Observations on internal issues?

FWIW I tend to hold the board accountable for our off field and the Coaches for on field. Our off field performances I am comfortable with considering our circumstances only a few years ago. Im not sure we need an Eddie type or high profile ex player to raise our off field profile. If you asked me to name the boards of any of the successful teams I would struggle because they are behind the scenes...and thats how I think it should be.

If the coach is not performing then the board intervenes as part of its due process. Assuming Brad has KPIs we should also assume that if he is not hitting them that he is held accountable like most employees. If the board is not capable of holding him accountable then it is failing in its role....and that would be my greatest concern as I doubt Scotts would fall on his own sword.

FWIW I tend to hold the board accountable for our off field and the Coaches for on field. Our off field performances I am comfortable with considering our circumstances only a few years ago. Im not sure we need an Eddie type or high profile ex player to raise our off field profile. If you asked me to name the boards of any of the successful teams I would struggle because they are behind the scenes...and thats how I think it should be.

If the coach is not performing then the board intervenes as part of its due process. Assuming Brad has KPIs we should also assume that if he is not hitting them that he is held accountable like most employees. If the board is not capable of holding him accountable then it is failing in its role....and that would be my greatest concern as I doubt Scotts would fall on his own sword.

The board is responsible for both. On and Off field. You can't say that the off field os OK, so they are doing a good job, they need to be doing a good job at both, and at the moment, and for some time, the on field has had a stink about it, and they have been unwilling to change.

As for seen and not heard....we need to opposite. No one stands up for our club, we get continuously put down...look at BT saying we don't deserve to be paying on Good Friday....where is the response from the CLUB. Who is standing up for us? No one. The only time Brad gets mad nowdays is when a Journo asks a question he doesn't like.

I would love to see that happen.

Would Arocca come back though?

and would King/Ponting be on the board with their media commitments?

I don't know mate.

All I know is that there's 5 current directors who have the power to appoint another 7 directors, but don't have the inclination to go beyond the 5 of them at the moment.

Click on "constitution", and bring yourself up to speed with the true power mechanisms of the club: https://www.nmfc.com.au/club/club-information

In regards to list management, recruitment & trading:

One thing I do know is that on a number of occasions during drafts and list management decisions over the last 2 years Brad Scott and Cam Joyce have gone against the recommendations of Mark Finnigan (recruitment manager) & Michael McMahon (List manager).

The trading Pruess decision was one particular example. McMahon wanted him on the list and wanted to hold him to his contract unless we got a pick inside the top 30 for him. Joyce signed off on the Pruess/Tyson swap despite McMahon not wanting it at all. We subsequently signed Tyson to a 3 year deal which (McMahon) was left fuming about.

The 2016 draft was a complete schmozzle. That was during the transition period where Joyce was moving into the GM of football role, but still wanted control over recruitment decisions. We picked Simpkin, Watson & Williams with our first 3 picks. All the recruiters wanted Sam Powell Pepper at our first but Joyce wanted Simpkin. Guess what happened?

The next two picks are even funnier. At pick 34 we identified Tom Stewart & Luke Ryan as priorities, because we needed better kicking out of the back half. At 36 we identified the need for a small forward I’m lead to believe that we were really keen on one of Willie Rioli/Kayle Kirby/Tingpunwuti.

We then ended up with Dec Watson And Josh Williams instead. Is it a coincidence that our part time QLD recruiter was tight with Joyce? I think not.

There are various other examples of these sorts of things happening too.
Cam Joyce has Scotts ‘lap dog’ written all over him.

He has that cocky demeanour of someone who has slept their way to the top so none of this intel suprises me one bit..

If he wasn’t such a highly sought after coach and had time, a group led by Ricky Ponting and perhaps Mckernan would be a dangerous prospect. We are completely and utterly faceless right now and there is no more revered figure in Australian sport than punter.

We need high profile names to garner traction and you look no further than your number one ticket holder and a former champion of the club.

Yeah, when being anti gambling is our key, and successful, USP, having the face of Crown literally called Punter isn't going to happen.

LOL, the anti-gambling bullshit can simply be removed with the stroke of the (new) boards pen. GONE.

We're a football club, not the Salvation ****ing Army.

Not fluffy enough?

No mate, it was under him and his cohorts the club was run into the ground and almost died.

Is absolute boys club mentality but of a different sort.

I think if there are changes at board level, IF, you can't replace them with all of the same type.

Sure, put one 90s hard arse on there, but you still need forward thinking types.

I don't want to see the half forward line from the 96 grand final, I want to see a balanced group of people.

Let's not retreat into the myth of the old.

I’m amused by the suggestions that we should break up this terrible boys club by getting Mckernan/Carey/name old player we loved back to Arden St. Sure, let’s be old Carlton, running the ultimate boys club and putting faith in guys with no discernible coaching or management capability because they played great footy for us back when we were good.

Brad was a good get from a successful background on and off field. Turns out he has Malthouse’s autocratic, inflexible approach in a more publicly palatable package, and the network and appointments in the club to not be challenged as he should be, given the performance of the team and list.

Time for change, yes, but not by looking backwards.

Well said. Corey can be hugely valuable as a change agent here, to use the wanky term, and I really hope he gets involved to bring about change.

But we are getting dangerously close to Essendon messiah culture now, one man who magically brings back the old days.

Sam Mitchell as coach. That's as far into the Great Man of History line as I'll go.

We also need to seperate the onfield from the off field. We don't have any other choices when it comes to making money.

The old days of hitting up Peter Dr Rauch to pay the bills in February and aiming to win the Ansett Cup for the cash injection are gone, thankfully.

We can be ruthless onfield while being "soft and fluffy" off it.

As rudderless as football dept looks, and there is some discontent amongst members, this club has a stable future now. Which we didn't have in 2007. Something has gone right, and the last 12 years are not due entirely to WANM.

Get a coach and a football dept (obviously, far from easy), get some excitement back in the ****ing joint and amongst members, and all this goes away.

Time for change, yes, but not by looking backwards.
I agree to a degree.

Think we definitely need more through and through North footy people.

We're likely only going to get that looking backwards.

I'm not by any means saying take a bunch of people who were good a couple of decades ago and plonk them back in and see if they do any better.

I'd be interested in seeing what McKernan's stance in just by virtue of him being one of the most passionate and vocal dessenting voices.

What was the thing you were talking about prior to the Adelaide game?

Is there something that we can actually mobilise behind.

Words on the net are great but ultimately nothing.

If we hadn't won against Adelaide, would have done it.

Now need to wait until Easter break over. Clear air

LOL, the anti-gambling bullshit can simply be removed with the stroke of the (new) boards pen. GONE.

We're a football club, not the Salvation ****ing Army.

Righto mate, where we going to get the millions of dollars from with that stroke of the pen?

I think if there are changes at board level, IF, you can't replace them with all of the same type.

Sure, put one 90s hard arse on there, but you still need forward thinking types.

I don't want to see the half forward line from the 96 grand final, I want to see a balanced group of people.

Let's not retreat into the myth of the old.

Let's get Duck as coach and get a headstart on the rebuild with a cutting edge black ops sport science program!

As rudderless as football dept looks, and there is some discontent amongst members, this club has a stable future now. Which we didn't have in 2007. Something has gone right, and the last 12 years are not due entirely to WANM.

Get a coach and a football dept (obviously, far from easy), get some excitement back in the ******* joint and amongst members, and all this goes away.

Yep, this. The coach and his decisions have led us here into our onfield malaise.

The policy and people that have brought us debt free and stable off field, no, they aren't the issue.

And there is no causal link between renouncing pokies and Brad having a shit game plan where his favourites are accountability free.

People need to give some credit where it's due for Cam Joyce.

His background was as an opposition analysis and his ability to bring in Higgins, Waite, Dal Santo, Anderson, Jacobs, Marley Williams and Paul Ahern for a collective stuff all has been great.

The club took too long to get rid of the Lewis/Joyce combination at the draft, but his role is now solely recruitment and retention where he has so far been above average if not great.

While Walsh and McDonald were our GM, we were too nice with players. For example how ****ing long was Max Warren and Gavin Urquhart on our list for? Joyce is actually prepared to make the tough calls on players such as Clarke, Hartung, Morgan, Mullett, Mountford, Hibberd, Gibson and Wagner and as a result we're finally not tolerating the handy c-grader type. The obvious exception is with Brad's favorites, but it's beyond obvious that Brad has a ton of influence over Joyce.

While an emotional response would be to clean out the entire football department, I have a feeling that with a different coach we'd be seeing an even more ruthless Cam Joyce.

Observations on internal issues?