official team for North

• Thread starter Thread starter Optimax

You waiting for some backup,thats right your LONIE, i should have known better.

For what it's worth, I completely agree with everything Lonie from 50 said. I just didn't think he needed anyone to jump in and stick up for him at the time. And you should show some respect at the effort he made in getting those statistics.

Ok that means a top 4 finish... show of hands please?

No, it means that the coach has signalled his intentions that the team is where it should be at, and that, is better than 5th on the ladder!

Better than Terry Walace, who comes out and says expect nothing for the next 5 years.

I think Lonie's argument is quite clear and concise and uses statistical evidence to prove it, so i have no idea what your problem is, wow u disagree and think ur theory is better good for you show some evidence why it is better. and i quite agree with him, obree is a vital player to how team winning games regardless if we are in contention for a flag or not. Obree is a consistent, quite achiever, who just goes and does his work, and usually does it considerabley well, he remains our no1 tackler and clearance player. I'm quite happy for him to keep playing in the team. And quite frankly im sick of this "speedy youngsters" crap, seriously its not how fast you can run its how fast you can move the ball which makes a midfield fast, Brisbane in their hey day moved the ball extremely fast, WCE move the ball fast, Sydney which to me wouldnt have the quickest midfield in the world, can move the ball fast. Its more about stamina and ball movement rather then speed alone. Speed only enhances those factors.

Well you just made my argument for me then, why would you not fast track kids and get what you can for players like Lockyer and O'Bree who have their best behind them and will not contribute to a flag when we are ready to win one? It's madness to just let them amble along to retirement keeping potential great kids off the list and out of the team

Are you retared or just some nieve 12year old kid?? wtf are you talking about, you wont get a damn thing for OB or Locks in a trade, 2nd rd at best. Best case is an untried kid. So please piss off to where you came from. thanks.

No, it means that the coach has signalled his intentions that the team is where it should be at, and that, is better than 5th on the ladder!

Better than Terry Walace, who comes out and says expect nothing for the next 5 years.
Better than 5th you say? silly me thinking that meant top 4 :p

Oh dear, gonna be a long year

Are you retared or just some nieve 12year old kid?

No I am not ******ed... and I also know how to spell it correctly

No I am not naive... and I also know how to spell it correctly

:rolleyes:

It's really not about how good or bad Lockyer/O'Bree are, it's a philosophy of cleaning out specific players that are past their best and not elite (obviously Bucks, Burns Clement etc are not in this category) but still have enough currency to get a 2nd/3rd rounder for them and fast track quick young players to build a real contender list, we'd all like to think we can have a crack at it this year but if we were completely honest with ourselves our best are past their best and something drastic needs to be done

O'Bree had arguably his best season for the pies in 2006.......why do u think he is past it now???
O'Bree was our best-only inside midfielder last year, yet u want to get rid of him???

Lockyer and O'Bree are easy targets, and cop it all the time

it is ridiculous, both deserve spots in our best 22 and will play on saturday

Over the last couple of years I have never required back-up, and that is why I am one of the most respected posters on this site. You my friend are just going along with the crowd, and you have not yet given a decent bit of support to your case.

We are fighting the O'Bree case...if you weren't a newbie (well, okay, you have been here 5 months), but EVERYONE on this board except for Jabso and myself, have stood up for O'Bree with rock hard research and it means absolutely nothing because, their is that Cheesy Bandwagon where they reckon he should be dropped/delisted etc.

I have fought the O'Bree case for a couple of years now with near to no-one on my back, yet it has never been finalised because no-one has ever come up with a reasonable post to support their opinion on O'Bree.

Hit the books mate, and you might get a little more respect on here, and maybe you might have a case. But at the minute, you have nothing!

Sorry to interupt but yes we have, we watched O'bree stuff kicks handballs for years stats at the end of a game in black and white on a comp screen mean jack sh#t. In saying that O'bree had his best year for the club last year and looked to worked hard on his disposal and desicion making.

O'Bree had arguably his best season for the pies in 2006.......why do u think he is past it now???
O'Bree was our best-only inside midfielder last year, yet u want to get rid of him???
Ahhh but dopple dopple dopple, that is exactly when to offload him, currency at it's highest and he most likely wont produce near that level again because he is on the wrong side of 28, it's smart list maintenance

so 28 is ur magic number??

every bloke that gets to 28 should be automatically off loaded

jimmy clement blossomed into the best defender in the league after he turned 28, before then he was simply an average footballer

it isn't smart list maintenance getting a draft pick around 30-40, for an established quality senior footballer is not smart, how many of the blokes who are drafted 30-40 actually go on to play 150-200 games of AFL footy???

after first round it is a lottery, even first rounders dont always make it

taz was a good trade as we grabbed pick 8 and medders for him
obree would probably fetch a pick in the 40's, that is a waste

I kind of agree with both sides of the argument here.

There is not doubting that O'Bree had his best season to date last year and when healthy absolutely deserves his place in our best 22 in round 1.

I also subscribe to the theory that O'Bree probably wont be around the next time we seriously contest for a premiership. Does that mean we trade him or delist him?

I dont think there would be much interest in him from other clubs for a trade...he would more than likely go in the pre-season draft to a team looking to bolster depth for a premiership run (like a sydney).

If however, we are near the bottom of the ladder and its round 17......maybe thats when we look to reduce his ground time in favour of a kid.......if the kid performs for 5 rounds and shows an ability to do what O'Bree does as well as an upside to keep improving......maybe then look to move him on.

Having said that, I know he doesn't play the same position, but Rowan Jones at West Coast is a premiership player. Not all premiership players need to be studs......some don't even need to be good.

Up forward or no, Josh must be on the ground most of the game, even if resting in the FP. He plays awesome footy in the wet.

yay, actual talk about the game tomorrow!!

agree 100% josh needs to switch between ruck and up forward, but if raining and wet he may spend more time further up the ground in the ruck as he isn't the best contested mark and the wet ball would make it tougher, need more crumbers up forward

so that would mean bryan misses out i reckon

Yeah it is, because a players peak on average is between 23 and 28, do the stats, I do not lie

Bucks won his Brownlow at 31 :cool:

Anyway with O'Bree, his disposal is not great, although it was a lot better last year, but the thing with him is, he is our best tackler and he gets so many contested possessions and clearances, it is not funny.

He is a required unit for this side.

With Lockyer, I rate him, and I hope he is playing a HFF type role tomorrow, because he links up well when thrown forward. Especially given it seems Davis will be in the guts now.

Bucks won his Brownlow at 31 :cool:

Anyway with O'Bree, his disposal is not great, although it was a lot better last year, but the thing with him is, he is our best tackler and he gets so many contested possessions and clearances, it is not funny.

He is a required unit for this side.

With Lockyer, I rate him, and I hope he is playing a HFF type role tomorrow, because he links up well when thrown forward. Especially given it seems Davis will be in the guts now.
Hoggy be serious, we can all find superstars that break out of that average, but thats why its called an average, it tells you statistically what happens MOST of the time, and I think we can agree O'Bree is no Buckley, it's called playing the odds, nobody really knows if a kid is going to be a superstar or if O'Bree and Lockyer are going to get better with age... but you play the odds and get a better list!

Better than 5th you say? silly me thinking that meant top 4 :p

Oh dear, gonna be a long year

Ahh you a ****ing idiot or what...I was quoting Mick you moron...the whole bloody reason of the post...it was made quite clear.

Do you know who Mick Malthouse is?
Do you know what a quote is?

Hoggy be serious, we can all find superstars that break out of that average, but thats why its called an average, it tells you statistically what happens MOST of the time, and I think we can agree O'Bree is no Buckley, it's called playing the odds, nobody really knows if a kid is going to be a superstar or if O'Bree and Lockyer are going to get better with age... but you play the odds and get a better list!

True I was being a smartarse, but the rest of my post I was serious, O'Bree serves a purpose. So does Lockyer, but I rate OB more important to the success of our side than Tarkyn.

Yeah it is, because a players peak on average is between 23 and 28, do the stats, I do not lie

Can you please back-up your research, I tend to agree, but could you actually do the work yourself and not get anyone else to do it...thank you

Ahh you a ****ing idiot or what

If you get that upset over an internet debate you might want to get out in the fresh air now and then... are you waiting for me to take offence from a stranger in a chatroom :p

If we do have a terrible year this year.The first thing we should do is get an experienced ruckman,like sandilands,buy or poach 2 top midfielders,and one hard nut, tall backman.Throw these guys into the existing side and no-more rebuilding,then we can shoot for the flag.Having said all that we should beat the pauperoos,by 30 points tommorrow.

Can you please back-up your research, I tend to agree, but could you actually do the work yourself and not get anyone else to do it...thank you
I've already done the work, do your own... and lets face it, it's self evident to anyone that watches the game... or are O'Bree and Lockyer going to suddenly turn into superstars at the end of their career :rolleyes:

If you get that upset over an internet debate you might want to get out in the fresh air now and then... are you waiting for me to take offence from a stranger in a chatroom :p

I have actually been upset since yesterday when the O'Bree debate was started...I seriously just have had enough. Maybe I do need to get out, but the fact is I am a passionate Collingwood supporter who is becoming bitter at the age of 20.

And you haven't come up with a decent argument against the facts I had presented, so all in all, I feel I have won the debate, and we should move on, because my role on this thread after what was discussing tomorrow's team, has been done and dusted, and the comments that I have received are either generalisations, or, petty little comments aimed at me and have very little to do with backing yourself up :rolleyes: