Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Samtrish said:
Willcock I believe is going back to V/T Phil Aumann would not doubt learn plenty with Porter around the club
Should make bushies because the squad will be weaker than last years.
Has a lot to learn and Porter will be great for him.

Lots of stuff in this thread that I haven't replied to, so here it is in one go.

Dwight said:
What kind of year did Matty Collins have?
Has been overpaid, yes or no?
Heard he is on mega bucks.
Was he worth it?

Pretty good player I reckon. He's very competitive and great in a contest. Also fly's the flag for his team-mates as well. I believe that he has retired now?

Duff Man said:
Lammaro would be in the top three I reckon, along with Harrap (bears) and Tranquili (mansfield).

Easily Harrap for mine.

fat back pocket said:
I think the last time No Heart snagged 97 was when:
- i got a kick
- junkie got on the field
- lamaro got a heart
- grainger made a fair dinkum lead.
- Shepparton had a good bloke playing for them.

Haha, that's gold on so many levels.

HJ32 said:
Maybe you rochy lads can help me out - are LBU chatting to Karl Oliver?

Wouldn't suprise me, but I would be shocked if he left.

fat back pocket said:
I heard 5 or 6 of the solid reserves players from the bears were leaving with the coach.

Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him? The shepp reserves side had a lot of players who could get good money in lower leagues, even get money at lower gv sides, so it will be interesting to see Shepps list this year.

They have been strong for years, no doubt they will recruit a host of stars again.

if anyone has any info on the reserves coach and who he has taken, give us some info.

The story that I've heard is that Hampshire is a police officer and there are several going around with the Shepp. ressies. There were a few others, but I can't recall their names. Apparently they are keen to play seniors and get paid a bit. Also, Hampshire works with Ardmona's ressies coach, so they may get a few seniors/ressies players to come across with him as well.

ECHUCABOY said:
Rowey I see you did south, what was it like playing against 13 year olds hahha

They might be young, but they don't lack confidence! Amongst the 13 year olds they had a couple of older fellas. One of them took 5 wickets. They had us on the ropes at 5/30, but we got the win.

jmain14 said:
back to gv news, the latest is that terry warren is starting a pre-season and could be lining up with rochy next year. wizz would have seen a few recent photo's of wazz from an email going around, and he would be able to substantiate that he is looking very fit at the moment.

He could singlehandedly bring the flag to the Tigers.

No Heart said:
Euroa can spend all the money in the world , but are still no certinies to win the flag like we saw this year.Mooroopna will improve as will Rochcester and the swans have meant to have been very busy in the recruiting stakes as have tatura, Seymour is about to unleash 3 more recruits and will be better again next year and Shepparton are going along just nicely i believe under new coach Mellington. Pre season top 6 [ bull ******** time of the year ]

Euroa
Seymour
Shepparton
Mooroopna
Tatura
Rochester

Out Benalla and Mansfield In Mooroopna and Tatura

As much as I would like to think Rochester will make the finals in 2006, I think they will slip. They are going to lose Chris McCarty . They have been linked to a few recruits, but they have fallen through (eg: Mark Brown). I think their financial situation is pretty sound, but they just don't seem to be able to recruit the big players like other clubs have.

just signed said:
Can play. Tall, high marking forward. LBU thought they had him last year. Stuffed ligaments in his thumb before the start of last year that caused it to keep dislocating. A good player, but definitely not in Echuca's top three. Durie, Archard and Smith have him covered by a considerable margain. Got a touch carried away i think ECHUCABOY.

Finger on the pulse as usual.

FOOTYBOSS said:
You are a complete ********wit NO HEART. There will be no icy discussions during pre season training. All is well amongst the team and the boys are rearing to get stuck into training which begins next week.

Oh, thats right, no icey conversations because Euroa's melbourne boys won't see the locals, ie Lamaro, until march next year when the practice matches start.

I heard a few boys were upset with his (lamaro's) "fleet footed" antics initially, but its all water under the bridge now with pipi heart lamaro. Time to get on with life. 06 season is just about to begin, if it hasn't already, for many clubs.

Many rumours will be created or dispelled in the next month, new recruits training at clubs etc ought to be the talking point for many, so let the rumours roll.

Zippa said:
what gv 'bushy' player will go onto bigger things next year? Will last years top u/18 ruckmen get a gig in senior teams with the likes of porter an co. around? players like matt bekker,dave tomkins, scott wilcock and phil aumann

Not sure if Dave Tomkins will be a senior player this year with the likely return of Ben Bailey, but he will be a more than welcome addition to the reserves line up.

Zippa said:
what gv 'bushy' player will go onto bigger things next year? Will last years top u/18 ruckmen get a gig in senior teams with the likes of porter an co. around? players like matt bekker,dave tomkins, scott wilcock and phil aumann
Jake Anderson (seymour) looks a likely senior player. He played top age Bushrangers this year and I saw him play a final at Deakin against Mansfield. Handled himself very well - looked very composed and not at all out of place in their side.

Not sure if he has had the opportunity to play many senior games, and might struggle to break into their side, but if he's given a go I reckon he could hold his spot.

fat back pocket said:
Not sure if Dave Tomkins will be a senior player this year with the likely return of Ben Bailey, but he will be a more than welcome addition to the reserves line up.

Is Ben Bailey a certainty to play? I heard he has a massive thumb print on his forehead, and the person who put it there is pushing for his retirement, or
at least a move to melbourne.

Is daniel schmidt playing at rochy again next year? A mate said he'd been offered a coaching or assistant coaching position in the bendigo league..

Sidey_87 said:
Who at this stage will win the wooden spoon in 2006?
My tip is Shepp Swans.

Not sure if you have read any of the rumours but the Swans were talked up to be a team on a big recruiting path. So with the list they already have, i wouldn't expect them to finish on the bottom.

Ky seems to be a team that i haven't heard too much about. Unless they can recruit a few key position players to help Newman (i assume he is staying), then they won't have enough scorers, Newman showed he can win a game off his own boot, but can he do it every week?

The spoon tip is going to be hard to pick.

a.k.a. said:
Is daniel schmidt playing at rochy again next year? A mate said he'd been offered a coaching or assistant coaching position in the bendigo league..
yeah I think he was offered a position from kyneton (??). believe it was offered to him in early october'ish so they didn't waste any time. think he has committed to rochy for next year though.

fat back pocket said:
Junkie, you are a heck stick, 10 players on over $500. You have got to be realistic, mate get a little peice of reality floating through your brain, before you make silly comments like that, a town not much bigger than Euroa, could never afford that.

You'd want some serious quality running around on your park for $500 pw. You'd expect AFL games, or a 100+ goal kicker for $500 a game. Serious match winners.
FBP, before you go around calling people the above, why don't you use that big, juicy, chess club brain of yours and read what he actually wrote. He was actually sticking up for Seymour, saying that he didn't think they would be paying 10 players that kind of money. He was challenging Tige19 to name 10 from Seymour.

Re-read his post.

Flat Track Bully said:
R U sure it's not Tom Hazell that'll be Greta's assistant? Tommy is far from a fringe senior player, Interleague rep in 2004, cruelled by injury in 2005.

Sammy has some ability, however I think an assistant coach's role might be a bit beyond him

I think you could be on the money there FTB. My mistake.

If anyone that has access to the Shepp News website could be so kind as to post on this thread the yarn in today's paper about Rory Hilton returning to Euroa it would be greatly appreciated.

By Richard Goodbody

November 23 2005
Shepparton News

The prodigal son has returned.
After more than a decade away from Euroa, former Richmond utility Rory Hilton will be returning to Memorial Oval next year after signing with the Magpies on Monday.

"It's fantastic news," Euroa coach David Gleeson said yesterday.

"He's had his time at the top level and now he's returning to where it all began.

"It's great news for the club and it's great news for the league."

After being drafted by the Brisbane Lions with the number three selection in the 1996 National Draft, Hilton was traded to the Tigers at the end of 1998, where he played 82 of his 91 AFL matches.

A talented and often underrated player at AFL level, Hilton spent the early part of his career as a rebounding defender before rejuvenating himself as a small forward.

In total, the 26-year-old kicked 54 goals during his eight seasons in the AFL including a season high of 24 in 2001.

"He's going to be part of a pretty formidable midfield," Gleeson said.

"Obviously we've lost (Daniel) Howse, but he (Hilton) will allow us to throw around our midfield a bit more."

Hilton is the Magpies' second big-name signing in as many weeks.

Last week, Gleeson confirmed that former Northern Bullant Damon Clarke had also agreed to terms with the club.

The 202 cm utility, who has been a regular goalkicker in the VFL during the past five years, will link up with Mark Jansz and Luke Hyatt as part of a threepronged ruck division for the Magpies next season.

"We're looking all right at the moment," Gleeson said.

"Our midfield of Shane Clayton, Rory Hilton and Clarke should allow us to play some good footy."

The Magpies were desperately unlucky to lose this year's Goulburn Valley Football League Grand Final after leading Seymour by 15 points midway through the final quarter.

fat back pocket said:
By Richard Goodbody

November 23 2005
Shepparton News

The Magpies were desperately unlucky to lose this year's Goulburn Valley Football League Grand Final after leading Seymour by 15 points midway through the final quarter.

they wern't "desparately unlucky" Mr Goodbody, they just switched off for 10 mins. If anyone deserves to be 'desperately unlucky' then Rochy fits that bill from the '93 granny.

How the hell is anyone going to beat Euroa?? has anyone ever seen a local football side with so many good players??

In saying that i think you will find that Euroa could do a Leeds Utd and go bankrupt if they dont win some serious games of footy. The only problem is, theirs no Champions League in the GV, and Euroa isnt placed in the middle of London.

cheers

Tige, I was gunna write a similar post myself but thought it might not look too good coming from someone from Seymour. However, how the bluddy hell is anyone gunna beat them??? Imagine if they fell over again though...

And HJ, couldn't agree more. Even Euroa would concede they were not ''desperately unlucky'' to lose. They blew it. It had nothing to do with luck. To be ''desperately unlucky'' in defeat would be to be robbed by the umpires and that they were not.

TuskenRaider said:
FBP, before you go around calling people the above, why don't you use that big, juicy, chess club brain of yours and read what he actually wrote. He was actually sticking up for Seymour, saying that he didn't think they would be paying 10 players that kind of money. He was challenging Tige19 to name 10 from Seymour.

Re-read his post.

thank you. I take back what i said, Junkie is not a, and i quote "heck stick". Well, he may be some of the time, but it doesn't seem so in this case now does it...it is me...FBP.

Euroa definately look like the team to beat and the stud farms from around the area must be chucking in a packet to see their team win it. Unbelievable how they can get so many good players into one team and more importantly into one budget.

Has anyone heard any new out of Mansfield? I heard they signed little reynoldson who is a gun. Watched him play in the gf a few years back and he dominated. Are they chasing anyone else. They would have money freed up now Tranqulli, Hulme and Mensch have left.

Any more news on whether kayler-Thomson is returning to gv footy?

What about you boys fbp, surely seymour are chasing players. Lets us know who you have signed or chasing. Anymore bullants boys in the wings. there wouldnt be to much left there now.

tige19 said:
How the hell is anyone going to beat Euroa?? has anyone ever seen a local football side with so many good players??

In saying that i think you will find that Euroa could do a Leeds Utd and go bankrupt if they dont win some serious games of footy. The only problem is, theirs no Champions League in the GV, and Euroa isnt placed in the middle of London.

cheers

Nor is leeds.

FBP, I hear that there are a fair few of Seymours fringe players following the reserves coach down to Melbourne. The likes of Rudd, Inness, Lane etc. Is there any truth in this?
Also, I believe Grandale is heading over to play for colbinabbin.

Whippet said:
Nor is leeds.

FBP, I hear that there are a fair few of Seymours fringe players following the reserves coach down to Melbourne. The likes of Rudd, Inness, Lane etc. Is there any truth in this?
Also, I believe Grandale is heading over to play for colbinabbin.

Rudd - Can't yet commit to Poopsy at Seddon/Yarraville as he is concentrating on his cricket career with Eastern Hill B Grade.
Inness - Believe he's devised some fitness program for the S/Y boys but he ain't playing there.
Lane - Don't know if he's gunna line up for Seymour, but one club I would expect he has ruled out playing for is Seddon/Yarraville.
Grandale - It's true, he was all but signed, sealed and delivered to Colbo, but recently developments have conspired to make him have a rethink. Word is he would find it very hard to leave the Den while the Lions' Twos were at least capable of playing finals, which again seems likely to be the case in 2006. Heck, Seymour might even just concentrate on the Twos flag given the Maggies look over the line in the Ones.

fat back pocket said:
thank you. I take back what i said, Junkie is not a, and i quote "heck stick". Well, he may be some of the time, but it doesn't seem so in this case now does it...it is me...FBP.

Once again posting dribble FBP! I was simply stating that almost everyone on BF is over estimating what players are earning in the GV. Try mouthing off to Tige as he was the one saying players were earning a bit more, but even his post resembled nothing of what you made of the discussion.

I may be a f#$k stick some of the time but you would be pushing that status all of the time.....

Try taking a deep breath and proof reading as you clearly need to do so.

BTW, can you confirm if Ratray is on anything near what was previously mentioned?

Junkie said:
BTW, can you confirm if Ratray is on anything near what was previously mentioned?

You'd be right about Rattray Junkie, he would have been on squirt - he came from the KDFL, not exactly the domain of footballers who could run into a GV club and demand stacks of cold hard cash.

Junkie said:
Once again posting dribble FBP! I was simply stating that almost everyone on BF is over estimating what players are earning in the GV. Try mouthing off to Tige as he was the one saying players were earning a bit more, but even his post resembled nothing of what you made of the discussion.

I may be a f#$k stick some of the time but you would be pushing that status all of the time.....

Try taking a deep breath and proof reading as you clearly need to do so.

The president organised some work for the string bean, but other than that, there was no cash exchanged at all.

A lot of the young blokes get work, in reply, the play footy for Seymour.

Grandale said:
Rudd - Can't yet commit to Poopsy at Seddon/Yarraville as he is concentrating on his cricket career with Eastern Hill B Grade.
Inness - Believe he's devised some fitness program for the S/Y boys but he ain't playing there.
Lane - Don't know if he's gunna line up for Seymour, but one club I would expect he has ruled out playing for is Seddon/Yarraville.
Grandale - It's true, he was all but signed, sealed and delivered to Colbo, but recently developments have conspired to make him have a rethink. Word is he would find it very hard to leave the Den while the Lions' Twos were at least capable of playing finals, which again seems likely to be the case in 2006. Heck, Seymour might even just concentrate on the Twos flag given the Maggies look over the line in the Ones.

According to my sources, Jago has tried to snatch half a dozen to a dozen fringe players to Seddon/Yarraville. With no luck what so ever. THey are all playing footy for Seymour. With Ben Davey the reserves coach, he has a lot of respect from all the boys, and with Steve and Ben at the helm, there is no reason to leave.

Grandale, with his partner the A grade skipper of the netties, i couldn't imagine her wanting to do too much travel to colbo for netball - pending they have netball?

Grandale is a required player at the den, wasn't too long ago he won a reserves goal kicking award with 85 odd goals in a side which won maybe 7 games. I'm sure there is a spot there for him, pending his strings can go the distance.

We'll see if he fronts for training tonight.

LOBSTER said:
What about you boys fbp, surely seymour are chasing players. Lets us know who you have signed or chasing. Anymore bullants boys in the wings. there wouldnt be to much left there now.

I suppose we will find out tonight who is in. Although i think the list is pretty much settled, no need for new recruits with Bailey and Ramma back.