Mega Thread Official Trade Week Thread

Ebert will only want to go back to SA in a couple of years, so i think not. I think we can play hardball on Lisle now that they have Gunston, should not have to give up an early pick for a bloke who is falling down the pecking order and not in their best side...

Something like a second-round pick upgrade + 3rd round pick would more than get it done I reckon.

... problem being that the Hawks just used their Round 2 pick on Gunston.

He doesnt want to go to Geelong as he only requested a trade to go home to SA. No chance for us.

Could be that he see even less chance of a regular game at Geelong than WC, where as we're a developing team he'd walk straight into. It could be just that he only wants to go to SA, but if anything I'd say we're in a better position than Geelong being able to offer him a more senior on-field role

Port have put pick 33 on the table for him, doubt we would beat or even match that

Draft picks at the moment : 12, 33, 51, 69, 87.

Some of the Deals I would like to see go through

Hopefull

Warnock & 51 to GC for Pick 29

Maric & 33 to North for their pick 18.

Bate to the doggies for Pick 17.

Pick 29 to Hawthorn for Jordan Lisle.

Draft Picks After Trade Week: 12, 17, 18, 52, 69, 87

This would be a quite handy scenario. Most of the deals look un-realistic but we started with not giving Scully a blank cheque, not giving into GWS considering they would not give us a pick under 25 back and should accept nothing less for Bate & Maric ( especially maric considering north have done a medical)

Hopefull

Both those deals are a embarrassing PP. I respect you as a poster but NO opposition club that would pay that amount for two players who would likely be delisted if they were out of contract.

The Bate to Footscray one MUST be a typo should read:

Bate to the doggies for Pick 107

Draft picks at the moment : 12, 33, 51, 69, 87.

Some of the Deals I would like to see go through

Hopefull

Draft Picks After Trade Week: 12, 17, 18, 52, 69, 87

This would be a quite handy scenario. Most of the deals look un-realistic but we started with not giving Scully a blank cheque, not giving into GWS considering they would not give us a pick under 25 back and should accept nothing less for Bate & Maric ( especially maric considering north have done a medical)

Maric & 33 would get us about pick 30, nobody in their right mind would give us a first rounder.

Bate played about 6 games this year (was available the entire year) and you think the Dogs would give us a first round pick? Bate's trade value has been wiped off the face of the AFL planet after this year, we aren't getting anything significant from him.

I think we should be having a crack at Lisle. Should be able to walk straight into full forward. Supposedly a talented, hard-working KPP (forward or back).

Hawthorn will probably want a pick in the 20's, which we don't have, so we may have to upgrade our second round pick 36 in another deal.

MELB LOSE: Warnock, Pick 36
MELB GAIN: Lisle

HAW LOSE: Lisle
HAW GAIN: Pick 27

GC LOSE: Pick 27
GC GAIN: Warnock, Pick 36

Melbourne get a promising young key forward in exchange for a fringe player and a mid 30's pick. Hawthorn get a mid 20's pick back, which they gave up for Gunston initially. Gold Coast gain an experienced key defender for a downgrade of second round picks.

Hawk fans might want a slightly higher pick, but I don't think Lisle has that many credits on the board to warrant it. They would effectively be getting Gunston for Lisle and a slight downgrade of picks.

Is this real life? Bate for a 1st rounder is one of the more ridiculous things I've read on BF, and that's saying a lot.

Plus in that scenario we have 6 draft picks but only 3 spots to fill.

I think we should be having a crack at Lisle. Should be able to walk straight into full forward. Supposedly a talented, hard-working KPP (forward or back).

Hawthorn will probably want a pick in the 20's, which we don't have, so we may have to upgrade our second round pick 36 in another deal.

Melbourne get a promising young key forward in exchange for a fringe player and a mid 30's pick. Hawthorn get a mid 20's pick back, which they gave up for Gunston (effectively a Gunston for Lisle swap). Gold Coast gain an experienced key defender for a downgrade of second round picks.

Now that's more like it... looks like a good deal for all involved.

Melbourne get a promising young key forward in exchange for a fringe player and a mid 30's pick. Hawthorn get a mid 20's pick back, which they gave up for Gunston initially. Gold Coast gain an experienced key defender for a downgrade of second round picks.

Hawk fans might want a slightly higher pick, but I don't think Lisle has that many credits on the board to warrant it. They would effectively be getting Gunston for Lisle and a slight downgrade of picks.
How do you work out that he's a ready made full forward when Roughhead was out all year, and he couldn't get a game? And when Stratton was out, he couldn't fill a key defensive post.

I'd rather keep Bate than take on Lisle. We've stockpiled questionable kpp's in the last couple of years, so why pick up another one.

Bate is done and dusted as an AFL footballer. Lisle is unproven but has more upside. I'd rather take the punt, so long as we don't give up too much.

Can someone tell me about Lisle? his contract status and value? Have the hawks named him as trade bait?

Im actually fairly happy that we didn't go over our limit to get one of the Mini-Draft picks, smart move by the club in my mind. Would have been nice to come out on top for a change, but this isn't a loss in my opinion.

We now have a chance to make a big impact on the 2012 draft with our two compensation first rounders. We have our own boom recruit 17 year old in Jack Viney waiting in the wings. Jack will surely cost us out first round pick as someone will bid on him and if we activate one of our compensation picks next year then we will be getting Jack for a bargain and then another first rounder in a much stronger draft by all reports.

Our time for an attack isn't right now. I just hope that we hit our straps and start playing great footy before the Giants and Suns kids become men and start rampaging the competition as the AFL commish begin to completely orgasam.

I really thought I was going to get more of a lynching after my joke of a post before :p

In all seriousness a mate who is a one eyed hawks fan and attends a fair few box hill games. He believes pick 33 for Lisle is more than fair.

I don't know what the deal is with GC players but Charlie Dixon might be worth a look if available. 21 yrs old 200cm 101kg Key Forward who apparently (according to gc website) has strong hands, a raking right boot, uncanny below-the-knee skills, and a real taste for multiple efforts at the fall of the ball. Maybe worth a straight swap for Warnock and we swap picks 45 and 51?

Here is an excellent highlight of Lisle.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1oIV6pzA14

Cameron Ling had a much worse kick than that in one of his first ever games of footy, and he turned our pretty good.

I actually remember watching the Geelong game and when Ling did the kick me and my mate laughed and called him a spud and I thought he wouldnt last another season. :o

I really thought I was going to get more of a lynching after my joke of a post before :p

In all seriousness a mate who is a one eyed hawks fan and attends a fair few box hill games. He believes pick 33 for Lisle is more than fair.

I don't know what the deal is with GC players but Charlie Dixon might be worth a look if available. 21 yrs old 200cm 101kg Key Forward who apparently (according to gc website) has strong hands, a raking right boot, uncanny below-the-knee skills, and a real taste for multiple efforts at the fall of the ball. Maybe worth a straight swap for Warnock and we swap picks 45 and 51?

Maybe we can do a straight swap - Dixon for Juice Newton :rolleyes:

Would really surprise me if Dixon was on the table. Pretty sure he was the first player they ever signed and I'd say it's a safe bet they'll wanna keep a 200cm 101kg Key Forward to themselves...

Higher? I think hawks would be more than happy than that. I'd say they'd take pick 36, Lisle doesn't have huge currency, but I'd take that trade as we offload Warnock.

How do you work out that he's a ready made full forward when Roughhead was out all year, and he couldn't get a game? And when Stratton was out, he couldn't fill a key defensive post.

I'd rather keep Bate than take on Lisle. We've stockpiled questionable kpp's in the last couple of years, so why pick up another one.

Why the Lisle hating, that's not the first time you've hated?

I'm under no illusion that he's the answer to all our forward issues, but if its a choice of the 2, why keep Bate who is behind a long list of players both for midfield & medium forward spots instead of giving a younger guy who hasn't really been given much of a chance who potentially fills a much greater need for us?

Maybe it wont be Lisle, but I'd be disappointed if we didn't get in at least 1 mature KPF, as this is surely Neeld's biggest gap

Maybe it wont be Lisle, but I'd be disappointed if we didn't get in at least 1 mature KPF

People are acting as if the draft is a kind of players supermarket. You choose the player you want (and can afford), from a huge range on offer. If only.

No team is going to release even a half-decent KPF - look at last year, highlight was Hale, who once kicked 5 goals but spent most of the year in the reserves.

The only time "name" players swap in the draft, is if they want out for family or "go-home" reasons - and then nominate the club of choice, and let them sort it out. Correct me if I'm wrong, but no established KPF has nominated Melbourne - so we're stuck with the "no longer required"'s.

Let's not hold our breath here. You can only draft what's available.