official phantom draft

For the guys participating in the official big footy phantom, do you reckon that I could help you guys out. maybe we could do a discussion as the day draws nearer.

Yep.

So far, the panel is:

StingaArmstrong
Demon37/lamby29
melbournemartin

and I think Deestroy.

Not sure about CFH and BT.

Anyway, discussion time, who do we take?

Here is how I see it:

(In order of preference)

pick 3: Sylvia, daylight, more daylight, Tenace, Walker, Ray, Bradley

pick 5: Tenace or Walker if still there, otherwise Dunn, Ray, Clarke, Bradley.

pick 36: CJ.

pick 52: Aaron Davey, Lachlan Smith, Koulorites (sp?)

I'll be in this one! :)

Sylvia at #3 is the go if he is still there. Not sure where to look after that. Tenace would be nice, but so would Walker, McLean, Dunn etc.

Pick #52 will be a good one. Have a look at Luke Buckland of the Falcons, plays forward or back, good hands, good veritcal leap as well.

He would be close to the best player in the APS league.

From what I have seen, he has clean hands, is a good size and has a penetrating kick.

Not a fan of him footyman?

Originally posted by lamby29

Not a fan of him footyman?
Don't know much about him to be honest. Sounds like he's OK from what you said. I think he was captain of Xavier school team this year which is a good honour to have.

Originally posted by Deestroy
I'm not keen on Davey at all. A pure athlete.
Furthering this I also believe we should stay away from Koula, wouldn't take him in the rookie draft.

We should get a preferance order going for top picks. My suggestion would be Cooney, Sylvia, Tenace, Walker, Dunn, Ray, Bradley. That would cover our first 2 picks.

For pick 52 we would need to wait and see who is around at that pick. As I say I'm not keen on either Davey or Koula.

In order of preference:

Pick 3 Sylvia, Tenace

Pick 5 Tenace, Mclean, Walker, Morrison, Clarke

I'm a big rap for both Mclean and Morrison but we would be picking them ahead of a lot of other good players.
Mclean is a good strong hard leader to stick into our midfield and Morrison is a very good player even though he was injured all year. Excellent draft camp results (and a Tassie boy ;) )
I dont see Lamb, Nicholson, Rogers, Molan, Holland and Neitz being around for too much longer so maybe we need an extra tall.

Pick 52 Adam Bentick - Don't know much apart from what the draft camp preview said. Good tackler with good vision and work ethic and one percenters.
Alex Gilmour another tassie boy whos good in and under and decent skills.
Aaron Davey, bit of pace on the forward line.

Others/Rookie
Josh Willoughby, Joel Cambell, Sam Pleming, Cameron Thurley, Brent Robinson

Pre Season
S.Harvey, R. Betheras

Originally posted by lamby29
Davey is the quickest player I have ever seen. I doubt he will still be there at 52, but he is a future star.

Sounds like the new David Clarke!

No thanx, all the pace in the world won't help him if we can't get it to him.

Next!

Koulouritis at 52 I'd do, seen him dominate the SANFL on Foxtel a few times.

Originally posted by StingaArmstrong
In order of preference:

Pick 3 Sylvia, Tenace

Pick 5 Tenace, Mclean, Walker, Morrison, Clarke

I'm a big rap for both Mclean and Morrison but we would be picking them ahead of a lot of other good players.
Mclean is a good strong hard leader to stick into our midfield and Morrison is a very good player even though he was injured all year. Excellent draft camp results (and a Tassie boy ;) )
I dont see Lamb, Nicholson, Rogers, Molan, Holland and Neitz being around for too much longer so maybe we need an extra tall.

Pick 52 Adam Bentick - Don't know much apart from what the draft camp preview said. Good tackler with good vision and work ethic and one percenters.
Alex Gilmour another tassie boy whos good in and under and decent skills.
Aaron Davey, bit of pace on the forward line.

Others/Rookie
Josh Willoughby, Joel Cambell, Sam Pleming, Cameron Thurley, Brent Robinson

Pre Season
S.Harvey, R. Betheras

Bentick sounds good, wasn't he the Calder Cannons skipper? IF so he won't be around at 32 let alone 52.

The player we go for with 52, will depend on the type of players we get with our early picks. If we get the grunt we need (Sylvia,Dunn/McLean) then we can afford to go for a different type here.