Oh Wayne....

• Thread starter Thread starter roobie

R

roobie

Hi, I'm new to this forum but like so many of you I came from the other one. I am now under a new name because my old one is being used by someone else (grrr). I have enjoyed reading the witty and insightful posts here and even enjoyed reading the rest of them. I hope to be a good contributor, too. I know a lot of you are from the other forum and use new names and I think I recognise some of you - its a little game I play!!
Anyway, re: the Roos I just wanted to say something about Wayne, our most beloved leader who has given us soooo many memorable and sweet moments. I always knew that it had to end and for the last couple of years I have tried to prepare myself but it's useless. I dread your final game. More to the point though...I know that there is no-one more disappointed with you at the moment than you. Enough said about that. I believe you have decided to play on with us under enormous pressure to your body and soul. I believe that you have risked ending your career NOT at the top, NOT being able to play your best but I believe you have decided the club's need for you to be there is greater than you personal need for glory. Once again, you lead us as a team man not an individual. I believe that not many outside of the Roos will acknowledge this but I do, for what it is worth. Good luck at the tribunal and GO Roos.

I am not sure whether I wrote it on a forum or said it to someone else last week, but I pointed out that Carey's actions were similar to 1994. If we all remember, he was sighted for about 3 different close calls before finally being picked up and outed for an offence.
His close calls this year have been similar and set him up and I was just waiting for him to be nabbed. Maybe its just dissapointment or frustration. Either way, I hope that he gets off and can pound those Tigers into the dirt.

------------------
MOTI

Without sounding too positive I have seen some other video of the "incident" taken from below the feet of the players (ie perpendicular to the popular video) and it appears to show careys elbow slip on the ground away from his body as johnson is landing on careys arm which has the effect of pushing his fist into johnsons zygoma. It doesn't look like carey is throwing a punch unless he has the ability to hold his arm up as his body hits the gound and punch johnson whilst supporting his head !

We shall see.

------------------
"victoria amat curam" (Victory demands dedication)

Originally posted by kmartkid:
Without sounding too positive I have seen some other video of the "incident" taken from below the feet of the players (ie perpendicular to the popular video) and it appears to show careys elbow slip on the ground away from his body as johnson is landing on careys arm which has the effect of pushing his fist into johnsons zygoma. It doesn't look like carey is throwing a punch unless he has the ability to hold his arm up as his body hits the gound and punch johnson whilst supporting his head !

We shall see.

That's how I saw the incident on the night. the fact that TOOL remonstrated after the 'knock' may not go over to well. I hope it's thrown out....where's the biomechanics expert...

Also, being in the field there would not have been enough force in the blow to cause a fracture and having spoken to some of the people involved in repairing the fracture I believe it was caused by johnsons cheek hitting the top of Byrons shoulder - a very common cause of this type of fracture.

Carey had no idea what johnson was so pissed about after the incident and as johnson is not an a**hole I couldn't imagine that carey would even think about hitting him !

------------------

Originally posted by kmartkid:
Also, being in the field there would not have been enough force in the blow to cause a fracture and having spoken to some of the people involved in repairing the fracture I believe it was caused by johnsons cheek hitting the top of Byrons shoulder - a very common cause of this type of fracture.

Carey had no idea what johnson was so pissed about after the incident and as johnson is not an a**hole I couldn't imagine that carey would even think about hitting him !

Do you guys really take yourselves seriously sprouting that kind of nonsense.

He hit him in the face - pure and simple
Not very hard but he still did it

He will get two weeks

Be prepared for it.

Well let me just say this. If I was Wayne Carey, I would have snoted about sixty people by now. I dont care what the hell he gets paid for running out on the ground each week, the crap this guy has had to put up with for the last 7 years would make me want to jump the fence and smack a few heads together every week. And spit, those morons over there know what spitting is all about, they only have to open their mouths and more than spit froths out of it, and they do it when they are here in Vic or over there. They talk about there clean city, and that is only because they come over here and mess ours up. What about the crap he has to take up in Sydney, another pack of morons, I have been there I have seen them they are an absolute disgrace. In Perth they are no better and then you see that other Moron McKenna for PM showing off about how he goes to the football and gives heaps to Carey when he plays in Brisbane. Then there are all the teams here in Melb, who will forget StKilda in the night Grand Final with their chant, at least he turned the tables on them that night, those poor stupid women laughing and screaming out to him and then the next thing you see them all crying because they didnt win the Ansett Cup, god I felt sorry for them.
biggrin.gif
: Then last year the Melbourne supporters, dont they realise tahat each and everyone of these teams have someone in them that opposition supporters hate, but do you see the Kanga supporters carrying on like a bunch of idiots, and dont tell me there is not enough of us to do it, yes we could, but we go to watch the football, not spend all of our night doing the little girly chants that they all carry on with. If Wayne Carey has decided to give it back to these idiots then I say good on him. He is just one person giving it back to thousands that have giving it to him over seven years, and I will defend him for as long as he steps out onto a football field. I would have walked away years ago, not all the money in the world would make me put up with the crap that he has had to put up with. The standard of football today is thanks to the likes of Carey and the Kangaroos, for years footballers and their teams have been watching us and taking it into their games each year. I like our Captain and our club and I am grateful that he has played for us and I have had the pleasure of saying he plays for my team and watching him every week, give me him above Buckley or Hird any day. Football today is lacking something, it seems that the only time the players have any balls out on the ground today, is when they have that oval one with VW on it. This is not one of those "I love my club I love my captain" posts, It is a "I am sick to death fo all the crap that is handed out to Carey post". If you ever see a woman being dragged away by the Police (Hello Eric) then that will be me, I think I am about to join the King and start giving it back to them.

ummm Daphne, if you have something to say, just say it. Don't sugar coat it.
rolleyes.gif

But you get my vote for passion!
I have never ever heard another player in all my years cop the shit he does.... but maybe it's because I have never ever seen another player as great as him before.
They really are just jealous. And now that Wayne is in his twilight years as a footballer, they feel they have a right to try to inflict as much pain on him now, as he has on their teams over the last 7 years. But as usual, Carey wins, hands down.
biggrin.gif

Wonderful bloke, best player ever - still reckon he will get a week for it.

Wayne's gotta pull his head in a bit and not get frustrated, instead let his footy do the talking. When you're the best in the business, as he has been for years, you don't need to put yourself in a position where you can be scrutinised.
Especially after a lot of close calls (most recently the one with Dunkley), he should be a lot more careful.

I think he will get a week, what I am saying is he shouldn't !

The suspension will be determined by prior convictions.

I still say it was vitually impossible for him to actually throw a punch from the position he was in.

------------------

And I can't think of a better game (Richmond) to let all our passion and hatred out towards the opposition team and supporters!

GO ROO BOYS!

------------------
Objects in the side mirror may appear dumber than they really are.

Basically for me, I have the them and us mentallity, I hate them all, but yeah Richmond has to be at the top of that list, who will forget the Finals game when they all turned up with those little flags and waved them at us, I remember thinking what a big night the cleaners would be having after they all threw them under their seats after the game. And you can be sure that you will see more police (do they have police at colonial?) or crowd controllers at this game.

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 02 May 2001).]

Originally posted by Daphne:
Basically for me, I have the them and us mentallity, I hate them all, but yeah Richmond has to be at the top of that list, who will forget the Finals game when they all turned up with those little flags and waved them at us, I remember thinking what a big night the cleaners would be having after they all threw them under their seats after the game. And you can be sure that you will see more police (do they have police at colonial?) or crowd controllers at this game.

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 02 May 2001).]

Here is a quote from the man himself in the Herald Sun Column

"So many times I've been asked who are the most vocal supporters and I say the Eagles and the Crows. But that's not to say I don't like them.

On Saturday the Crow fans got into me during the game but were friendly after it. They wanted autographs, pictures taken, and said bad luck when I caught up with friends for a drink after the game.

Those same people will get into the Kangaroos next time we play, but that's not a problem. If we didn't have the passion from the stands, you'd find there wouldn't be a lot of passion on the ground"

Hear hear Wayne! I think that says it all.

Good to know we are the most vocal fans.

WC fans probably have that rep with Wanyne solely due to McKenna for PM
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

------------------
"That'll do, THAT will do...Unbelievable Darren"
Bruce... September 1997

Originally posted by Jars458:

Here is a quote from the man himself in the Herald Sun Column

"So many times I've been asked who are the most vocal supporters and I say the Eagles and the Crows. But that's not to say I don't like them.

On Saturday the Crow fans got into me during the game but were friendly after it. They wanted autographs, pictures taken, and said bad luck when I caught up with friends for a drink after the game.

Those same people will get into the Kangaroos next time we play, but that's not a problem. If we didn't have the passion from the stands, you'd find there wouldn't be a lot of passion on the ground"

Hear hear Wayne! I think that says it all.

Good to know we are the most vocal fans.

WC fans probably have that rep with Wanyne solely due to McKenna for PM
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

What the hell has this got to do with this post. But I would like to point out that he did leave out a few words here, the most vocal when they are winning. And I wouldnt expect anything less of Wayne, than what he has said in that article. What, you read something like this and you realise what kind of a person he really is.