Mega Thread Official 2012 Draft discussion thread: All drafts complete.

He's improved to the point where I wouldn't mind using pick 4 on him.

I'm totally with you here.

It may sound weird but I know he'll be able to improve his inside game, I was good mates with his brother and these two used to have very fierce brawls at the age of 10 - he's a tough kid with a bit of aggro.

Thanks for the info mate, can you give us a bit of detail about Carter?

Carter is 180cm, 80kg and very much a ready made player.

He's been on clubs radar for the better part of 3 years, just a very natural footballer, clean in traffic, never seems rushed in his disposal, hard at the ball and man if he's in the way.

Good acceleration off the mark, makes excellent decisions and can go forward and kick goals.

His inside work his main attraction, just sets up his team mates so well and looks after them, if he needs to cop the hit to free up his team mate by delaying the handball an extra half second he will.

He knows how to draw players and again on the weekend just created over lap by not panicking and hurrying his disposal, he and Marvell Warrell were the best two players on the ground in the WAFL colts GF.

Carter has played league for South Fremantle this year, acquitting himself well, without dominating games, mind you he only played 2 so he was finding his feet.

To his credit he has been happy to play across half forward and down back to allow some of his other team mates a run through the middle, Sam Lowrie can thank him for being such a selfless kid.

What's great about Carter is his character, he's a genuinely fantastic kid with a bright future ahead of him, has leadership written all over him and plays with a hard edge and maturity beyond his years.

The only downside I see to his game is his height, and frankly that's being very picky.

A neat, hard edge midfielder's midfielder with an impeccable character.

Compare him to an AFL player think Sam Mitchell.

Hey guys. I'm representing the Dees on our board's phantom draft this year, we're doing an early one. Can anyone give me a bit of insight into what are the Dees most pressing needs? So far I took Toumpas and Grundy with #3 and #4 (re: Viney, Gold Coast bid pick 2 on him and I wasn't prepared to give up #3 but let's just put that aside for now).

What would the Dees be looking at with #13, #26 and #45? Without knowing whose available there yet I was thinking about the likes of Stringer, Kennedy, D.Garlett, T.Menzel if they're available. Thoughts? Also how are you in the way of KPFs and KPDs?

Hey guys. I'm representing the Dees on our board's phantom draft this year, we're doing an early one. Can anyone give me a bit of insight into what are the Dees most pressing needs? So far I took Toumpas and Grundy with #3 and #4 (re: Viney, Gold Coast bid pick 2 on him and I wasn't prepared to give up #3 but let's just put that aside for now).

What would the Dees be looking at with #13, #26 and #45? Without knowing whose available there yet I was thinking about the likes of Stringer, Kennedy, D.Garlett, T.Menzel if they're available. Thoughts? Also how are you in the way of KPFs and KPDs?
Haha that is gold, just had a quick look over at your board, seems like a bit of fun.

We wouldn't be after any KPD's, maybe a KPF but more likely a small forward or outside midfielder, Kennedy or Garlett would be my choice here, but Stringer would also be hard to pass up on, tough decision you have coming up.

Well for starters you're sacked for letting JV go mate. :p There will be an uproar if that happens. I think every Melb fan would take Viney ahead of Grundy. As for our needs, mids, mids, mids. Also we are in bad need of speed, a goal kicking small forward who can push into the midfield like Kennedy, Garlett, Menzel would be great. We also need some players who can use the ball well and some more fire power up forward.

Haha, fair enough, thanks guys. Oh yeah I was being totally cheeky re: Viney but it's a practise run I think so meh. In reality I know it would go down differently haha.

Okay so looks like I had the right sort of guys in mind, I wasn't looking too hard at KPDs but I definitely think Stringer would be too good a prospect to let go. So goal kickers and/or mids are a priority, got it.

Re: Grundy. Forgive me, I'm a West Coast fan, it's in my nature to overcompensate on good rucks. ;)

Just reading that thread and it looks like fun, i wonder if we could do something similar around here.
yeah i would be in

Mids , a KPF, small crumbing forward Tupungwuti?

Surprised there hasn't been much mention of Jonathan O'Rouke on here yet. Is super quick and bursts out of packs similar to Chris Judd in his West Coast days. Had the highest kicking effincentcy of any midfielder in the TAC cup this year. He is exactly what we need, someone with speed and can kick. TAC cup future stars had him going number 2 in the draft earlier in the year but now have him at 5. If Gold Coast don't take him I think he is too good not to take with either pick 3 or 4

Good job (y)

I agree with most of your decisions, especially letting GC take Viney if they were to bid. Personally, I'm still not convinced with Grundy. Maybe you can persuade me? Our ruck stocks are alright so I personally don't see us going for a ruck with 4.

As for 13, I'm liking the looks of Dayle Gartlett. Reminds me of Pearce in his early days; quick, athletic and elite kicking. Would also consider Menzel as we sorely lack goal kickers. How injury prone is he though?

As for 26 and 45, I would like a solidly built mid and a KPF, preferably not skinny.

Well for starters you're sacked for letting JV go mate. :p There will be an uproar if that happens. I think every Melb fan would take Viney ahead of Grundy. As for our needs, mids, mids, mids. Also we are in bad need of speed, a goal kicking small forward who can push into the midfield like Kennedy, Garlett, Menzel would be great. We also need some players who can use the ball well and some more fire power up forward.
But would you take viney ahead of toumpas, which is likely to be who we would get if gold coast bidded for and took viney at 2.

Surprised there hasn't been much mention of Jonathan O'Rouke on here yet. Is super quick and bursts out of packs similar to Chris Judd in his West Coast days. Had the highest kicking effincentcy of any midfielder in the TAC cup this year. He is exactly what we need, someone with speed and can kick. TAC cup future stars had him going number 2 in the draft earlier in the year but now have him at 5. If Gold Coast don't take him I think he is too good not to take with either pick 3 or 4

Not completely sold on O'Rourke from a leadership/personality level - someone on the D&T board claims he is very introverted, I'm not sure we'll be looking to recruit someone like that.

Some clubs will put footballing talent over that, but being a successful footballer is as much about mental strength as skill/physical gifts - and I think Neeld shares that view.

There are probably a few players I would think we'd be more likely to pick at 3/4 (this is completely going on reports);

Stringer, Wines, Plowman, Grundy, Toumpas .... maybe Macrae on the strength of his finals form.

Those first 5 are all competitors - Macrae has a bit of it in him but he still needs to improve it; if he's there at 13 I think we'd jump on him.

Guys like Mayes, Menzel, Shaw and O'Rourke I wouldn't think we'll consider.

Isn't Plowman a key defender? Not sure we need any more of those.

He's an incredibly versatile and talented player - can play on talls/smalls/up forward and apparently (though I haven't seen this) in the middle.

I'm not sure people realize just how good Stringer could be - in 2010 (as a 16 year old) he played 9 games of TAC Cup footy - kicked 13 goals and was named in the best 3 players on the ground in 5 games.

Not completely sold on O'Rourke from a leadership/personality level - someone on the D&T board claims he is very introverted, I'm not sure we'll be looking to recruit someone like that.

Some clubs will put footballing talent over that, but being a successful footballer is as much about mental strength as skill/physical gifts - and I think Neeld shares that view.

There are probably a few players I would think we'd be more likely to pick at 3/4 (this is completely going on reports);

Stringer, Wines, Plowman, Grundy, Toumpas .... maybe Macrae on the strength of his finals form.

Those first 5 are all competitors - Macrae has a bit of it in him but he still needs to improve it; if he's there at 13 I think we'd jump on him.

Guys like Mayes, Menzel, Shaw and O'Rourke I wouldn't think we'll consider.
to me being introverted doesn't necessarily mean mentally weak. A guy like Col Garland is very introverted and he goes alright. I think we have to start backing ourselves eventually to ingrain a good culture into the draftees, as long as theyre not complete dickheads like Connors. if there is some other personality problems with him then fair enough but being quiet doesn't rule him out for me

I'm not sure people realize just how good Stringer could be - in 2010 (as a 16 year old) he played 9 games of TAC Cup footy - kicked 13 goals and was named in the best 3 players on the ground in 5 games.
Stringer is the type of guy that will slip down the order due to injuries, get picked up and turn into a star, a la Joel Selwood. Put a lot of muscle on when he was injured so that combined with recovery from his injury means he is less mobile than he ws at 16, but allowed him to dominate with his strength at under 18 level. could be well worth pick 4 if JV goes to 2nd round, or 13 if he gets that far. very good utility, could potentially be a midfield star once fully recovered

to me being introverted doesn't necessarily mean mentally weak. A guy like Col Garland is very introverted and he goes alright. I think we have to start backing ourselves eventually to ingrain a good culture into the draftees, as long as theyre not complete dickheads like Connors. if there is some other personality problems with him then fair enough but being quiet doesn't rule him out for me

Not ruling him out either - but Col Garland was picked up at 40-something; and he's developed well enough as a person to be put in the leadership group.

Whereas if we want O'Rourke we'll need to take him at 3 or 4.

I'd point out that there's a difference between being quiet/shy (like Garland) and being excessively introverted (which I think was the thought about O'Rourke)... again, I'm not saying it's the truth - for all I know he might be the clown of his team.. I just reckon it's an interesting concept.

Yeah and Tom Swift was rated the best 16 year old at his age. Young recruits should be based on where they are now, not what they did 2 years ago, because they're at an age where they can rapidly improve or decline.

My observation of Stringer from what I saw of him at VFL level is that he's not a top 10 draft pick. He's physically ready for senior football, but I'm not sure how his skillset will translate to AFL level. He reminds me of Tapscott, someone who's not going to be a gun midfielder. He could be a handy half forward/mid, but that's not what I want from a first round pick.

Yeah and Tom Swift was rated the best 16 year old at his age. Young recruits should be based on where they are now, not what they did 2 years ago, because they're at an age where they can rapidly improve or decline.

My observation of Stringer from what I saw of him at VFL level is that he's not a top 10 draft pick. He's physically ready for senior football, but I'm not sure how his skillset will translate to AFL level. He reminds me of Tapscott, someone who's not going to be a gun midfielder. He could be a handy half forward/mid, but that's not what I want from a first round pick.

And Tom Swift was being rated against players his own age - Stringer was one of the best players in a comp where the average player was TWO YEARS older than him.

Your observation of Stringer is based on what you saw of him after a come back from a significant injury - look how long it took Blease to come back.

He'll go first round, and fairly high.

Stringer is the type of guy that will slip down the order due to injuries, get picked up and turn into a star, a la Joel Selwood. Put a lot of muscle on when he was injured so that combined with recovery from his injury means he is less mobile than he ws at 16, but allowed him to dominate with his strength at under 18 level. could be well worth pick 4 if JV goes to 2nd round, or 13 if he gets that far. very good utility, could potentially be a midfield star once fully recovered
Selwood only slipped to 6/7, but at the time was regarded as the best mid, but as you say had an injury question mark. Where has Stringer been playing at under 18 level?

Please no more utilities. I want a gun mid, not a forward who can take a turn in the midfield.

And Tom Swift was being rated against players his own age - Stringer was one of the best players in a comp where the average player was TWO YEARS older than him.

Your observation of Stringer is based on what you saw of him after a come back from a significant injury - look how long it took Blease to come back.

He'll go first round, and fairly high.
Blease has still got a long way to go become an A-grade mid.