NTFL 2018/19

• Thread starter Thread starter Dav

going by the last couple of weeks the only close game this weekend will be saints v eagles although you never can tell especially when some teams load up on fly ins and some save their money

Did my NTFL tips this morning and it came up saying Palmy vs Buffs was cancelled haha all good now though!

Have a bad feeling Buffs are going to absolutely wreck us this weekend. Would be good if we can match them, but not holding out hope. Week 1 against the Tahs has probably given us false hope, we were fired up, they were cocky, and we won a home game under lights. Tigers exposed us last week, and i think Buffs might run rampant. No way Tiwi are coming close to within 10 goals of Crocs, Tahs will cop the same treatment we got against Tigers. You're right though IKE TURNER , Saints and Eagles will be only the close/decent match, and that's because they both seem pretty terrible

once again my football predictions were a bit off the mark but I'm glad as it means the league is a little unpredictable, tahs beating nightcliff was a real shot in the arm and crocs only just got over tiwi, I actually went to that game and Tiwi have got some serious talent on the books and when they are on the same page watch out

Was pretty funny seeing the NTFL facebook page after the Tigs/Tahs game and seeing all the "expect mid-week Nightcliff to announce 5 new player signings" haha but yeah great result for the competition. We were in it with Buffs until the last, and then got blown away. Progress at least :)

Nightcliff are trying to defend it by saying they're just signing players who are coming up here rather than actively poaching them from down south.

The desperation is just crazy. Having said that, if palmerston owned it’s ground and/or had a sports club with pokies, I’d be expecting that money to be put to good use too.

And to be completely fair they have had produced some amazing youngsters parallel with the recruiting over the last couple of seasons. Pretty easily the best junior club in the Territory for at least 4 or 5 seasons.

interesting districts have Thorne playing for them this year I think he might be close to be deregistered and after all the dramas they had last year watch this space especially as a lot of players think districts are the dirtiest team going round. watched the end of last weeks div 1 game and saw former league B and F Cannard running around on one leg and putting on cheap shots and I see Vallejo got rubbed out for three weeks for abusing an umpire and refusing to leave the ground in a Div two game I think its great that when your premier league days are over you play in the lower divisions especially if you are helping the young blokes but if you are dragging the game and yourself down its not a good look, what do others think?

anyone else frustrated about how long it takes a aflnt to put up results and details of div two div one and even premier league?

Too focused on social media which gets way more outreach.

nightcliff had a good win over the island kicking 22 goals and winning by 8,brodie filo went well and the fullforward who played one div 1 game last year (good thinking tiges) kicked 10, always a hard task over there its a break from usual routine, early start bit of travelling,lots of waiting around, always hot and the home crowd is slightly one eyed. tahs did enough to beat eagles with muk muks only having the one win so far this year. buffs easily beat saints, I think saints might start loading up soon. a lot of people forget how bad buffs were,they were a rabble until mark motlop come along and with some good recruiting and young blokes coming good they are right up there,matty cambell seems like a good coaching fit there. no joy for palmy with a 15 goal pumping from districts, crocs have got ex-nightcliff and current SAFL ruckman seb guilhaus playing and if he pairs up with last years ex-Melbourne ruckman-watch out.

no joy for palmy with a 15 goal pumping from districts,

It's going to be a looooong season with a lot of the same old same old from Palmy. We can just never seem to lift

yes it can be a downward spiral when you are copping floggings: training drops off, blokes go missing not worth flying blokes up and the support disappears, in saying that there are some good young blokes perry/frank and that ralph dhamarrandji is an excitement machine I still think palmy might get a couple more wins but basically will be trying not to get the wooden spoon

Problem for those young fellas is that the other clubs will come sniffing. The old "come play for a traditional/older club", "come play to win" or money if Nightcliff is involved. Would be too hard to knock back when you're copping a 10 goal loss every week at a club that looks a decade away from even playing finals

Seeing Palmerston in 6th spot is odd! Won't last long haha but so happy with the win. We have Wanderers this weekend too, which could be an interesting fixture for us. Kyle Emery with 7 goals on Saturday, hope he kicks a few more

I think already it looks like a 3.horse race for the flag (SD, Night and Buffs)

Wanderers blooding another youngster this week which pretty much days they ain't interested in competing for the Flag.

Big rumors that Cyril Rioli will be in the Green and Gold soon, been training at the Club. Looks very skinny also which is concerning since he only walked away from the AFL 6 months ago.

I think already it looks like a 3.horse race for the flag (SD, Night and Buffs)

Wanderers blooding another youngster this week which pretty much days they ain't interested in competing for the Flag.

Big rumors that Cyril Rioli will be in the Green and Gold soon, been training at the Club. Looks very skinny also which is concerning since he only walked away from the AFL 6 months ago.

Cyril at 50% AFL conditioning will still be in the top 10% of NTFL players.

yes the palmerston juggernaut just keeps rolling on as does the districts one, tiwi clicked and buffs did enough to earn a win. ive always been a big umpires fan I believe umps love the game more than a lot of loudmouths in the crowd and to have a top class footy comp you need top class umpires but with all the extra womens/girls/juniors games there is not enough umpires to go around,apparently in div two clubs have to supply central umpires which is a recipe for disaster-AFLNT must do more (or something) to fix this problem up

Everyone's thoughts on Jason Roe becoming the NT Thunder Academy coach? NT News decided to come straight out and run with the news that he is a convicted drug dealer and to be honest that should instantly disqualify him from getting an ochre card let alone coaching a group of impressionable kids. You can say it was a mistake but its not like not getting this job ruins his life or anything.

yes the palmerston juggernaut just keeps rolling on as does the districts one, tiwi clicked and buffs did enough to earn a win.

So happy we managed to pull that off. Will be interesting to see how we go against Saints this week. Hopefully we get Stokes in and go all out. Can't remember the last time we won 3 straight, so would be nice!
Pretty crazy isn't it! Played a few social games of SAAFL lower div's here in Adelaide, and they made the clubs provide umps, and it was just shocking. So many dodgy calls. But here we have a population, and a lot of support. NTFL can't expect already stretched volunteers to field umpire, or even worse, players to umpire.

Everyone's thoughts on Jason Roe becoming the NT Thunder Academy coach? NT News decided to come straight out and run with the news that he is a convicted drug dealer and to be honest that should instantly disqualify him from getting an ochre card let alone coaching a group of impressionable kids. You can say it was a mistake but its not like not getting this job ruins his life or anything.

Ahh was that what the post on the Jackson Clark page was about? That's pretty brutal. He's doing pretty well for Nightcliff isn't he?

I think he's an assistant but yeah.

Will be interesting to see how he goes. NT news loves to cause a bit of drama, so no surprises they run the headline as "former Brisbane lions player and convicted drug dealer Jason Roe...". Honestly, they should be happy that there is someone with good AFL experience, and a local, getting the job.

Besides, yes drugs are drugs and I'm not challenging the legalities of his action, but didn't he just buy a bag of weed and sell a bit to a mate? Seems a bit harsh they are dragging him through the mud for what was probably just a lapsed judgement after losing his AFL career . Correct me if im wrong though!