Offical Euro 2008 Thread.

yeah from eastern GER. was 1 y old when the wall fell down, so nothing with DDR for me mate ;) and nothing with cottbus, i'm from dresden.
but that's not the reason why i wanted czech to win. i simply dont like how the turks play.
i didnt like how croatia was playing too. but now i really wanna see them to kiss turkey gbye.

So you don't like direct, fluent football that Turkey displayed in second half? So much for your taste in football. As for DDR, it is alive and well, just ask any West Berliner.

so much for your 'only explanation' :rolleyes:
hey am i saying 'you're from melbourne so this explains why you obviously dislike the greeks' or 'you're from adelaide, no wonder you dislike the italians' or 'you're from queensland that's why you don't like germany'?? c'mon mate dont be childish :cool:

and as we're already at this topic - hell yeah i love their doener (not that kebab rubbish from oZ :p) but i dont like people who kill their wives, sisters and cousins coz of some stupid bloody family honor. tsssssss

Using Australia as an example is a poor choice since there's larger percentage of migrants here compared to Germany. I lived in Berlin for few years so I know exactly what I'm talking about.
Your second paragraph about "family honour" is ridiculous. I don't like paedophiles either but because there are lot of them in Germany I'm not going to dislike whole german nation. Not to mention if we all still held grudges about Nazis and disliked Germans for what happened in WWII....how would you like that.[/quote]

it's not about who deserves to win or for whom it would be injustice to lose. the refs make decisions that can turn a game in a sec.
all i want is to see good football. and i hope everyone on this board does too.
btw jan koller didnt deserve a red card, he's just as much a player as anyone else and if you dont know yet - football is more about theatric acting than you might think :rolleyes:

So you're happy that Turkish goalie got sent off but Schweinsteiger was stiff to get a red card??? It was similar offence. Koller should be spared but Jerko Leko is a cheating bastard, isn't he?
The bold sentence sums up what you know about football.
but those 3 last minutes and that red card for schweinsteiger were bloody senseless !!!!
what a ____in stupid umpire :mad: red card for that ump

Childish? Petulant? Biased? :rolleyes:

you_got_owned_yel.gif

Wow, what an amazing second half in the Turkey-Czech game.

My headline: Cech leads Czech choke :p

But seriously, what an absolute howler that was. I thought he was at fault for Arda's goal as well; shouldn't really be beaten at his near post from there, even on a slippery pitch.

Arda and Sabri both had an immense second half. I think the big Euro clubs will come calling for Arda before too long. But really, the Czechs have themselves to blame. Baros should have been brought on at 2-1 (hell, he probably should have even started given his national team form), and they gave the ball away far too easily and just invited trouble for much of the second half.

I watched the other game in full (not realising that the Turkey game was on SBS :eek:), and I have to say that the Portuguese were disappointing.

Sure, they dominated for probably the first hour and could've scored a couple, but their second-string midfield isn't anything special. Ricardo Quaresma is probably the most frustrating footballer in the world, and I hope Nani doesn't turn out like him. Nice to see Yakin get a double though, and nice to see the Swiss chalk up a win in Kobi Kuhn's last game in charge. It has been an extremely difficult tournament for him with his wife in hospital and all.

My match report from that game (and other Euro 2008 observations) can be found here: http://dascman.blogspot.com.

What are our thoughts on tonight lads? Surely Germany will shut the gate on Poland by beating Austria. That said, I reckon the Poles might win anyway just to make things a bit interesting, given that Croatia are resting players.

'ere we go

todays games:

16th july 08

group B

germany - austria
8.45 pm (CET)
vienna, ernst-happel stadion

poland - croatia
8.45 pm (CET)
klagenfurt, woerthersee-stadion

my tip: 1st germany (if not I’ll bloody die), 2nd croatia (for sure as I’m from eastern GER so why should I be for Poland right madmac :rolleyes:?!)

Keep the discussion about football please. I've already had to remove one post that crossed the line and there are a number of posts on the previous page which are not only in poor taste but just not relevant to football.

I've got to say I'm really looking forward to Austria vs Germany game this morning.

Austria are ranked 93rd in the world and some of their own supporters didn't even want them to compete because they were worried at what they thought would happen.

Well, courtesy of a somewhat fortuitous penalty decision they are still alive going into the last game and play their local rivals for a spot in the quarter finals (unless Poland beat Croatia by one more goal than Austria win by).

You'd think Germany would be too good but with their questionable defence and against a team with nothing to lose who knows?

sorry sainter but i have to get rid of this...i promise after this i'll write nothing else but football.

So you don't like direct, fluent football that Turkey displayed in second half? So much for your taste in football. As for DDR, it is alive and well, just ask any West Berliner.

I didn’t deny that the turks did an awesome thing yesterday in their last minutes but it was the Czechs themselves too who made themselves losing that game coz they thought 2-0 would make it. That last goal was awesome. Plus chech was surprisingly bad.
For ____s sake yeah maybe turkey deserved to get into the quarterfinal. That’s not a reason for me being against them. without getting marked as a rassist :rolleyes:

As for DDR… no doubt it still exists, just ask my parents who still don’t get the same wages as the west-krauts and who have to work longer than them until they can go into retirement and lots of other differences as well. you cant change things easily as our pollies often try to pretend. even after 17 years we’re still not one country.
And guess what, if you as the new generation try to do everything to make this reunion happen, you just get bothered by people like you…
And sometimes I got the feeling most people really think eastern GER is still at the same point where it was before the wall felt down. So much for preoccupation.

Using Australia as an example is a poor choice since there's larger percentage of migrants here compared to Germany.

maybe it’s a bad comparison but in the end it’s an example. Sure oZ is not Europe and believe me that’s what I love about oZ! coz I’m sick & tired of such discussions like this! Born as a kraut you’re always the bad guy…may it be coz of your history, may it be coz people outside of germany just know about lederhosen & oktoberfest and you’re sick of that, may it be coz in the other people’s eyes ya’re always an uber correct and whinging kraut…bla bla all those preoccupations.
I found that sentence of yours (‘there’s no other explication why you dislike the turks than coz you’re from eastern germany’) very insulting and stupid. I mean hello ? I’m the last person who’s preoccupied when meeting other people and looking at their skin and …this is so medieval. I love travelling, I’m educated & cultured but when I read things like your comment I’m really thinking ‘o yeah that’s a preoccupied guy’. See, I’m not trying to say ‘preoccupied aussie’ coz that ‘d mean in your eyes I think all aussies are preouccupied and I wouldn’t like them. But I love them and I wanna be one of them some day :cool:

I lived in Berlin for few years so I know exactly what I'm talking about.

Oh so you’ve lived in germany…good onya mate. But i’ll tell ya a little secret – berlin is a tiny world of itself. It’s not part of the east, it’s very different. Just in case you might haven’t been outside of town. Btw I got Berliner relatives, so I think I know what I’m talking bout too (apart from the fact that I’ve been living 18 of my 19 years in GER ;)).

Your second paragraph about "family honour" is ridiculous. I don't like paedophiles either but because there are lot of them in Germany I'm not going to dislike whole german nation. Not to mention if we all still held grudges about Nazis and disliked Germans for what happened in WWII....how would you like that.

As I’ve said I’m the last one with stereotyped thinking.
And hey c’mon that paedophiles / turks comparison isn’t a good one either..
As for your IIWW stuff…don’t worry there are enough people who still hold grudges about this and I’m asking myself when will they get over that stuff? Prolly when my oldies’ generation will be dead. So if you don’t hold grudges good onya but believe me there are enough people who still do,. Cheers for reminding me mate :eek:

So you're happy that Turkish goalie got sent off but Schweinsteiger was stiff to get a red card??? It was similar offence. Koller should be spared but Jerko Leko is a cheating bastard, isn't he?
The bold sentence sums up what you know about football.

I didn’t say anything about Lerko. As far as I know that red card for schweinsteiger was right.
I’m just saying koller did a good job with that theatrical fall but honestly sometimes football is just a little farce isnt it :D

Your last sentence sums up what you think about girls chatting bout football. So much about preoccupation (prolly used that word 40 times now :p)....

Childish? Petulant? Biased?

I admit everything your justice – yes i am! Satisfied ?
and guess what - that's what football is made of...emotions. so why leave them out? that's what we love about sport:)

Now please let’s get back to sport as I love that more than topics like this (even I could talk hours and hours about it)…and as it’s not really fair coz I can’t express myself good by english writing as in german.

antje

You'd think Germany would be too good but with their questionable defence and against a team with nothing to lose who knows?

you dont know how excited people are in here :eek: everyone knows it should be pretty easy for us but in the end...after the last game...:(

and i'm saying it again and again...our defense is the biggest problem, you could see that from the beginning of the cup :thumbsdown:

if gomez is going to play i want him to shoot some bloody goals !
it cant be just poldi...

we should show that we're a secure and good team, and that we're able to get into the final (i'm nooooot thinking of the possible quarter final ves. portugal yet, noooooo..)

so c'mon GO THE KRAUTS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ps. austria's media is hoping for a wonder, so let's hope it won't happen.

OK, that was the last post on the topic angie.

If you want to continue the discussion via PM or even in the society and culture board go ahead but only football will be discussed in here from now on.

Good luck tonight. I was in Munich during the World Cup and the scenes when you progressed through the tournament were amazing.

Should be a good game anyway. I like the comments from Austrian manager Josef Hickersberger,

'It is the biggest game of my life and it will be the biggest game forever if we win.

'We are not wetting our pants because we are playing Germany, we know they have problems and we know some are injured and they are not playing that well.

'They are not as good as they were in 2006 and we have home advantage, we think we have a good chance.'

Because they aren't wetting their pants, they have my support.

this is crap, this is ____in shit !!!!!

what are we doing ? still sleeping ??

what are we waiting for ?? that the ball is jumping into the goal by itself ??

:mad::mad::mad:

gomez missed his 100th chance :thumbsdown:

yah i think that last sentence is becoming obvious...we're not as good as 2006...not at the moment !!

1st half
germany - austria
0-0

@sainter: okay chief :thumbsu: we'll see if we're lucky tday, i reckon thats the only thing we still got...luck

2nd half

ger - aus

1-0

ballack. we had some chances in the end...could have been better though.
some players improved.
lahm & lehmann top.

now against portugal next ..

croatia - poland
1-0

2nd half

ger - aus

1-0

ballack. we had some chances in the end...could have been better though.
some players improved.
lahm & lehmann top.

now against portugal next ..

I hope you guys were just going through the motions. The Germans looked pretty ordinary against a very ordinary team.

One thing about the Germans is that they generally know how to perform in the big events, however in saying that I can't see them beating Portugal. The German defence is not strong - the Portugese will really test them.

I hope you guys were just going through the motions. The Germans looked pretty ordinary against a very ordinary team.

One thing about the Germans is that they generally know how to perform in the big events, however in saying that I can't see them beating Portugal. The German defence is not strong - the Portugese will really test them.
haha, Germany will beat Portugal.

against good teams - Portugal don't score goals.

Am I in SR&P or Association Football?

Germany are not doing too well at the moment, but the Quarter Final promises to be a beauty. First time Germany have made it to the KO rounds since they lifted the trophy in 96 and only their 3rd win since then also in this comp I believe?

I'm sure Lowie is glad that the Ballack bet didn't include the Euros ;)

hmm, interesting 1/4 final, i'd expect Portugal to choke and an average looking Germany to get over them thanks to a one man show from Ballack.

Holland paying $3 for the win tonight on Sportsbet.

Haven't checked Betfair yet.

I know they'll rest everybody and try to lose but I and a group of friends did the same against Romania (infact we played blindfolded) and still couldn't not get the job done.

Not sure I'll take it as Holland might actually join Romania in attacking the same goal but they are interesting odds.

and now for stupidity....

so they have those odds but have van Nistelrooy at $7 to be first goalscorer.

Huntelaar at $8 is probably the best bet if you think he'll forget which end his team wants him to attack.

Holland paying $3 for the win tonight on Sportsbet.

Haven't checked Betfair yet.

I know they'll rest everybody and try to lose but I and a group of friends did the same against Romania (infact we played blindfolded) and still couldn't not get the job done.

Not sure I'll take it as Holland might actually join Romania in attacking the same goal but they are interesting odds.

and now for stupidity....

so they have those odds but have van Nistelrooy at $7 to be first goalscorer.

Huntelaar at $8 is probably the best bet if you think he'll forget which end his team wants him to attack.

Romania arnt that bad. They should of beat Italy. If Netherlands rest 3 qtrs of there team they will probably win

they can rest their team but even then their side is no worse than Romania's.

it's a pretty even game really.

alot of it will come down to van basten's tactics and what he actually pushes for.

the best result for his team is a loss.
Netherlands/Netherlands - HT/FT paying 5.50.

Netherlands 4-0 - paying 101.

I'll probably take a piece of those two as well. :thumbsu:

Wouldn't surprise me if Romania won, like Switzerland over a 2nd string Portugal team. However those odds are very tempting...

I'll stay away from Ruud being first scorer though, doubt he will even feature. Put it on van Persie/Mutu I reckon.