Off Season Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter daics_35

Totally agree with this. Going backwards for the sake of making a coaching change when you are at your peak borders on utter stupidity by our administration.

HOWEVER whats done is done and Buckley should be given 1 more year to show we are heading in the right direction. If we dont improve next year then his contract should be terminated. Bucks himself admitted in the post game interview that we have fallen this year which I can admire him for as he sees what has taken place unlike a few here who refuse to even contemplate the obvious.

All the excuses in the world have been made during the year about our shortcomings, some legitimate but most just made up rubbish. A team with such talent should not play so poorly and the Buckley is the man in charge.
Talk about taking his comments out of context.

He said the dip is obvious because we only got to the prelim this year compared grand finals the 2 years previous. He did mention the difference in circumstances with injuries and other things, and he is spot on.

Let's not forget we finished in the bottom 4 three times under Mick, including a 13th place finish a year after playing against Brisbane in the GF. Our 2011 H&A was one of our best in history, and we managed to choke. Buckley, as quoted by the man himself "was pushing shit uphill" all season, yet still almost took us further. Not saying he's a better coach, but MICK IS NO MAGICIAN.

He said the dip is obvious because we only got to the prelim this year compared grand finals the 2 years previous. He did mention the difference in circumstances with injuries and other things, and he is spot on.

Let's not forget we finished in the bottom 4 three times under Mick, including a 13th place finish a year after playing against Brisbane in the GF.

He also said you cannot just flick a switch at the end of the year come finlas time and that it is necessary to build throughout the year which we didnt do. Bucks, Pendlebury and others have said we havnt played well throughout the year. Elements of our game have been downright terrible .i.e. kick ins, forward entries, skills etc.

I have been a harsh critic of the change but am prepared to give it a little more time. Our win loss ratio was good and the envy of many but we had little of no chance of going all the way this year playing the way we were.

Let's not forget we finished in the bottom 4 three times under Mick, including a 13th place finish a year after playing against Brisbane in the GF. Our 2011 H&A was one of our best in history, and we managed to choke. Buckley, as quoted by the man himself "was pushing shit uphill" all season, yet still almost took us further. Not saying he's a better coach, but MICK IS NO MAGICIAN.

I agree with the general consensus about our assistants. We need to address this and get in some experience - maybe a Dean Laidley (supposed to be a master tactician), Ratten, Burns, or someone of that ilk.

delistings should include - Rounds, Ugle, Wood, Yagmor, Buckley. i think Dids/Johnno to play 1 more season.
We should try and trade for Caddy and Toy as well as a backup For/Ruck for mine Pederson could be the go (just reminds me of Leigh Brown). If that means we need to use a Wellingham as trade bait to get in Caddy/Toy then so be it.

Trade/Delist

C. Wood
S. Buckley
L. Rounds
K. Ugle
T. Young
S. Wellingham

Sack

A. Rocca
R. Harvey
M. Lappin
B. Hart

In

B. Goddard
J. Caddy
J. Giles
S. Martin
Q. Lynch

C. Ling
B. Ratten
(????)

Leigh puts shit on Collingwood in the media at every opportunity. Roos would be a great get - the club will probably look at Ratten too.
Rodney Eade was worse than Leigh, when he was the Dogs coach.

Bingo!
I'm sick of being known as the breeder club for turning assistants into senior coaches, I want to be known as the club coaches want to be at like Hawthorn seem to be.

We need take advantage of the lack of restrictions around footy department expenses while its available and start poaching the best coaches from other clubs as opposed to losing them to everyone else. How hard would it be to attract coaches to our club. Who the hell wouldnt want to coach in the best facilities in the comp?? Says to me we're obviously not offering enough which i find amazing given we will send a player to Arazona mid season at the drop of a hat. we're not exactly short of cash.

We've gone from having the best group to literally the worst crop, lets look at them:

Robert Harvey - makes people cringe whenever he opens his mouth he is so simple.
Ben Hart - must be responsible for the worst kick in strategy in the AFL, in fact the worst i have witnessed in my football watching life. Yeah lets kick short to the pocket EVERY single time, hold it up and let the opposition set up by flooding that sode of the ground.
Matthew Lappin - responsible for taking us from having the best forward defensive pressure in the AFL to the worst in the space of 12 months. If it wasnt for Goldsack we wouldnt lay a tackle.
A.Rocca - say no more

I cant believe Bucks settled for his current crop of misfits even though he had 2 years to plan for it.

As for Bucks, I'm prepared to give him the beneift of the doubt for another year given the events he's had to deal with this year but he would want to start implimenting a new game plan other than the 1960's style we used last night.
I would argue man for man we have the best list in the comp but unless we are smarter with our tactics we wont get to the next level where we should be.

3 areas Bucks needs to improve on tactically:

1. Need a defensive zone/press/box whatever you want to call it. we cannot rely on an infrequent man on man manic pressure game plan all season its too taxing, even then we only rolled it out about 4 times. The rest of the time we just relied on pure talent to get us through which isnt sustainable.
2. Improved kick-in strategy. the current one is so predictable its embarressing
3. A genuine tagger - for godsake Bucks they have been used by every club over the last 100 years so they must have merit.
To be fair though Sanderson and Watters would be at the club if they didn't land head jobs , erm head coaching jobs!

Luke Beverage was a great assistant coach for us, I think he was a development coach or fitness coach and now he is at Hawthorn and they are doing very well. Hopefully he is interested to come back, would be great.

I'd like to see bucks moved on, i know he was a great player-great media person and very well spoken, but that doesn't mean he's a great coach, we've slipped so far since he took over during a period where we should be getting better, i have no idea what the game plan is, i don't think the players do either, everything is rushed and has been all season, our 2011 worst was better than our 2012 best (round 22 the exception), as i've said before, 2012 was not a year to change coaches, ******* ridiculous, thanks Edd.
Oh ffs.... :mad:

We need a flexible back-up ruck and a running back (Leon Davis position) who can also take kick outs...

"Let's not eat our own guys" - The Distributer (yesterday).

Flog.
Mate, he is entitled to his opinion just as you are, and if there is a time to be critical of coaches and players it is now. I'd have to say that I was not that impressed with Buckley's coaching in the 2nd half of the year, though do not agree that he should be sacked. His refusal to make any changes last night, particularly in the forward line, reminded me of MM. Hopefully,next year Buckley will initiate a game plan that we are able to see and understand. Some hard decisions need to be made with a few players.

Trade/Delist
C. Wood (been here 5 years and no real improvement)- replacement Witts/Ceglar/Giles
S. Buckley (reached his potential) - replacement Hartley/Young/Williams/?
S. Wellingham - only if it is a win win trade

Terminate contract
Lappin - def - replacement LLoyd
Harvey - (may not be possible as usually on two year contracts) replacement Burns
Both replacements wishful thinking

Re-sign for more than one year
The Caff
Krak
O'Brien
Toovey

Re Johnson, Didak, still need some seasoned players around the club would give them a one year contract if they accept.

Yeah, so just bag the coaches and president instead, who bleed for the club more than ANY of those players. Makes sense...

Well lets just pretend we haven't gone backwards at a rate of knots and stick our ****ing heads in the sand.

Totally agree with this. Going backwards for the sake of making a coaching change when you are at your peak borders on utter stupidity by our administration.

HOWEVER whats done is done and Buckley should be given 1 more year to show we are heading in the right direction. If we dont improve next year then his contract should be terminated. Bucks himself admitted in the post game interview that we have fallen this year which I can admire him for as he sees what has taken place unlike a few here who refuse to even contemplate the obvious.

All the excuses in the world have been made during the year about our shortcomings, some legitimate but most just made up rubbish. A team with such talent should not play so poorly and the Buckley is the man in charge.

If a few players had a below par season you could blame those players, but pretty much everyone has had a below par season, that comes down to the coach not being able to get the best out of his players, it is as simple as theat.

Some people in this thread are blaming our 2IC coaches etc etc, but remember, Bucks hand picked those guys, and to those who think a ruckman and a HB will make the difference next year lol, just lol.

Serious question, if we have a decent run with injurys next season and we don't improve like we all hope, will you start to doubt the great man then? he has at his disposal the best list in the AFL bar none, and if we don't improve, there's 2 years wasted whilst we were in the middle of a window, more than 1 head will have to roll then IMO.

People saying that Buckley should be axed need to get off the grog and sober up before posting comments. In all honesty I was only expecting us to finish between 4-6 at the start of the year. We lost our best small forward, best small defender, best 2nd ruck/third forward and two very important coaches before the season started and then our best inside mid in round 3. We then had a number of important players miss many games through the year. Top it off with what was widely recognized as the toughest draw in the season.

We have not gone backwards. We will finish in the top 4 next year and give it another shake. Two grand finals and a prelim is good going. Had we made the granny this year and got flogged, it would have been damaging for us next year.

Buckley will deliver. If we give him as many years as we did mick, he will be much more successful

absolutely floored by the suggestion we should get rid of bucks right now. think about it.

Trade/Delist

C. Wood
S. Buckley
L. Rounds
K. Ugle
T. Young
S. Wellingham

In

B. Goddard
J. Caddy
J. Giles
S. Martin
Q. Lynch

If you're going to have those ins you'll have include Cloke and someone else good in the outs. Plus we'll have to pull a Visy. :(

game plan needs to change. That doesn't mean throw the whole thing out, but significant changes need to be made to be able to beat the likes of Hawthorn.

Please for the love of god get rid of matty Lappin. For gods sake, i could just say kick it to Cloke, which is all he does.

Didak when fit is top 5 in the team, no way would we kick him out. Next season will be make our break for him.

The team lacks quality. Sinclair, Elliott and even Fasolo were not up to the finals standard required.

Wellingham has become complacent and needs a genuine kick up the back side.

Our backline lacks foot skill. Look at the two teams that will play in the grand final, Hawthorn and Sydney. Both have elite users coming off half back. Still cannot believe we let leon go.

Finally, the two areas for concern are of course the second ruck; Dawes' season was hindered through the burden of having to play ruck. He is not the worst ruckman, but for his own benefit and the teams benefit he needs games up forward for 100% of the match, if he fails then we drop him. The fact that at the moment he is essential to our structure proves how far this list has fallen.

If luke Ball cannot get back to his 2010, 2011 form next season, we will struggle. Thats how important he is. He is the only mid on our list that will be at the bottom of the pack, winning that 50/50 ball. I doubt we will get caddy, but he would be a handy addition, an alternative to Ball moving forward.

Lets throw wellingham around as trade bait, if we get a good offer accept it, if we dont it will hopefully give him a kick up the arse like in 2010.

This list is still strong, hopefully our assistant coaches learn from the experience.

absolutely floored by the suggestion we should get rid of bucks right now. think about it.

If you're going to have those ins you'll have include Cloke and someone else good in the outs. Plus we'll have to pull a Visy. :(

Yeah it was in the heat of moment i said that, but i want results next year if we have a fair injury run, GF birth minimum.