Johnny_3

I don't know why other clubs aren't doing this but both Sentanta and Aisake look like awesome finds and i have big wraps on both of them.
Sentanta is a 199cm speed machine, lacking skills but they will come with time. He isn't skinny which is a plus. He looks like the ultimate athlete and in 2 years time he will be one of the best in the AFL IMO. Next year the kid will learn the game a bit better, and at only 23 his got a whole career ahead of him.
And Aisake, although listed at 199, he is a few cm taller than his brother and much quicker which is just amazing considering his size. He is 21 and while he is only learning is progressing real quick. Many say he is much better than his brother and can play ruck back or forward. The ultimate player considering we're lacking talls in the ruck and in defense. A handy inclusion into the late 2007 early 2008 side.

Does anyone have as big a wraps on them as me?

The last few games he seemed to be reading the play quite well and backing himself which is great. As I'd rather see him have a crack at running through the lines and make things happen, then just follow his opponent around.

So yes, I'm really excited about his next year, I think it will give us an indication of whether or not this experiment has worked.

As I'm in Sydney I have to watch all our games on TV, so you can't really get an idea of what's going on off the ball i.e. positioning/ leading which is what I'd like to know - how is he going with this?

Haven't seen anything of his brother unfortunately.

I don't know why other clubs aren't doing this but both Sentanta and Aisake look like awesome finds and i have big wraps on both of them.
Sentanta is a 199cm speed machine, lacking skills but they will come with time. He isn't skinny which is a plus. He looks like the ultimate athlete and in 2 years time he will be one of the best in the AFL IMO. Next year the kid will learn the game a bit better, and at only 23 his got a whole career ahead of him.
And Aisake, although listed at 199, he is a few cm taller than his brother and much quicker which is just amazing considering his size. He is 21 and while he is only learning is progressing real quick. Many say he is much better than his brother and can play ruck back or forward. The ultimate player considering we're lacking talls in the ruck and in defense. A handy inclusion into the late 2007 early 2008 side.

Does anyone have as big a wraps on them as me?

They're pretty freaking great.

Aisake should end up better, if everything goes well with injuries. Amazing athlete and he is starting to get a feel for the game.

Love those Irish Lads. Have never seen Aisake play however, but i love the romanticism around it :)

Setanta developed incredibly well this year under pressure. His game against Hall showed how good his attitude is. His skills are coming along nicely as well... i remember one game, he got the ball, went for a run, and did this wonderful looping handball, would have been about 20-25 metres to someone running through traffic and hit the target on the chest. Incredible to watch!

hopefully they will be stars for our club for a long while yet. I hope the club sticks with them, for two main reasons.
1. They have talent and and are wonderful athletes.
2. They have incredible attitudes, and this is what makes or breaks AFL players - it separates the good from the great. no good having talent if you dont have the right attitude, as only we know from past experiences with Norman/Angwin etc.

GO BLUES!

I really thought the way Setanta finished off the year well, and hopefully his improvement will continue next year as well. Still alot to learn, but things are looking ok this stage.

As for Aisake, can't say i've seen him play yet, but he also sounds like a good long term prospect.

Because of my location i get to see alot of Aisake so i know why people are saying his better then his brother. He will take a huge pack mark, run down a forward pocket then get a tapout straight to a midfielder all in the space of a minute or two. The only problem is he will do nothing for the rest of the match. I really hope he gets a full year in the Bullants and spends alot of time with a Whitnall or someone who can teach him the game.
What also love to see Carlton do is look alot harder at the best Irish talent instead of taking a player at pick 70 or 80 in the drafts.

Because of my location i get to see alot of Aisake so i know why people are saying his better then his brother. He will take a huge pack mark, run down a forward pocket then get a tapout straight to a midfielder all in the space of a minute or two. The only problem is he will do nothing for the rest of the match. I really hope he gets a full year in the Bullants and spends alot of time with a Whitnall or someone who can teach him the game.
What also love to see Carlton do is look alot harder at the best Irish talent instead of taking a player at pick 70 or 80 in the drafts.
risky and i wouldnt want to do it too much cause a team needs smarts not only talent. But it is handy and fantistic to have 2 or 3 similar players with such great talent in the lineup

Awesome!!!!!!
The second part is a slight concern, but i'm sure this will improve as he learns more about the game.

Aisake looks about 4 cm taller than Setanta, but shares his brothers unbelievable athleticism and attitude. Aisake looks more of a natural ruckman, and has a massive leap. For some reason he also has had a very good left foot kick from early on. Many rate Aisake even above Setanta talent wise. Will take another year or so before he acquires the strength and bulk to compete at AFL level, but I wouldn't be surprised if he gets elevated off the Rookie list late next year. :)

His definently bulky enough, alot bigger than most older draftees and alot more exciting. And yeah he is heaps taller than his older brother. WHAT A FAMILY, do u reckon if they had a 11 year old brother we should draft him now as well. teach him the smarts early :)

they have an older brother who is a completely different build to both carlos and aisake. he trained with us for a short time 2 seasons back. he is stockier and shorter.

i hope they both turn out to be guns but realisticly setanta still has a long way to go and little bro may never even develop into a senior footballer.

Hope to god i'm wrong but i just don't wanna see to much hype on the kids and then it all backfire, it would kill me to see these trwo monsters playing out their days at the Ants

they have an older brother who is a completely different build to both carlos and aisake. he trained with us for a short time 2 seasons back. he is stockier and shorter.

The only reason Seán Óg was training with Carlton (was it this time 2 years ago?) was to spend some time with his brothers and see how a prefessional team trains..

Seán is an amazing natural athlete and was the Cork captain last year in Hurling... he used to be a dual player (ie played competitive Football and Hurling for Cork) and an International Rules player... brilliant at any sports he takes up (hate people like that :)) but will never play AFL as he's too old !

Isn't Setanta's rookie contract up at the moment - did he get offered another contract?

The only reason Seán Óg was training with Carlton (was it this time 2 years ago?) was to spend some time with his brothers and see how a prefessional team trains..

Seán is an amazing natural athlete and was the Cork captain last year in Hurling... he used to be a dual player (ie played competitive Football and Hurling for Cork) and an International Rules player... brilliant at any sports he takes up (hate people like that :)) but will never play AFL as he's too old !

Isn't Setanta's rookie contract up at the moment - did he get offered another contract?

Setanta isn't a rookie... Do you mean Aisake? If so, he still has one more year as an International rookie.

Watch out for Teu...the fourth brother.
Possibly here to play "recreational" footy in 2007.
rec footy sucks more balls than paris hilton. Which according to her isn't many but still it is the absolute worst. Hopefully teu realises that and comes to carlton :).. anyone have his stats?

imagine another O'hAilpin !

Setanta, Aisake, Sean Og ....

we've all seen the great strides both Setanta and Aisake have made - they are athletic footballing machines !

I say we freeze o'Hailpins semen for future use, in order to create more of these amazing, athletic, footballing prototypes !

Is it the oldest brother or a younger one? I'm pretty sure the brother who came and trained at the club for a few weeks last year was 28.

Hey MM3,

I think Teu is the second boy off the ranks, then Setanta and Aisake.
2 girls are also in there somewhere

C4...."I say we freeze o'Hailpins semen for future use, in order to create more of these amazing, athletic, footballing prototypes !"

Yeah mate, we keep the male genes, we give the female genes as a gift to the Wobbles :)

Setanta isn't a rookie... Do you mean Aisake? If so, he still has one more year as an International rookie.

wasn't setanta on a 2 year rookie contract? or does he get a new contract the minute he moves to the senior team.... I haven't heard anything about him getting a new contract and was just wondering where he stood !