Official Cameron White Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter OldSchool

Is this inclusion of Cameron White in the One Day team a good or bad thing?

• good

Votes: 146 71.6%
  • bad

Votes: 58 28.4%

Re: White going to WC

White had a massive opportunity last night and he failed again. He seems to be good when he has license to smash it at the death but not so great when he needs to build an innings. It is a huge concern and I wouldn’t want him coming in at 5/150 in a crucial World Cup match. :o
This is exactly my concern. He looks great coming in when we're 250 already with 5-10 overs to slog it when we're batting first.

3 times now in run chases he's failed though, and if we're gonna lose, it'll be more likely chasing.

Still, he should go to the Caribbean, he's had a taste and despite people's criticism on this thread, he WILL improve as he grows - there is no doubting his talent and he has youth on his side.

He may not make the starting XI if watson's comeback's successful but to quit on him now means we take someone like Hopes or Voges instead who've had no international cricket at all lately.

He will improve.

He just shouldn't be left in the ODI side to 'improve' when we're about to go to the World Cup. He's not capable at this level yet.

He will improve.

He just shouldn't be left in the ODI side to 'improve' when we're about to go to the World Cup. He's not capable at this level yet.
Then who would you take? If you dump White, plus if Symonds is out, you're left with Gilly, Hayden, Ponting, Clarke, Hussey, Watson and Hodge who are all capable of playing a top 7 spot. Who are your 2 backup bats/batting allrounders?

I'm not having a go, just interested - if you want to drop White, what's the alternatives?

I just can't see him not making the squad now, esp given we have to name it next Tuesday.

Then who would you take? If you dump White, plus if Symonds is out, you're left with Gilly, Hayden, Ponting, Clarke, Hussey, Watson and Hodge who are all capable of playing a top 7 spot. Who are your 2 backup bats/batting allrounders?

I'm not having a go, just interested - if you want to drop White, what's the alternatives?

I just can't see him not making the squad now, esp given we have to name it next Tuesday.

By playing Watson it allows one of the 4 quicks to be surplus requirements, most likely Johnson. Then you can bring in Hogg who is no mug with the bat

Gilly, Hayden, Ponting, Clarke, Hodge, Hussey, Watson, Hogg, Lee, Bracken, McGrath

Would be my lineup. Hogg, lee and to a lesser extent Bracken have shown themselves to be capable of holding a bat.

By playing Watson it allows one of the 4 quicks to be surplus requirements, most likely Johnson. Then you can bring in Hogg who is no mug with the bat

Gilly, Hayden, Ponting, Clarke, Hodge, Hussey, Watson, Hogg, Lee, Bracken, McGrath

Would be my lineup. Hogg, lee and to a lesser extent Bracken have shown themselves to be capable of holding a bat.
Watson at 7? So whilst just maybe has a sook about White coming in at 200 and getting the score to 290 you will be happy with Watson coming in and making his 20* off 40 balls and seeing the Aussies to 250 :thumbsu:

He will improve.

Agreed. He'll be a good player for the future though.

Hogg is a lot more valuable, especially in the WI with the slow wickets.

In saying that, now that Symonds is gone, Australia has lost a lot of fire power in the batting. Obviously Hodge will get a gig but who's the other player? Watson? I suppose its going to have to be.

Watson at 7? So whilst just maybe has a sook about White coming in at 200 and getting the score to 290 you will be happy with Watson coming in and making his 20* off 40 balls and seeing the Aussies to 250 :thumbsu:

I'd rather Watson come in at number 7, bowl respectable overs as well then have White come in at number 7, fail when needed with run chases and bowl a continual stream of pies which go at 7 plus an over on whats considered an economical bowling day for him.

i demand white to play for the vics for the rest of the season

If White and Watson were both going to bat at 7 i'd pick White every time. More likely to score runs quicker which is needed in that possie.

Take them both, with 3 quicks + symonds if he's fit.

You can easily get 50 overs out of your 3 quicks (Lee, Mcgrath, Bracken at 10each), Watson (10), with Symonds, Clarke and White sharing 10-12 overs each depending on the pitch.

The only game Australia has lost this summer is when they were playing a relatively long tail. I couldn't see Australia losing when they are pretty much batting down to 9.

What is his role?

Under pressure his batting has been poor.

His bowling is terrible.

I reckon White should be tested ealier in the batting order to see if he is up to it in the next game.

I'm not convinced yet.

On performances, Hogg is the better all-rounder.

I reckon White should be tested ealier in the batting order to see if he is up to it in the next game.

I'm not convinced yet.

I concur , if Roy is out Australia cannot afford to play White . Hogg replaces White in the starting XI and White struggles to make World Cup squad IMO .

I'm not convinced yet.

How are they going to do that? I want him to bat up the order because he is more than capable of building an innings but it isn't going to happen.

I reckon in run chases they should open the innings with White. That way he can get some runs during field restrictions and we're not relying on him at 7 so we're not into the tail if he gets out cheaply. He can take more risks and not worry so much about the value of his wicket.

What is his role?

Under pressure his batting has been poor.

His bowling is terrible.

Exactly, if we want a player who can slog the ball at number 7 and be expensive with the ball, we might as well promote Brett Lee

He wouldn't do any worse with the bat and at least his bowlings more effective (despite being as expensive)

JM im suprised you came on after Hodgey proved you wrong last night. Or are you still going to say he shouldnt be in the team?

One swallow does not a summer make. Good innings though, finally.

And there were plenty more abusive of Hodge on here than me. Are you obsessed with me?

If White and Watson were both going to bat at 7 i'd pick White every time. More likely to score runs quicker which is needed in that possie.
Not always. Several times in this series the no 7 (White) has been needed after wickets to stay in there and see us home in a run chase, and he's failed each time.

White's capable of having the versatility of slogging or digging in, depending on the situation - he just hasn't shown it in ODIs yet.

But given Watson's a far better bowler too who can be counted on for 10 overs each time, i'd have him ahead of white if it's between the two - esp with Roy's bowling missing.

Mate you are spot on there. Watson come in to bat today and Australia Got to 252. If White played Australia would of scored 290 easy

White and Watson both shouldn't play.

Bring in Haddin.

no mate your wrong. That spot is for White.

Yes, he really has put a mortgage on it this series hasn't he :rolleyes:

Why is it his spot? He can't bat under pressure, his bowling is terrible. If we're going to play him because he can slog a quick 20 odd at the end, why not promote Lee? I'd take Haddins batting over Whites any day of the week.

i like the idea of white opening the batting