FTA-TV Offsiders

Apr 28, 2008
Arsenal Kilmarnock
It really hasn't been a good year for Kelli Underwood. I've liked her in the past and didn't mind her getting the full-time host gig, however ever since Covid began and zoom-in guests have been more frequent, her performance levels have fallen dramatically for me. Maybe projecting to screens just isn't her vibe? Really do not rate her opinion much anymore, and has grown more awkward and shallow in her opinions throughout the year. Today's performance was especially embarrassing as it is hard to screw up and make awkward a Grand Final show with Tiger fans in the room. Might need a Covid-free offseason refresher, but she'd want to lift her game in early 2021.

The show's focus on netball throughout the year also seems disproportionate to its audience relevance. Every week it seemed like we were getting at least 5 mins on it. I don't mind netball as a sport, but it isn't really an every-week sport show fixture at this point in time.

Regular guests are still mostly solid.

Boomerfan99

Jun 22, 2015
Nuggets
It really hasn't been a good year for Kelli Underwood. I've liked her in the past and didn't mind her getting the full-time host gig, however ever since Covid began and zoom-in guests have been more frequent, her performance levels have fallen dramatically for me. Maybe projecting to screens just isn't her vibe? Really do not rate her opinion much anymore, and has grown more awkward and shallow in her opinions throughout the year. Today's performance was especially embarrassing as it is hard to screw up and make awkward a Grand Final show with Tiger fans in the room. Might need a Covid-free offseason refresher, but she'd want to lift her game in early 2021.

The show's focus on netball throughout the year also seems disproportionate to its audience relevance. Every week it seemed like we were getting at least 5 mins on it. I don't mind netball as a sport, but it isn't really an every-week sport show fixture at this point in time.

Regular guests are still mostly solid.

Used to watch this show religiously for years particularly when Barry Cassidy and Gerard were hosting. but last few years it's turned into a PC cringe fest talking about irrelevant sports as you say.

Feb 5, 2004
I don't mind Kelli Underwood as host. As I've said before on this board, she doesn't try to editorialise and provide the final word on everything like Gerard Whateley used to do. Many times when Gerard was hosting it felt as if the guests were interrupting his turn on the soap box.

I reckon there's been a perceptible drop in standard with the guests in recent years. Too many who are parochial to a sport or particular team (G'day, Caro) and too few who have a wider grasp of issues of the day, or the wider context. Some guests just aren't very good TV talent.

I'll keep watching because the show is unique and it still has its moments. I've become one of those grumpy viewers that the ABC specialise in - always complaining about falling standards and always coming back for more.

A couple of thoughts on yesterday's show: 1) Gideon Haigh's experience of watching footy this season mirrors mine (footy for me is a social game that became very lonely); 2) I don't agree with Kelli's thoughts on the night Grand Final, but hugely enjoyed it when she lost her temper at Waleed. He can be extremely patronising.

MauroFogheri

Fill the crucible
Jun 14, 2017
Saw itlast week, for the first time since Cassidy was host. Liked Tony Armstrong a lot but then heard Katharine Murphy...oh dear, someone who could only be employed by Their ABC 🥱

Caro is a terrible judge of appropriate punishment - the original Ebony Marinoff decision is possibly the worst suspension ever.
Well unless the rule is that you have to leap out of the way of an oncoming player, I couldn't see the problem either.

Sep 24, 2008
MuMuLand
Celtic, West Perth, Glory, S'Roos
It's more hit and miss in the past couple of years. The inability to criticise women's teams when they deserve it sticks out.

In 2019 the Matildas didn't do nearly as well as they should have in the World Cup but there wasn't any criticism it was still 'Yay girllls!!!!!'

If women's sport wants to be put it on equal footing its inadequacies and failures by its own hand also need to be discussed.

Pedantic

Jun 7, 2016
It's more hit and miss in the past couple of years. The inability to criticise women's teams when they deserve it sticks out.

In 2019 the Matildas didn't do nearly as well as they should have in the World Cup but there wasn't any criticism it was still 'Yay girllls!!!!!'

If women's sport wants to be put it on equal footing its inadequacies and failures by its own hand also need to be discussed.
And if anything that decision should be more heavily criticised now with the wonders Stajcic has done turning around Central Coast in the A-League. But you're right -- crickets.

Sep 24, 2008
MuMuLand
Celtic, West Perth, Glory, S'Roos
It's the story of the season really but nothing mentioned at all so far. Maybe because he left the Matildas. Nothing on Heather Reid being turfed too.

Feb 5, 2004

It works best when the panel are not journos whose paychecks depend on official accreditation. Waleed Aly isn't to everyone's taste, but he or Gideon Haigh will happily call out something for criticism when everyone else is happy to toe the party line or indulge in group-think.

Sep 27, 2008
Chelsea, Black Caps, Subiaco
Since when did this show become the women's sport version of Offsiders?

Today they spent the majority of the show talking about women's soccer, women's cricket, some female jockey and the women's AFL and then in the last few minutes had a quick discussion about the men's AFL and NRL.

They should seriously have two versions of Offsiders, one for women's sport and one for men's sport as the show has become a joke with how much women's sport they shoehorn into the show these days just to appear to be woke and politically correct.

Mentallo

Apr 23, 2005
Your minds eye.
Pittsburgh Penguins
I have said for a few years now you should be able to opt out of funding the ABC on your tax return each year.
Then again they do great shows like Employable Me and Love on the Spectrum.

Apr 28, 2008
Arsenal Kilmarnock
Since when did this show become the women's sport version of Offsiders?

Today they spent the majority of the show talking about women's soccer, women's cricket, some female jockey and the women's AFL and then in the last few minutes had a quick discussion about the men's AFL and NRL.

They should seriously have two versions of Offsiders, one for women's sport and one for men's sport as the show has become a joke with how much women's sport they shoehorn into the show these days just to appear to be woke and politically correct.
Tactless choice of week to make this example. The Matildas were handily beaten last night in Gustavsson's first game as their head coach, two years out from a home world cup. The cricket team have in the last week played some ODIs and T20s against the Kiwis. And the AFLW had their Grand Final qualifiers yesterday after last year's GF qualifiers were cancelled due to Covid. W-League grand final also a couple hours after show.

The NRL and AFL seasons are also a few rounds in so one can also assume they had indulgent Offsiders specials very recently.

I get it, sometimes they 'disproportionately' focus on womens sport (especially netball which doesn't merit a chunk of the show almost every week), just think you fumbled the week to tee off bud.

Sep 27, 2008
Chelsea, Black Caps, Subiaco
Tactless choice of week to make this example. The Matildas were handily beaten last night in Gustavsson's first game as their head coach, two years out from a home world cup. The cricket team have in the last week played some ODIs and T20s against the Kiwis. And the AFLW had their Grand Final qualifiers yesterday after last year's GF qualifiers were cancelled due to Covid.

The NRL and AFL seasons are also a few rounds in so one can also assume they had indulgent Offsiders specials very recently.

I get it, sometimes they 'disproportionately' focus on womens sport (especially netball which doesn't merit a chunk of the show almost every week), just think you fumbled the week to tee off bud.

It wasn't just the show this week. it's been trending that way for a while with women's sport getting a disproportionate share of coverage, today it was just more noticeable than usual.

I used to be a regular watcher of this show back when Barrie Cassidy hosted it but it is barely worth watching these days.

It wasn't just the show this week. it's been trending that way for a while with women's sport getting a disproportionate share of coverage, today it was just more noticeable than usual.

I used to be a regular watcher of this show back when Barrie Cassidy hosted it but it is barely worth watching these days.
I don't find it a must-watch either these days, but maybe the show isn't aimed solely at the likes of us like it used to be. That's not necessarily a bad thing.

nobbyiscool

WWE Board Goosed Sweet F.A Sikh Volunteers Charity Match Tasmanian Team NFL Fantasy Comp Champion Armchair Endzone Major Comp Champion
Aug 11, 2006
I have said for a few years now you should be able to opt out of funding the ABC on your tax return each year.
Then again they do great shows like Employable Me and Love on the Spectrum.

Great idea. Where does it end? I could choose not to fund schools for other people's kids. I could choose not to fund hospitals for other people's parents. I could choose not to contribute middle-class welfare to greedy boomers.

I love it! I could get myself down to only contributing to the ABC, SBS and roads!

Mentallo

Apr 23, 2005
Your minds eye.
Pittsburgh Penguins
Great idea. Where does it end? I could choose not to fund schools for other people's kids. I could choose not to fund hospitals for other people's parents. I could choose not to contribute middle-class welfare to greedy boomers.

I love it! I could get myself down to only contributing to the ABC, SBS and roads!

You do understand their is a very significant difference between education / health and a television network?
Why not publicly fund all the television stations?
I am sure it would exist just fine as a commercial network just like all the others do.