Expansion NT Thunder,Tassie Devils. 20 clubs,20 rounds...? AFL then truly the Australian Game

Whilst Tassie allows 2 clubs to blow in and milk them they are absolutely zero chance of getting their own team. As far as the AFL is concerned the area is very adequately 'covered' at the moment.

It's the way the AFL services markets that are too small to support their own team...Just like having teams play in Darwin and Cairns. (and NAB challenge games in 'regional centers').

1) All states represented.

Including the state of confusion.

2) Each club only plays each other once, except for designated rival.

* rivals, these games only matter when both teams matter, most of the time these are pretty dull encounters.

3) Final 9. 1st week Challenge Final...8 versus 9. Other finalists week off. Then continue as per current final 8.

Keep it at 8, the more teams that don't make it, the more prestigious it is to make the finals.

4) All non Victorian clubs play 5 matches a year in Melbourne.....All AFL players experience footy at the MCG. All Victorian clubs play 5 interstate matches per season. All AFL clubs promoted to have supporter bases in Melbourne.

* the interstate teams, we only play at the MCG once. It has grass and goal posts, what else do you need to figure out?

5) 10 matches per round..provision for Thurs/Fri/Sat/Sun/Mon games. With 20 rounds total Home and Away plus finals matches is 210, currently 207 matches per season. Players get more breaks, More flexibility for Broadcast rights.

All the s**t timeslots will be filled by all these games no broadcaster wants to play but has to because the AFL puts a gun to their head. We will still see the same boring teams played over and over on FTA.

6) AFL continues to Bank Roll all clubs, as they do now. ( Some clubs are not given direct financial assistance but they do depend on favourable fixturing and they also inevitably depend on other clubs remaining viable, otherwise there is no competition.

That isn't desirable, it is better to aim for every club being viable and not relying on the AFL, introducing more financially weak clubs which would require significant resources will lead to the AFL ignoring problems they should be addressing.

7) AFL has a key roll in promoting recognition of social issues throughout the country and could act in a practical way to support all people throughout Australia if it has an even higher national profile. AFL is more than a business. It's just a sport but it holds a unique position in Australian Society and it needs to support the people who support the game, wherever they live.... otherwise it becomes irrelevant and simply consigned to the history books as a cultural curiosity.

* big brother AFL, and * you Gilligan. You suck. Stick to footy, you annoying twat.

8) It can be more than a game.

No, it shouldn't. It should only be a game.

I know it's out of left field....but give it a chance. Thanks for your comments.
It's not that left field really, it's extremely likely that the AFL will expand to 20 teams in the future and use a lot of the ideas you mentioned. It probably wont be for a while though maybe 15-20 years away and the two clubs would most likely come from well populated areas with predicted further growth. There really is no wrong or right answer, all anyone can do is speculate for now :thumbsu:

These teams would struggle massively. No player wants to live in the NT or Tasmania.

Oh really? So on that analogy the Packers have problems getting players to relocate to frigid Green Bay? I don't think so.

Here's the thing - it's a relatively short-life as a sports jock. You follow the money. Then after your career you can live wherever you want.

Oh really? So on that analogy the Packers have problems getting players to relocate to frigid Green Bay? I don't think so.

Here's the thing - it's a relatively short-life as a sports jock. You follow the money. Then after your career you can live wherever you want.

When you're being offered millions every year, sure you put up with a bit, but the average AFL salary is only 300k, and most would be on a fair bit less.

It's a lot easier to cope with the cold of Green bay (for example) when you're in a luxury apartment, and your wife/girlfriend was willing to give up her career to be with you because you can cover her annual salary with your pocket change.

If you live in Adelaide that's a bit rich.
:(

Edit: nothing wrong with Adelaide. Great weather, great beaches, great people, relaxed lifestyle.

Usually people who say what you just said are flogs from Victoria who say s**t like that for a cheap like. But your from WA presumably sooooo..... Yeah.

Edit: nothing wrong with Adelaide. Great weather, great beaches, great people, relaxed lifestyle.

Usually people who say what you just said are flogs from Victoria who say s**t like that for a cheap like. But your from WA presumably sooooo..... Yeah.
I've found that most people (from Victoria anyway) that pay out on Adelaide have actually never been there. It's a trend that's changing though, most people you ask these days will tell you what a great little city it is.

Adelaide is alright, I'm just joking because you are giving it to another place.

I've found that most people (from Victoria anyway) that pay out on Adelaide have actually never been there. It's a trend that's changing though, most people you ask these days will tell you what a great little city it is.

I was at a national conference held in Adelaide recently where over a thousand successful business people attended. The conference is held annually in different places all over Australia and the world. Many of those from interstate said that because it was Adelaide, they had considered not attending, but after coming said they couldn't believe how good it was. Now I'm not here to spruik Adelaide as the centre of the universe or anything like that, but the negative press/perceptions Adelaide cops is massively disproportionate to what a city (of it's size) has to offer.

It's been a long time since I've been there, but I remember having a really good time and don't recall it lacking for anything significant.

Most of the comments you get (not just Adelaide here) are just inter city/state rivalry/banter, although there are some who seem to take it far too seriously.

The immediate reaction I used to get about Adelaide is that it's a bit backward in terms of infrastructure. So it looks like you've gone back in time a bit, because there was hardly any new buildings, the roads were s**t, the trains were diesel, etc. But that's changed in the last few years with new trams running through the city and (of course) Adelaide Oval, amongst a few new buildings popping up. Roads are still s**t though. :D

When you're being offered millions every year, sure you put up with a bit, but the average AFL salary is only 300k, and most would be on a fair bit less.

It's a lot easier to cope with the cold of Green bay (for example) when you're in a luxury apartment, and your wife/girlfriend was willing to give up her career to be with you because you can cover her annual salary with your pocket change.

As I said - you follow the money. We're not talking Iraq here.

These arguments go around in circles. It is proven that incumbency trumps almost everything, especially now that the league generates enormous revenue and the legacy clubs can be carried.

NT will not get a side unless they triple their population and build an indoor stadium and Tassie just will continue to be stuffed over by Victorian interests till JC decides it's time to make a comeback.

Fair enough point.....It's obvious what Tassie and NT have have done for individual clubs, but if you can see what these two states can do for the AFL as a whole then it would be in the game's interest to have clubs based there......

An AFL club in NT and Tassie would immediately raise the profile of the game to being culturally iconic. An elite competition supporting smaller populations, and particularly disadvantaged people in isolated locations. A boutique indoor stadium in Darwin and Alice Springs could have multi purpose functions. Admission to venues would be minimal cost and even free to disadvantaged groups....income generated from broadcasting rights.

These 2 clubs would have an immediate core group of passionate supporters.....The passion for these clubs would probably exceed most AFL clubs.....because they would be directly community based....unlike most clubs which have a heavy corporate persona.

The AFL becomes a key organisation in directly supporting community groups throughout the nation. The return on this would be enormous for the game.

Except for the rivalry matches all AFL matches for the home and away season would be "one off's" So all matches for the season would have a unique characteristic. If you want to see Geelong v Richmond you must attend on that day, unless they meet in the finals. Raises the urgency to be there.

An AFL club in NT and Tassie would immediately raise the profile of the game to being culturally iconic.

Deleted the rest, because it mostly just seems to be supporting this argument, the counter to which is simple....Most would consider that it already is culturally iconic.

Fair enough point.....It's obvious what Tassie and NT have have done for individual clubs, but if you can see what these two states can do for the AFL as a whole then it would be in the game's interest to have clubs based there......

An AFL club in NT and Tassie would immediately raise the profile of the game to being culturally iconic. An elite competition supporting smaller populations, and particularly disadvantaged people in isolated locations. A boutique indoor stadium in Darwin and Alice Springs could have multi purpose functions. Admission to venues would be minimal cost and even free to disadvantaged groups....income generated from broadcasting rights.

Dude, you're in danger of going off the rails here. You don't just want teams, you want hideously expensive stadiums built and the local population subsidised by the rest of the league? Get the * outta here. The AFL remains a professional sporting league.

Concessions for new teams.

Expanded playing list similar to current expansion sides

Expanded salary cap similar to current expansion sides

Draft concessions
3 year zone allowance for NT team with academy started in first year.

3 year zone allowance for tassie team with academy started in first year.

FA status given to all players currently on afl lists from Tasmania and NT and are free to join the new teams. Clubs will receive generous compensation in form of draft pick and 17 year old player from a pool of eligible players depending on birth date.

First 5 draft selections and 1st selection in each round for teams introductory year.

First 5 draft selections in PSD and first 8 draft selections in rookie draft.

Are these concessions too much or not enough?

Vandalism !! Gross mismanagement of our great game.
The Bombers have battled to find 10 players worth 12 months & you support 80 odd from the same player pool.
Hang on, lets use kids - damn fine idea if you came down in the last shower of rain.

Dude, you're in danger of going off the rails here. You don't just want teams, you want hideously expensive stadiums built and the local population subsidised by the rest of the league? Get the **** outta here. The AFL remains a professional sporting league.

Agree, the AFL is a highly professional sporting organisation. Since the inception of the Commission they have been a high profile community leader in developing all areas of their organisation. The AFL has been pro-active in player welfare, improving facilities for players and supporters, strongly promoting various community health issues, giving voice to critical community issues...combating racial vilification, promoting women's rights, challenging sexual discrimination and so on.

This doesn't make the AFL better than any other organisation it just emphasises their understanding of the importance of supporting the community in general if you want the community to support you. The AFL is incredibly successful in part because of these initiatives.

Engagement with the community is critical. Technological development in terms of communication and travel now opens the door for the AFL to do even more into the future....why not support communities who support AFL and do it in a tangible way. Of course there would be many issues to overcome to get an NT and a Tassie team off the ground but if successful the benefits to the game would be enormous.

Agree, the AFL is a highly professional sporting organisation. Since the inception of the Commission they have been a high profile community leader in developing all areas of their organisation. The AFL has been pro-active in player welfare, improving facilities for players and supporters, strongly promoting various community health issues, giving voice to critical community issues...combating racial vilification, promoting women's rights, challenging sexual discrimination and so on.

This doesn't make the AFL better than any other organisation it just emphasises their understanding of the importance of supporting the community in general if you want the community to support you. The AFL is incredibly successful in part because of these initiatives.

Engagement with the community is critical. Technological development in terms of communication and travel now opens the door for the AFL to do even more into the future....why not support communities who support AFL and do it in a tangible way. Of course there would be many issues to overcome to get an NT and a Tassie team off the ground but if successful the benefits to the game would be enormous.

Clubs still need fans though, and the AFL can't support too many clubs like yours, especially if it wants to throw money at 'community issues' and as GWS shows, just being a new club on TV doesn't automatically generate fans or a great deal of interest. The AFLs coffers are not a bottomless money pit.

Might also pay you to check out where the AFLs revenue comes from before you start pretending like the TV rights pay for everything...media might be the single largest component, but it's only about quarter of the total (once you include what the clubs make for themselves, like sponsorship, membership, gate takings, and merchandise).

You seem to have a great desire to spend money, but little thought looks to have gone into earning it in the first place. (are you from the government? :cool: ).

Clubs still need fans though, and the AFL can't support too many clubs like yours, especially if it wants to throw money at 'community issues' and as GWS shows, just being a new club on TV doesn't automatically generate fans or a great deal of interest. The AFLs coffers are not a bottomless money pit.

I dare say any new Tassie and NT team wouldn't cost the AFL anything like what GWS and the Suns have in set up and ongoing costs. At least when/if these teams happen they will both have an entire state/territory behind them. Furthermore they would add to the pie, an extra game is extra $$$.

Its on the AFLs radar but its a good 30yrs away for the NT. Think of the home ground advantage!

I dare say any new Tassie and NT team wouldn't cost the AFL anything like what GWS and the Suns have in set up and ongoing costs. At least when/if these teams happen they will both have an entire state/territory behind them. Furthermore they would add to the pie, an extra game is extra $$$.

Barely. The extra game would be broadcast by Fox, but how many extra subscribers would it get? Maybe a few in Darwin.

I'd be surprised if Fox would pay much more, if anything for it.

A Northern Territory team has about as much chance of happening as me becoming the CEO of the AFL. I dont think people realise that the NT only has about 250,000 people in it. That's across the whole thing.

Its on the AFLs radar but its a good 30yrs away for the NT. Think of the home ground advantage!

Tas would definitely cost less initially, bit that cost will only grow as time goes on (unlike what is hoped for GC/GWS).

NT....Initially it's be a massive loss maker (just not enough people up there, and those that are there already have a club), but at least in 50(?) years it'd have a good chance of standing on it's own (not sure Tas, GC or GWS could realistically claim that).

Tas would definitely cost less initially, bit that cost will only grow as time goes on (unlike what is hoped for GC/GWS).

NT....Initially it's be a massive loss maker (just not enough people up there, and those that are there already have a club), but at least in 50(?) years it'd have a good chance of standing on it's own (not sure Tas, GC or GWS could realistically claim that).

Another in depth assessment.