Ok come clean, what mementos are you keeping of 2000?

• Thread starter Thread starter RICE80SF

RICE80SF

Come on we all do it, don't we? What have you kept or bought as a reminder of the near perfect season?

I bought and kept every Melbourne, Sunday and Monday paper after the win and also any season wrap ups they had during the week. Also Inside Football's GF review. Kept a copy of The Age Sports section on Monday after Roos and Carlton final games. Oh and of course the GF record, and Weg poster (that reminds me I gotta get that laminated).

As well I taped every final and Dad gave me the C7 (no ads and replays of goals) GF replay on tape. Plan to buy the season highlights, which is already out on sale (anyone seen it yet?). Bought one of the 2000 premiers caps that the guys wore after the GF, but the black peaked ones look a bit cooler
cool.gif
, so got one of those.

Umm that's about it. Kept alot of stuff from '93 as well (the season highlights is always a good viewing) and still have the '84 and '85 GF videos. So come on tell me what you've kept or am I the only sad case?

On a sad note
frown.gif
, aint it tragic to see the last of that great, fair, gifted player, Frazer Brown
rolleyes.gif
(sarcasm overload). Good riddens dickhead. Oh and didn't O'Reilly and Mansfield work out well, ones gone and the other won't be far behind him
biggrin.gif

Cheers.

------------------
RED & BLACK BACK to BACK 2001!

Shinners, you must have some items circa '96,'99 and those flares wouldn't be the only thing in the old wardrobe you hung onto from the 70's
smile.gif

Cheers.

[This message has been edited by RICE80SF (edited 20 October 2000).]

I don't have anything from the 70s because I was too young. I only really started to support North from 1978 onwards, with 1979 the first year where I followed them week after week.

I do have plenty of momentoes from 1996 and 1999....newspaper clippings, videos, footy record, magazines, pins, posters.....the Grand Final ticket....it's really not that much different from what you guys probably did post-Grand Final

At Arden Street after the '98 Grand Final, most of us were joking about how we could now save money by not having to buy all the merchandise and memorabilia!

ive still got my GF and PF tickets, a bunch of WEG posters, the vidoes of all three finals, plus about 6-7 regular season games.
Ive got a 2000 "millenium poster" that I bought at windy hill s shop, I have that blockmount thing with Premiers 2000 on it and all the pics etc, plus all the photos I took at the GF, and at Windy Hill during the week at training.

Im pretty well stocked.
Actually could anyone over there possibly score me one of those "Dont fool yourself- Sheeds Kills" bumper stickers- as I forgot to grab one when I was over there !!!!

A.

got all the papers, a few weg posters
got about 20 of the grand finalist posters that the h/sun released that my mate who works at a newsagency got for me
rice i got the bomberblitz video (cant they think of another name) from 2000, its very good but the 93 one is better because its got the commentary from bomber inbetween games.
taped the game
brought a record at the game and got another one from a friend
premiership cap
premiership tshirt
managed to get a photo with j.blumfield and he was kind enough to let me wear his medal
and also managed to get a photo or two with my hands on the cup
got fletch to sign my b&f ticket
kept all my finals tickets
yeah i managed to get a couple of sheeds kills stickers but they seemed to have all dried up
i also want to get one of those premiership watches they sell at the bombershop- they look pretty good

I have heaps of stuff: (not as much as some, but hey, I can't help living in the country!)
*Huge Premiership poster
*Grand Final, which I taped, plus the news afterwards
*Premiers T-shirt
*All the P'ship posters from the age and herald sun. My wall is extremely full, with them and the front of all the newspapers, and their sport sections after we won!
*All articles on Essendon from the Herald Sun, from all year (I have a HUGE box!! and it's full!) and that includes papers from september 3rd (of course!)
*Edition of Footy Show where Lloyd got the football back
*Edition of Footy Show with Lloyd's 100th game
*Lloyd's Ton Of Class poster
*Team picture from the book in the Herald earlier in the year, where you bought the picture and stuck it in
*The Sunday Footy Show on the 3rd September
*All your regular stuff - jumper (#18 of course!) scarf, beanie, badges, t-shirt (not the premiership one, i have 2 shirts), clock, cup, yoyo (?! it was mum's when she was a kid) ornament of a nut which says I'm an Essendon nut, old calender (from 98), a few old Bomber magazines
*Grand Final record (although didn't go to the game! :-( I live 3hrs from Melbourne!)
*Glory and Fame magazine
*A ton of MP3 files, of mainly Lloyd, either game highlights or interviews with him, and both club songs, downloaded on the computer
*33 (to be precise!) pictures of Lloyd framed or displayed in my bedroom

I'm pretty loaded...there's probably other stuff which I have forgot to mention. I'm also considering buying the Qualifying Final from Name-a-Game. I missed that match, I was at the local footy! But don't worry, I listened to it on the radio, and was only home for the last bit of the 3rd quarter, and last quarter highlights. which sucked - it wasn't live anyway so they might as well have shown the whole last quarter

yeah thanks for that doggies, how does it feel to be the team that made essendon realise the job wasnt done and made them refocus?????
if we had of won that game, there is a great doubt that we wouldnt have won the flag

so thanks a lot
as for round 21 its only ever going to be a trivia question that no one will care about because in the end we have the 2000 premiership cup, making it 15 more than the bulldogs have

Unfortunately so far from this year I only have the weg poster (thanks Arch)& the footy record, but I will be getting more. But I've got a photo of me holding the 1993 Fosters Cup & the 1993 Premiership Cup, my son aged 7 sitting in between the 84 & 85 Premiership Cups, plus a whole houseful of memorabilia I have collected over the many years. M/ship medallions, tickets, footy records, sew on names that used to be on my duffle coat, you name it. Most of it is in boxes because I haven't got enough room to display everything.

------------------
Mantis

Rice80sf
If you are going to bag Fraser Brown at least learn how to spell his name. You moron!
If Fraser was a thug what the bloody hell do you think Wallis was?
Talent? Fraser would crap all over Wallis. And of course he proved that with style didn't he? Match winning tackle in the '99 prelim? Remember it? Should have told Dean to kick the ball instead of trying to be a big hero.
Perfect tackle, Fraser, just perfect!

Personally I've got a few little tidbits of momentos - the usual stuff - posters, videos, footy records etc.

But got to mention the EFC hardsell, get home from 2 weeks in the US to find 5 messages on my messagebank from Essendon about GF merchandise and another call on Monday night about buying Sheedy signed $75 port. Turn it up guys!!!!! That will teach me for buying a book of raffle tickets - once.

Off this topic but still EFC related - something which may interest you guys may be in the offing if a potential business arrangement that Max Power put into place while I was in the US comes through. Can't divuldge too much at this stage!!!!

[This message has been edited by Max Power (edited 25 October 2000).]

Yo Bitch!

Yeah I remember it well, but what's happened since that stupendous day for Blues fans. Let's see now, you dicks forgot there was another game the next week, didn't even play half as good, you celebrated winning JACK SHIT at your post GF party. You chose to use commentary of the last 5 minutes of the Prelim. as Hold noise for the club phones, hmm classy touch that, gracious in victory as usual.

This season your team plays well, shame about "curly turd" Fraser (ooh I got it right, it hurt so that I got it wrong
biggrin.gif
) he has a shitfull year and goes out to try and break Misiti's jaw while he's at it. THUG on and off the field, and how's his taxes going now? Ends on a high point of retiring, yeah right, sacked in truth.

Meanwhile at Bomberland we win sweet 16, break the "Dads Army" record of '95 with one loss by 11 points. Wally has an excellent season at CHB and if he quits tomorrow he's a dual day and night premiership player, but I suspect he'll go on and grab his third next year.

So from where I'm standing Wally doesn't exactly look like a loser to me, but then I don't stick up for a Pig President who sexually assaults women. You got zero cred. bitch.

Later Bitch.

------------------
RED & BLACK BACK to BACK 2001!

Rice...
Gee, I love taking the piss out of you bomber supporters. It never fails as soon as you mention Wallis and Fraser you get all defensive. Me thinks you doth protest too much! Yeah, poor old Fraser the thug. Never ever saw him try to punch out an 18 year old kid while some other team mate held him so he couldn't move though. You wouldn't happen to know someone like that would you?
BTW thanks for reminding me that we lost the '99 GF. Especially seeing it was to a team we actually part own! I suppose even though we lost we still won, didn't we! And another thing we did not celebrate at the post GF party it was very sombre atmosphere. Believe me, I was there. Oh, but it did lighten up when we remembered the look on the Essendon players faces as they left the ground the previous week. Tell me something, ricey, were you one of the bomber fans who threw their badges and scarves away after that game? Shame, shame. It doesn't matter what game Carlton loses our supporters would never ever do that.

PS. If Wally does continue next year. He's got a few weeks suspension to serve first hasn't he? People in glass houses, ricey, people in glass houses.

------------------
The Blues. The best in the business.

[This message has been edited by Bitch (edited 25 October 2000).]

bitch wallis also has two premiership medals, soon to be three
he was part of a team that broke carltons record for most wins in a season, he was part of a team that equaled carltons record of premierships
he was part of a team that is the greatest ever
cant say that much for brown

Rice it has always astounded me why carlton people idolise fraser brown

maybe for the same reasons we (i) idolise wally

as for the 99 prelim, what did carlton accomplish, it was one win that went no further, all it did was raise the spirits and expecations of carlton players, staff and fans, both of these were shattered in round 20
but on the other hand look what it did for essendon
increased membership by 5000
increased merchandise sales by more than 1000000 units
increased profit an enourmous amount
and gave us the desire to win the 2000 premiership in a season that re-wrote football history for ever

Momentoes?

Bittersweet I'm afraid for 2000... just found out my Dad, a life long Bomber fanatic (Billy Hutchinson, Coleman, Clarke, ND, TW & James Hird his all time fav's) has just had a massive heart attack and is on full life support in ICU - not expected to make it.

Puts footy, even premierships in prospective for me, him and our family. Might see you around as I'm probably coming home soon for a while to help my mum.

Chris

Very sorry to hear that Dutch.
I sincerely hope your Dad pulls through OK.
Certainly does put all the footy stuff back into perspective, family is Numero Uno.

I was the same in the finals when I had a family incident, nothing to compare to yours mind you, but it did put footy way, way down on the list of priorities.

All the best for your dad, you and the rest of your family.

Yours sincerely,
Adam.

Chris,

What can I say? I didn't know whether to reply or not, but I've decided to just to let you know that my (and I'm sure everyones) thoughts and prayers are with your dad and your family. That just blew me away. It surely does put things into perpective, and nothing I do or say will make you feel any better, so all i can do is wish your dad a speedy recovery, and your family all the best.

Con