Offical Euro 2008 Thread.

Portugal 0 - 2 Germany (Ronaldo to disappear)
well it is a big game, so u may be right

If it wasn't for ****ing work I'd be there :mad:
0400 - wake up
0401 - have a toss
0402 - clean up
0430 - arrive at pugg mahones
0431 - first beer
0432 - second beer
0445 - kickoff
0630 - wonder how portugal ____ed it up
0645 - brekky near vic market or in errol st, nth melb
0730 - arrive at work
1630 - arrive at casino
1631 - wipe "hair gel" from ear

portugal - germany (very optimistic i know ;) but hey it's us !!)
croatia - turkey (on pens)
netherlands - russia (gonna give them a good match)
spain - italy (on pens)

so tonight is the night for our krauts !!!
GO THE KRAUTS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
get them boys !!!!!!

very curious bout deco / lahm duel :thumbsu:
frings is out with fractured rib :(
podolski playing but little injured :(

just in case worst things happen tnight dont count on me for the next days...:eek:

ps. ronaldo ? who the ____ is ronaldo ?!!? :cool::D

I wouldn't expect Boulahrouz to play.

Daughter died after she was born premature yesterday I think.

:thumbsdown:

I'm officially a football tragic now. I'd sworn myself to get Setanta only after I get back from Europe but now I subscribed tonight and end up paying 2 months' fees to watch the 4 QF's only :eek:

I did struggle to sell that one to the mrs though :D

1st half
germany - portugal
2-1

boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom!

schweini & klose :thumbsu:

gomes for port

the secret: our formation

BUT we're not through yet !!

cmon boys get them!!!
GO THE KRAUTS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been up for about 5 minutes, saw 3 minutes of that half and am already enjoying it a great deal. Looks a high quality game.

Low looks like a tango teacher.

Ballack header

1-3

I love that music after the goals. What is it.

oleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

deutschlaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand !!!!!!!!!!!!

we got it !!! bye bye portugal bye bye

oleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

what a game - thos 90 minutes...endless !!!!

party PARTY PARTY PARTY party

oleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

we dream on :D

ps. 2nd half
GER -POR
3-2

Outstanding. I can see now why the Germans were the pre-tournament favourites. They will be hard to beat.

Not only are they clinical but they have combined this with some flair.

Already at work. Got to Pugg Mahone's at 4:30, by 5:00 it was fairly packed. Almost everyone was going for Germany, mainly backpackers. Heaps of chicks. Great game. Fantastic first goal. Portugal needed to equalise early in the 2nd half when they had the majority of possession. Third goal should have been disallowed, but it was still poor defence. Germany deserved to win and I hope that Croatia can challenge them in the semi final.

I'll be there again for Holland v Russia.

Throw form out the window at this stage of a tournament, it's all about temperament and big-match ability. There's simply no better in Europe for both attributes than Germany. Listening to bits and pieces of the game this morning, it sounded like Ronaldo was at his typical selfish worst. So a good morning all around then. :D

This is turning out to be a really good tournament :thumbsu:

Apart from the clueless defending at both free kicks (and the obvious foul by Ballack), Portugal was just unlucky that Moutinho and Pepe missed their chances, although they can't be blamed - was a matter of the ball being centimeters away from where it should've been.

The Germans definitely better than I was expecting but I still don't believe they're more favourites than any of Italy (my pick), Holland, Croatia, Spain and even Croatia.

This is turning out to be a really good tournament :thumbsu:

Apart from the clueless defending at both free kicks (and the obvious foul by Ballack), Portugal was just unlucky that Moutinho and Pepe missed their chances, although they can't be blamed - was a matter of the ball being centimeters away from where it should've been.

The Germans definitely better than I was expecting but I still don't believe they're more favourites than any of Italy (my pick), Holland, Croatia, Spain and even Croatia.
3-0....?

You're demoted down the Big Footy analyst ladder.

How close was Podolski's shot late in the game?

Portugal kept taking long range shots that missed by miles, Podolski takes one and almost catches the top corner.

Well, I'm lucky I woke up at all considering my alarm clock didn't go off for some strange reason :rolleyes:

Woke up at half time, so stil got to see a very entertaining second half :thumbsu:

Throw form out the window at this stage of a tournament, it's all about temperament and big-match ability. There's simply no better in Europe for both attributes than Germany. Listening to bits and pieces of the game this morning, it sounded like Ronaldo was at his typical selfish worst. So a good morning all around then. :D

Ronaldo was decent enough. It's a bit hard when you've got no-one to cross/pass to in the box. Portugal lack a quality striker.

He wouldn't be the only one from Portugal to take ridiculous shots from outside the box either.

(and the obvious foul by Ballack),

Ahh, but it wasn't that obvious.

All well and good saying 'obvious foul' with the aid of television replays, but you'd have to have extremely good eyesight to pick that up full speed with no replay.

Also, with where the referee was positioned (the correct place), he had no chance at all of seeing that. The only chance was the assistant, who has plenty of other things to be concentrating on.

Clever foul by Ballack.

Well, I'm lucky I woke up at all considering my alarm clock didn't go off for some strange reason :rolleyes:

Woke up at half time, so stil got to see a very entertaining second half :thumbsu:

Ronaldo was decent enough. It's a bit hard when you've got no-one to cross/pass to in the box. Portugal lack a quality striker.

He wouldn't be the only one from Portugal to take ridiculous shots from outside the box either.

Ahh, but it wasn't that obvious.

All well and good saying 'obvious foul' with the aid of television replays, but you'd have to have extremely good eyesight to pick that up full speed with no replay.

Also, with where the referee was positioned (the correct place), he had no chance at all of seeing that. The only chance was the assistant, who has plenty of other things to be concentrating on.

Clever foul by Ballack.
Ronaldo fails again on the big stage it seems.

I've just sent him a pair of Leo Messi's boots to shine.

He can show himself to be ridiculously inferior to Messi head to head twice again next season.

Ronaldo wasn't bad at all, just didn't dominate as he often does. Germany played a great game and Ballack showed he is a big game performer. Portugal had their chances, but the better team on the night won. Turkey Germany semi by the looks :)

Just skipped through the goals on the DVR. Looks like a good game. Schweinsteiger made a great run for the first goal. The two set peices looked ridiculously easy. Man marking looked shot on Portugal's behalf. Well done Germany. Good to see Klose get one in for the tourney.

BTW, I love the coverage on Sentata both at half time and the close of the game. Is it the same year round? I signed on for 12 months, hoping to see more French league this year...would be good to see an Andy Townsend type analysis each game. Much better that Fox with Robbie Slater.