Mod. Notice NRL Threads - Please Read

• Thread starter Thread starter grizzlym

:(:(

you mean no more trudging off to LU and seeing our posts pasted in their forum ?

damn - do enjoy that.

i still say we need one bigfooty account at LU where we can laugh at them en masse. :)

Lol, and automatic cards for LU trolls. :p But seriously, unlike them we're not so insecure as to need a board like that, we're better than that. ;)

:(:(

you mean no more trudging off to LU and seeing our posts pasted in their forum ?

damn - do enjoy that.

i still say we need one bigfooty account at LU where we can laugh at them en masse. :)

Sounds truly depressing. You know, many of you hated reading those threads, indeed their very presence on the AFL Board well, modding them was like being strapped in a chair while Roseanne Barr yelled at you through a megaphone. Not pleasant.

The world is now a better place. And we're all that little bit happier.

Good move, if you've read one NRL comparison thread, you've read them all (or even if you've read one page of one thread).

re: a new board for this sort of thing, I reckon it might be a good idea to merge some of the other boards, I mean why can't we have umpiring, rules, media and footy business all in the one forum? The main board can be (more or less) on-field business, the other can be off-field, and more threads will be read if they are not on ghost town boards but in any one-stop location, and less offending threads (probably) made here.

good call.

almost invariably shit threads.

is there any recourse for allowing a NRL thread to open if there was a legitimate reason other than just pointless comparisons....

As with anything, if you have a good reason, approach the mods and we'll certainly talk with you about it. Or, as Mel has posted: you can always go over on enemy territory.

was more talking if there was a legimate reason to talk about nrl on the afl board, such as an afl player converting, nrl declaring open slather on afl juniors, or something like that...

unlikely, but not completely out of the question possibilities.

was more talking if there was a legimate reason to talk about nrl on the afl board, such as an afl player converting, nrl declaring open slather on afl juniors, or something like that...

unlikely, but not completely out of the question possibilities.

Case by case basis. But, yes, can certainly see that happening. The edict is more about the never-ending feud threads that seemed to be on a rinse-repeat cycle.

This is stupid - ITT mods that cbf doing their jobs.

NRL/AFL is a legitimate and relevant discussion point for our generation, particularly with increased AFL expansion into traditionally NRL territory as well as the code jumping superstars of their crap sport into our brilliant one.
Of course this is something that will be discussed on a frequent basis.

Tv rights, sponsorship, player contracts, stadium deals all relevant topical discussion points that will only become more relevant as time progresses - and yet you dont create a designated area of discussion for such an important topic.
How very draconian of you all to supress discussion in a public forum where ideas and perspective is encouraged to be shared.

Watch me get carded for having a valid argument against their dogma and know what i say is the truth

:thumbsd:

On the contrary, this sort of thing is exactly what we pay our mods to do.

Looking forward to it.

I welcome it. Why? Because I want people to see your heavy handed tactics when you can’t justify your actions. What's next? no discussions about club scandals? Trade rumours?
Isn’t it your job to make this a better place to post for us all? Isn’t the idea of BigFooty a place where we can discuss all things AFL related and not just what you consider worthy of your time/effort? You might actually have a valid argument if this was a basketball forum and people were continuously posting about golf – however on planet earth, where we live (including you your holiness) NRL/AFL discussions are extremely relevant, especially with GWS in the picture now.
Like I said earlier, create a designated space where this discussion can continue and be moderated.
I find it amazing you think it worthy to have country football league forums that are lucky to get 3 posts a year and won’t allow for what would be a very active and interesting sub community of BF.

The NRL threads become a shitfight within three posts and are not worth saving. The same trolls come in and post inane shit which then gets posters who normally don't troll or engage with trolls todo so and destroy the thread.

There are many times when there was a vaild reason for mentioning another code. There were many times when there was a deliberate reason for posting a thread i.e. to show another code in another light. Nothing wrong with that as long as long as discussion is conducted along the lines of the forum rules.I would like to expand on that point but I'll keep mum.I find it very very strange that the same discussion is being allowed (encouraged ?) on another board. Isn't intercode talk always intercode code talk ? Anyway I thought the rules were simple and simple to administer - keep to the topic - pure and simple.

I'm really confused by continually changing boundaries of BF.
So the Brumbies are in trouble in the ACT.
So nobody can extend the discussion by saying for example "is this an openning for ACT AFL?" .
Would "Canberra can only support one national team" be acceptable.
Surely "Can Canberra only support one national team" would be legit.
Would "Brumbies sponsors move to GWS" be acceptable ?
Would "more and more rl players playing AR" be acceptable ?
Surely any change in ratings for AFL in Sydney or Brisbane would be topical.
Surely say the GC crowds are equivalent to Titan crowds is legimate.
What about when GWS plays officially ?

Watch me get carded for having a valid argument against their dogma and know what i say is the truth

:thumbsd:

lol the old reverse psychology trick.

fwiw I fully agree with you but earlier in the thread I refrained from being as animated as you, kudos mate.
Not sure about "its their job" bit though Im not sure they are on a huge salary but youre right, they signed up for it.
Most times its a more relevant and interesting topic than 3/4 of the shit on this site, especially when talking Swans/GWS.

Case by case basis. But, yes, can certainly see that happening. The edict is more about the never-ending feud threads that seemed to be on a rinse-repeat cycle.

sensible approach. I thought it was a total ban.

I thought the idea of having NRL threads was to educate people who prefer English codes of football (all three codes of them) to the great Australian pastime.

Que Sera Sera. Hopefully we can have clash guernsey threads on this page or will that be banned as well?

I dislike the cheesy, disrespectful, white clash guernseys they force teams to wear, but I guess my opinions are too strident....so I presume those threads will be closed down too. At least I got to mention how much i dislike seeing cartoon cut out animals on white guernseys one more time before that topic was closed down. I suggest we have a topic of the week = eg Jimmy Hird and how much of a role model he is for the kiddies. No one could possibly argue about how great our Jimmy Hird from Essendon is- could they? We need topics that people can't dispute. Makes everything more vanilla and user friendly.

We should also close down the Australian politics threads as well - as that could be interpreted as being a section where people have strident opinions. Close that down too.

There are many times when there was a vaild reason for mentioning another code. There were many times when there was a deliberate reason for posting a thread i.e. to show another code in another light. Nothing wrong with that as long as long as discussion is conducted along the lines of the forum rules.I would like to expand on that point but I'll keep mum.I find it very very strange that the same discussion is being allowed (encouraged ?) on another board. Isn't intercode talk always intercode code talk ? Anyway I thought the rules were simple and simple to administer - keep to the topic - pure and simple.

I'm really confused by continually changing boundaries of BF.
So the Brumbies are in trouble in the ACT.
So nobody can extend the discussion by saying for example "is this an openning for ACT AFL?" .
Would "Canberra can only support one national team" be acceptable.
Surely "Can Canberra only support one national team" would be legit.
Would "Brumbies sponsors move to GWS" be acceptable ?
Would "more and more rl players playing AR" be acceptable ?
Surely any change in ratings for AFL in Sydney or Brisbane would be topical.
Surely say the GC crowds are equivalent to Titan crowds is legimate.
What about when GWS plays officially ?

All fair points & in an ideal BF world posters would be able to discuss such topics in a mature way. Unfortunately just about every thread discussing NRL does end up in a shit fight.

At the end of the day, moderating is not just about deleting posts & handing out infractions etc. It is also about being proactive & using your experience to identify which subjects can be discussed in a rational fashion & which ones can't. Experience tells us that the majority of AFL/NRL threads turn into "pissing contests" (putting it bluntly).

You are right in saying there is a thread on another board along similar lines & although the discussion has remained relatively civil, there are already signs that there is the potential for it to go pear-shaped as well.

As grizzly pointed out, this can be assessed on a case-by-case basis, but at the end of the day, history tells us that these threads can turn ugly very quickly & no matter how much intervention is made by Mods, some posters continue to ignore the message. When that happens, threads about the NRL must be handled in much the same way that glass & cans have been handled by the authorities at sports stadiums. Banned because the ugly minority spoil it for the well-behaved majority.

Funny, I would have thought creating an "expansion and other codes" area would be less continuous work and effort than assessing on a case by case basis but hey I'm not a god-orator or anything. :rolleyes:

I miss the old 'expansion' board.

I welcome it. Why? Because I want people to see your heavy handed tactics when you can’t justify your actions. What's next? no discussions about club scandals? Trade rumours?
Isn’t it your job to make this a better place to post for us all? Isn’t the idea of BigFooty a place where we can discuss all things AFL related and not just what you consider worthy of your time/effort?

Yes, we'll be closing down all of the boards that deal with trade rumours, scandals and the like because we don't want to mod them. In amongst the shrill hysteria you have got one thing right: I am charged, along with my fellow mods, supers and admin, with running Big Footy and making it a better place to post. This is one such instance where we're quite prepared to upset the vocal minority for the better of the majority. Most who have had to wade through the regurgitated tedium of the generic NRL threads seem to agree with the decision.

sensible approach. I thought it was a total ban.

I qualified our stance on that. It's the troll fest type threads that we'll stamp on.

All fair points & in an ideal BF world posters would be able to discuss such topics in a mature way. Unfortunately just about every thread discussing NRL does end up in a shit fight.

At the end of the day, moderating is not just about deleting posts & handing out infractions etc. It is also about being proactive & using your experience to identify which subjects can be discussed in a rational fashion & which ones can't. Experience tells us that the majority of AFL/NRL threads turn into "pissing contests" (putting it bluntly).

You are right in saying there is a thread on another board along similar lines & although the discussion has remained relatively civil, there are already signs that there is the potential for it to go pear-shaped as well.

As grizzly pointed out, this can be assessed on a case-by-case basis, but at the end of the day, history tells us that these threads can turn ugly very quickly & no matter how much intervention is made by Mods, some posters continue to ignore the message. When that happens, threads about the NRL must be handled in much the same way that glass & cans have been handled by the authorities at sports stadiums. Banned because the ugly minority spoil it for the well-behaved majority.

Exactly right.

You know, if you're deliberately setting out to antagonise me you're going about it the right way.

And with that said, we're done. I believe the NRL edict is quite clear.