters who beat that bloody annoying drum will get thrown out from now on.

------------------
Mantis

Now it's the bell ringer!