Sausage roll

Suspended
Not Fremantle
Firstly, I think in the overall scheme of things, losing tonight is not such a bad thing. It will just hose things down a little

1 The so called inside players, thompson and hislop are both far too sloooooooow. Having seen them live for the first time, they were just way off the pace. No for mine

2 Rance has a long way to go. Decisions too slow and got beaten far too easliy. Looks bigger than he plays

3. Cousins did really well and johnston was playing well till injured

4. King still no good

5 nahas needs to be elevated to the main list...who else is our electric forward? We would be the only club without one

6 outcoached as we simply couldn't work our way around they defensive zone

7 Forward line is he problem line

where you on something snag...barely agree with any of that

Rance looked promising, not afraid to run with the pill, used it ok...needs to work on physical side

Vickers...see him again in 12 months, a bloody mile off at this stage, would have liked to see him wrap his mits around it and take a grab, never looked likely...Post must be given his spot for some senior experience

Thomo..some promising touches in close...persevere

Nahas..spends too much time chasing tail, dropped an absolute sitter early..will need to improve fivefold to warrant a call up and for mine is a mile off the best side

Gus..should be given more of a go...got a few touches late...need to see more

the wheels are spinning, but they dont move forward. the foot and hand skills are aweful, and the coach is to blame. they arent 1st year players but play like they never it. tigers wont go nowhere until they can rectify this, and certainly wont make the finals.

no key forwards so so they were rolled like a wooden spoon candidate.

the wheels are spinning, but they dont move forward. the foot and hand skills are aweful, and the coach is to blame. they arent 1st year players but play like they never it. tigers wont go nowhere until they can rectify this, and certainly wont make the finals.

no key forwards so so they were rolled like a wooden spoon candidate.

that was the concern I took out of it, we were presenting enough opportunities yet no-one up forward could take command..JR had his chances ..Brown and Morton were bathed...still a vacancy for grabs at FF....Cleve Hughes could be nicknamed steve bradbury if he snags a spot for R1:rolleyes:

Collingwood played a zone for the first 1/2, mainly Cloke up forward. They zoned back and then ran into space. Had Richmond kicked accurately then the ball would not have been back in their possession. We were our own worst enemy. Overall our disposal and decision making into the forward line was woeful, but its only early stages and a practice game

Disposal will definitely improve, no doubt

Overall we were in front 9 minues to go in the 3rd quarter...could have been more in front as we had 6 more scoring shots 'til then. Not much in it a couple of easy misses at front by Reiwoldt and Richo and then Collingwood slammed 7 goals for the rest of the game. Didnt think they played any better just had more space up forward to deliver the ball

Glad all the hype is now over

Focus has always been and will always be Rnd 1 ;)

PS
Another good game by Polo and also a good game by Raines, just needs to spear the kicks rather than kicking them so high

i know its still pre season, but da 2 games we've played we have been terrible
da gameplan isnt working, seem 2 have no options going forward on the rebound nd once again we always seem to be making the wrong hanballing options nd getting ourselves into trouble.

nd Hislop is no good

ok.
Thomson - i thought he did alright. for his first richmond game he coped well. has good second efforts but needs to find it a little more i think.

Cuz - well, firstly, the ******* media dont leave him alone! just let him be! he played average however better than half our team i must say. did show some good signs and will deffinetly help our team along the year.

Rance - looks promising however very inexperienced. good for him to be playing on someone bigger than him (Cloke)

Vickery - im sorry but Vicks cant be judged, hes only 18 and obviously he needs to bulk up. however, he looks like he will become very skillful and will just be a natural clever footballer. that kick on his left into the centre is a terrific sign.

Nahas - the only thing letting him down is his size.

Moore - despite his miskick kick-in, played great all night and has been a massive improver along with Jackson

McMahon - Get the hell out of Richmond! enough said.

Overall, there were some good signs however our poor kicking let us down along with very ordinary defensive pressure. We tried playing too cute and over possesed the footy. i hope we dont see much of this during the year and just get the footy up forward as quick as possible. It's only the NAB so dont get to worked up. hope Johnson is alright, he seemed to be jogging on the boundary.

i know its still pre season, but da 2 games we've played we have been terrible
da gameplan isnt working, seem 2 have no options going forward on the rebound nd once again we always seem to be making the wrong hanballing options nd getting ourselves into trouble.

nd Hislop is no good

"da"? "nd"? "2" What, are you getting charged for each letter you type on BigFooty?

Ob: early days, not such a bad thing to be able to tinker out of the limelight with zero riding on the next 2 games.

where you on something snag...barely agree with any of that

Same, find myself agreeing with you B17.

Rance looked promising, not afraid to run with the pill, used it ok...needs to work on physical side
Yep did some nice things and if you're at the start of your second year and supporters expect you to give Travis Cloke a bath then they're so far out of touch it's embarrassing.

Good experience for the kid. :thumbsu:

Vickers...see him again in 12 months, a bloody mile off at this stage, would have liked to see him wrap his mits around it and take a grab, never looked likely...Post must be given his spot for some senior experience

Yup, destined for the year at Coburg learning the trade and we should be ecstatic if he earns 2-3 games. Has the tools, just can't use them yet.

Thomo..some promising touches in close...persevere
Has a footy brain for sure and made some nice plays in close but his disposal is still not up to the mark. Definitely something there.

Nahas..spends too much time chasing tail, dropped an absolute sitter early..will need to improve fivefold to warrant a call up and for mine is a mile off the best side
No need to worry about who goes down for him to be promoted to be in the round 1 side. Runs around like the unders 11s in the school yard, round and round in circles chasing the pill but never gets it. Can definitely be a goal sneak but must play smarter.

Gus..should be given more of a go...got a few touches late...need to see more
Still happy to let him gain experience in the pre-season. Still a long way to go but he's got more than people give him credit for.

ok. Vickery - im sorry but Vicks cant be judged, hes only 18 and obviously he needs to bulk up. however, he looks like he will become very skillful and will just be a natural clever footballer. that kick on his left into the centre is a terrific sign..

Hey why does he get time whilst Tambling got none from some knuckleheads?

Firstly, I think in the overall scheme of things, losing tonight is not such a bad thing. It will just hose things down a little

1 The so called inside players, thompson and hislop are both far too sloooooooow. Having seen them live for the first time, they were just way off the pace. No for mine

2 Rance has a long way to go. Decisions too slow and got beaten far too easliy. Looks bigger than he plays

3. Cousins did really well and johnston was playing well till injured

4. King still no good

5 nahas needs to be elevated to the main list...who else is our electric forward? We would be the only club without one

6 outcoached as we simply couldn't work our way around they defensive zone

7 Forward line is he problem line
1. Agree on Hislop, not on Thomson though. Numbers don't lie, 15 possessions 7 contested 80% efficiency limited gametime. Not bad for a first hitout.
2. 50-50 on Rance. Agree he has a bit of learning to do, think he will be a very good 3rd tall. 16 possies 81% effeciency would hardly suggest he is too slow in decision making. Instead it suggests he makes the right ones.
3. Agree.
4. Agree
5. Agree
6. Disagree, thought we were getting through it ok, just couldn't convert when we did.
7. 50-50 again. As mentioned we had the chances just couldn't convert. Riewoldt 0.3 Richo 1.2 Simmonds 0.2, thats 1.7 from 3 tall forwards.

scrappy close game till 1 side worked out what it was doing wrong then kicked 7 goals and won the game freo repeat in reverse but enough signs to say we should have a good season as i said elsewhere no recovery full day goal kicking practice

How long will it take before we settle the team down from now?

Send the rookies away. Let them do the hard yards outside the Senior team.

Get some structure.

Organize the forward line now.

Every player can't be a damn midfielder. Enough of this crap. (The Lids situation is a farce)

Stop BSing around and pick and settle the Backline.

Stop the short-shite passing and farting around.

Kick the damn ball towards the goal!

Move the ball towards the goal...ALWAYS.

Everyone own the goal. Have a ping. Stop shitting yourself when 40m out!

Run hard to space you lazy buggers. Switch hard.

And let's try and get as close to the side to take on Carlton within the next couple of weeks.

I don't rate the game. But I rate the problems.

My observations:

- Thompson is DEFINATELY one to persevere with.... top draw selection

- Raines couldnt hit the side of a barn

- Cousins, although can find the pill, is still WAY OFF

- Tambling is struggling, struggling to be a footballer

- Our backline was superb tonight

- Foley is ever the reliable

- We miss SHANE TUCK

- Ty Vickery will be an exciting young talent

- Wallace will be sleeping with one eye open for the rest of the season. Battling

Hey guy. Reguarding Vickery. It seems you guys intend to play him as a key forward as opposed to in the ruck. Am i right in assuming this? I would have been happy for the blues to draft him because i thought he offers a lot and could be a quality full-forward. I wouldn't worry too much about tonight, it's only nab cup. I'm sure you'll improve with a few more practice games under your belt and be ready for a mssive rd 1.

Just got back from the game

Positives:
- Defensive structure was excellent in the first half. Need to keep it up for the whole game though.
- Contested possession was solid.
- Midfield were very good with their clearance work.

Negatives:
- Over possession which led to players being sold into trouble numerous times. Turn it over against a decent zone and you pay dearly.
- Decisions from 80m out were ****ing deplorable. So many solid leads were ignored, so many predictable kicks went sideways for a turnover.
- Forward line structure was woeful. Numerous times we had a loose player clogging up areas, mainly 30m out in front (Hislop the main offender) when they could have run to space and commanded the ball or opened up the area for the keys to run into.
- Kicking for goal was terrible.

Not too worried but once again this season our forward line will be our achilles heel. It's very frustrating to know that we will have to rely on the midfield to kick the brunt of our score.

Hey guy. Reguarding Vickery. It seems you guys intend to play him as a key forward as opposed to in the ruck. Am i right in assuming this? I would have been happy for the blues to draft him because i thought he offers a lot and could be a quality full-forward.

Mate, l've had 10 pints of draught... l'm not answering your bullshit fantasy football questions tonight.

Rack off.

Still pissed my mates didnt want to go to the Spearmint after the game.

:rolleyes:

Mate, l've had 10 pints of draught... l'm not answering your bullshit fantasy football questions tonight.

Rack off.

Still pissed my mates didnt want to go to the Spearmint after the game.

:rolleyes:

Not fantasy footy question at all. Just generally interested because i think the kid is great and is gonna be a gun. I always liked him as a forward and think he could be a 10 year Full Forward.

Thoughts:

- Actually thought we moved it off half back pretty well at times tonight.
- Some of the kids looked good (Rance and Vickery showed signs).
- Cuz will be great this year. Just has to settle in
- Jack will be a star
- Pity we didn't kick straight - had them on toast until Tambling cr*pped himself backing back and we never regained the momentum
- We're missing Cotchin, Tuck, McGuane, Bowden (not that I rate him)

But most importantly....

WHEN THE F*** ARE WE GOING TO GET A COACH WHO MAKES HIS TEAM TACKLE!?

The Good:
- Foley does not turn over the ball. He doesn't make mistakes. He is composed and he is probably only second to Bowden in "level-headedness". He is electric, he has good skills and he can find the ball.
- Deledio has freak skills
- Adam Thomson showed enough to preserve with. His double run down was fantastic
- N Brown, Richo, Cousins and the other old blokes had good hitouts
- Jackson, Edwards and Polo keep improving. I think all three are best 22 players at this stage.
- Angus Graham seems to have had a good pre-season. Found some footy tonight in the 1 quater he player
- Raines. He takes people on - some may hate it - but he is a line breaker and players like him will be important to break zones. He is a decent defender aswell. Well ahead of McMohan and King who were both dissapointing tonight (king was okay)
- Jack Riewoldt. Probably the biggest highlight of all. He kicked 3 behinds and no goals but damn he looked impressive. Is the kind of player that doesn't need to kick goals to have an impact. Light years ahead of Hughes

The Bad:
- Our goal kicking tonight
- Kane Johnson. Seriously, if this guy gets anymore then 5 games this year they will be charity matches. Couldn't be slower
- Matty White. I have been a big fan but for a guy that has meant to have had a "monster" pre-season his first two games have been poor. He tries to use his pace too much and his kicking becomes worse because of it
- Robin Nahas. I liked him last week however this week after the first quater he did shit all. Was always chasing but was never at the feet of contests. When he is that small he is never going to be a target, needs to work on crumbing positioning more.

The Ugly:
- The scoreline. When it comes down to it we were absolutly thrashed tonight. Take a way the 9 pointers and we only kicked 5 or 6 goals in 70 minutes of footy.