Mega Thread Official Trade Week Thread

The only time "name" players swap in the draft, is if they want out for family or "go-home" reasons - and then nominate the club of choice, and let them sort it out. Correct me if I'm wrong, but no established KPF has nominated Melbourne - so we're stuck with the "no longer required"'s.

Let's not hold our breath here. You can only draft what's available.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but where did I say a "name" player?

Read again, I said mature & I even referenced Lisle, I'm rating him as a mature KPF. By that statement I meant I would like us to get at least 1 mature (20-24yo ideally) KP forward option

It's an area we need to address & I hope we try an alternative option, Lisle, Wilson from WC, someone who could do something next year & isnt a draftee who'll need at least 2 seasons to bulk up

I've said some stupid things in my time here and this might top it all but...

Bring back Brock?

Look. Say what you will. And his contract at Carlton for $400k is utter madness. But he left for whatever reason, and we all knew that the playing group loved him (despite Beamer's remarks at the B&F) and you don't splash thousands of dollars in debt relief for a club if you don't feel some ownership for it.

What happened in the past is in the past, he could be an asset. He's obviously too good for VFL level. And I think with the inclusion of Dave Misson for the club he could finally get Brock back onto the park.

But. Uh. Yeah...That contract:o

Jordan Lisle is a 196cm true KPP, he has easily the best set of hands at Hawthorn, reads the play well and knows how to use his body. Question marks over his disposal by foot and his speed.

In regards to why he didn't play. Firstly - the Roughead remark: Hale can ruck, to put it simply. I have no doubt that if the sub rule was not in place, Lisle would have been a certainty to play.

Stratton remark: the only time I've disagreed with our defensive structure this year was against Geelong and Collingwood during the finals. Lisle smashed Dawes earlier in the year, not that it's hard.

He's obviously going to be worth more to Hawthorn than what he is at the trade table. That said, if he's after a better go at senior footy (have heard this all year) I wish him all the best.

In terms of what he's worth. Well, he was pick 50 two years ago, although being the AA CHB of his draft, and has only played a handful of games. He is out of contract too so we don't have a lot of room to move.

If he moves on, he'll certainly be a player I'll keep an eye on. Very talented, hard working kid. If you get him, you'll have a ready-made FF. I don't want to lose him, personally.

Talk this morn of Tommy Walsh from the saints, asked my mate who is a saints fan and he said "take lisle first". Don't know anything about Tommy Walsh.

Why the Lisle hating, that's not the first time you've hated?

I'm under no illusion that he's the answer to all our forward issues, but if its a choice of the 2, why keep Bate who is behind a long list of players both for midfield & medium forward spots instead of giving a younger guy who hasn't really been given much of a chance who potentially fills a much greater need for us?

Maybe it wont be Lisle, but I'd be disappointed if we didn't get in at least 1 mature KPF, as this is surely Neeld's biggest gap[/quote]

Harrington was on SEN this morning saying that they have no plans to trade Bate. He's contracted and a required player.

He did mention that they look like getting a deal done for Maric with the Kanga's, and that more than likely Warnock will be traded somewhere as well. It looks like Bate will stay. But I still say we are chasing a KPF somewhere, maybe Lisle? But I'd be surprised if the Hawks let him go cheaply, and I'm not convinced he's the answer to our forwardline issues. Will be interesting now that they 17yr old draft is over, we might see some action now.

I've said some stupid things in my time here and this might top it all but...

Bring back Brock?

Look. Say what you will. And his contract at Carlton for $400k is utter madness. But he left for whatever reason, and we all knew that the playing group loved him (despite Beamer's remarks at the B&F) and you don't splash thousands of dollars in debt relief for a club if you don't feel some ownership for it.

What happened in the past is in the past, he could be an asset. He's obviously too good for VFL level. And I think with the inclusion of Dave Misson for the club he could finally get Brock back onto the park.

But. Uh. Yeah...That contract:o

I see where you are coming from but I doubt the club would have any interest in bringing him back unless the Blues paid half of his contract for next year. He is a strong body at the stoppages and he clearly has plenty of experience, but he is far too slow these days. Unfortunately the game has passed him by.

Harrington was on SEN this morning saying that they have no plans to trade Bate. He's contracted and a required player.

He did mention that they look like getting a deal done for Maric with the Kanga's, and that more than likely Warnock will be traded somewhere as well. It looks like Bate will stay. But I still say we are chasing a KPF somewhere, maybe Lisle? But I'd be surprised if the Hawks let him go cheaply, and I'm not convinced he's the answer to our forwardline issues. Will be interesting now that they 17yr old draft is over, we might see some action now.

Meh, the Maric and Warnock trades do nothing for me, unless we use these picks for other players. We won't get much and we probably won't even use the picks we get, with Maric being the only chance for us to snare a pick inside the Top 50.

They mentioned Tommy Walsh this morning but he can't be all that flash, and I'd rather give a Cook a run than Walsh. Lisle would be interesting but that's been nothing more than speculation so far, as neither club has mentioned him in their trade talks.

Melbourne keen as on Mitch Clarke.

Tommy Walsh is interesting.

He was never likely to get games with Roo and Kosi playing.

He's a super athlete, a big body and we could get him cheap IMO.

Well worth a look.

EDIT-

Mitch Clark!?!?

Would like him.

Melbourne are interested in Clark and could use pick 12.(According to TWR)

Pick 12 or one of the compo picks???.

Just heard that on the radio.

Would be a massive coup for the Demons if we snagged him.

Hes be a permanent forward as we are stacked in the ruck, but we are dying to find a big bodied strong marking forward and Clark will foit the bill.

Hes also young and fits our age bracket.

God i hope we get him.

Id trade pick 12 for sure.

Now that's more like it... looks like a good deal for all involved.

Agreed Captain Jack. I think Lisle, Lynch or Walsh could be worth the punt as a KPP. Jesse White or Callum Wilson other good options. With the development of Cook and further early draft picks coming up, I think we can afford to take a risk on a young player like this who has something to prove.

No point going for a Setanta, I would personally rather Fev than him. And Bater for a first rounder? Seriously, having a giraffe!

Homesick forward in Mitch Clark could be very dicey situation for us

Before everyone gets there hopes up make sure it's not Brisbane trying to drive his price

up. I'm hearing Brisbane might want the Compo pick for Palmer and pick 16.

I think what we should be looking to do is get ourselves into a very beneficial three-way trade which see's Clark head to Fremantle.

Now he might be tempted to come to Melbourne, it is a fantastic city and we could offer him around 4-500k per year over 3-4 years.

If he isn't happy at Brisbane but Brisbane aren't getting the right deal from Fremantle we should go for him.

I also wouldn't be surprised if Clark rejected GWS because he was hoping to head home.

Talk this morn of Tommy Walsh from the saints, asked my mate who is a saints fan and he said "take lisle first". Don't know anything about Tommy Walsh.

Walsh is Irish international rookie, will be 24 before next season starts, 195cm & played Gaelic footy like a midfielder. Played forward, back & ruck in the VFL, probably best down back, finished 5th in sandringham's BnF.

Has athletic potential & showed some early potential, but TBH barely heard a word about him recently & he's been here for 3 years now. Would rather Lisle

Mitch Clark eh? We have much better picks than the Dockers that would satisfy what the Lions want, but he wants to go home, much like Ebert. Reckon we might be in for a 3 way deal that sees our pick go to the Lions, Clark to the Dockers and a player (any suggestions?) come to us.

Nice to see the club getting on the front foot though.