NTFL/NTFA Thread 2008/2009

Lindsay Lawler (Southern Districts), Luke Stapleton (St Marys) and Edward Darcy (Tiwi Bombers) were the latest inclusions to the side.

Hi all up north,

Can you please clafiry a debate we are having on AFL Canberra link regarding Ryan Lewis

Can you confirm whether he is currently running around for St Mary's in 08/09 season or at training at Ainslie training his heart out??

cheers:thumbsu:

Hi all up north,

Can you please clafiry a debate we are having on AFL Canberra link regarding Ryan Lewis

Can you confirm whether he is currently running around for St Mary's in 08/09 season or at training at Ainslie training his heart out??

cheers:thumbsu:

He could probably be doing both if he's flying up but I can tell you for a fact that he has been playing for St Marys.

If any Key fowards are looking to move down south to Mildura, Victoria during the off season send me a private message,Great packages available:thumbsu:

What are peoples thoughts for the finals?

Will Tiwi get to the GF? Wanderers are looking pretty good to push hard into the series.

Saints obviously favourites, who will they meet in the GF and will that team be able to beat them?

Palmo to drop out this weekend and if so will tahs' push without fifo's playing?

Is this the place to discuss the TEAFA or just the NTFL?

There has been TEAFA discussions in this thread. In fact Nathalia champion Ash Gemmill played in the TEAFA for Banks in 2000/2001 won the B&F and a flag. Missed the assoc medal by 1 vote which was a disgrace.

Ash is my big cousin. I was thinking of coming up there next summer for a season of footy.

Send me PM and I'll forward you the club details. Coach etc they would love another Nathalia lad up there, especially a Gemmill.

Ash, Smiley and Nath all played at one stage.

Can't see anyone challenging St Marys to be honest. Perhaps Waratah because they are the in-form team but they will have to win four games in a row.

Very good match at Gardens Oval today between Wanderers and Waratah. Tahs started well and got out to a six or seven goal lead during the second quarter before Wanderers kicked a few late goals before half time. Half time score: Waratah 12.8 (80) - Wanderers 8.8 (56). Wanderers controlled the third quarter and at three quarter time they led the match 15.14 (104) to 12.8 (81). By three quarter time Eagles full-forward and former Sydney rookie Adam Prior had 10 goals; he is one of three players to have kicked 10 goals this week along with Ewing (Palmerston) and Kantilla (Tiwi Bombers). Prior went out of the game after three quarter time as Tahs and Wanderers traded goals. The Warriors managed to take the lead about 20 minutes into the last quarter thanks to the efforts of forward Darren Turner, who kicked a couple of good goals. Wanderers kicked a couple of late goals to win the match by 18 points, 20.17 (137) to 18.11 (119). Scott Beattie was best for Tahs and Adam Prior was best for the Eagles.

Is DT the one from down here (around Shepparton), if so does anyone know his plans for the '09 footy season?

bit quite on here. How are the finals shaping up for both league's? Tiwi's to beat southern's? Will anyone beat pint's?
districts beat tiwi wanderers beat tahs so next week saint marys v districts, tiwi v wanderers-no one will get close to saints. Pints went straight into granny banks play tracey village next sunday.

The premiers in both leagues are obvious in my opinion: St Marys and PINT.

Can't see anyone coming close to Saints - they are a far better team than Southern Districts. I don't think Wanderers will beat Tiwi Bombers next week and for Tiwi to win the premiership they will have to win three games in a row and I can't see them defeating a fresh St Marys side.

PINT will be far too good for anyone else in the TEAFA competition. They flogged a depleated Banks side today by over ten goals. Perhaps Tracy could be the wildcard as they beat PINT not too long ago. However the Greenants have a much improved side since that game and will be hungry for their first premiership in 18 years.

G'day...coupla questions:

A mate told me that the NTLF Grand Final in '09 will be played at night? Is that right?

Also, is it difficult to get to the Tiwi Islands Grand Final? I have looked up a few sites, and it seems that plane might be the way to go? I imagine they would have quite a number of flights for the granny.

Cheers for your help!

G'day...coupla questions:

A mate told me that the NTLF Grand Final in '09 will be played at night? Is that right?

Yes. The grand final will start at 6PM, I think.

Also, is it difficult to get to the Tiwi Islands Grand Final? I have looked up a few sites, and it seems that plane might be the way to go? I imagine they would have quite a number of flights for the granny.

Cheers for your help!

I've never been to a Tiwi Islands grand final but they're supposed to be great. I would presume plane is your best bet.

Anyone suggest where to stay in Darwin...coming up for the Southport Sharks ...NT game.

Have the missus in tow so cant be a dive...is the casino ok ??

thanx

Yes. The grand final will start at 6PM, I think.

I've never been to a Tiwi Islands grand final but they're supposed to be great. I would presume plane is your best bet.

Cheers mate. Appreciate the comment.

If plane were to be the best bet, would many flights be flying in and out for the granny?

Cheers,
Mick

Anyone suggest where to stay in Darwin...coming up for the Southport Sharks ...NT game.

Have the missus in tow so cant be a dive...is the casino ok ??

thanx

Casino is great and top of the range for Darwin. Anywhere in the city is pretty much ok. Saville is my personal favourite. Stick around for a few days if you can and soak up the greatest capital city living Australia has to offer.

Cheers mate. Appreciate the comment.

If plane were to be the best bet, would many flights be flying in and out for the granny?

Cheers,
Mick

Not many mate, I'd be looking now. Air North do flights still I think. Lots of smaller airlines do charters over there for the day but it can be expensive unless you have a crew in tow.

Great day, great place and great people. Go Tiwi.

Anyone see Saturday's Tiwi Wanderers 1st Semi Final?
Very fast and high-scoring game played in low humidity.

Anyone see Saturday's Tiwi Wanderers 1st Semi Final?
Very fast and high-scoring game played in low humidity.

Yep I was there. It was an exciting game that could have gone either way but Wanderers ran over the top of them. Adam Cook was brilliant for Wanderers.

TEAFA Grand Final Results......

A Grade - Pints over Banks by about 8 goals

B Grade - Jabiru over Pints (not sure of margin).

Congratulations to the Greenants and the Bombers.