ok fellow pies i say enough is enough!!!

Oct 4, 2000
melb vic aust
I will be ringing the collingwood football club 9am monday morning 03 9419 9222.

Re The disgusting Darren Millane jokes that are allowed to be posted on this board.

I am one of those hardened collingwood supporters that has seen a lot of heartbreak concerning this great club'life goes on'

I dont care much for the day to day collingwood jokes shit some of them are funny.

But i will not sit back and allow sick individuals to come on here humiliating
the dead.

Where is the respect on here!!

I want 2 things to occur as a result of this very sad and sick lack of respect.

I demand that post and all other posts concerning the humiliation of the great Darren Millane R.I.P to be taken off immediately.

I want an apology from the moderator or moderators for allowing this to happen.

Collingwood people ring the club tomorrow and protest strongly.

And remember protest loud and strong!!!

And THEY call collingwood supporters scum!!

I can understand you being upset and yes it was a distasteful thing. But, unfortunately there is nothing the club will be able to do, and neither is the forum moderator obliged to do anything.

The freedom of speech that ppl so widely and freely claim encompases comments/jokes as you mentioned above. You can't have it both ways.

You may feel that apologies or retractions are owed, but that doesn't mean you will get them. Ask for them, stating your case, instead of demanding, and you may get some results.

yes but DANII,the moderators can delete something that is not an appropriate topic or comment and as far as all collingwood supporters are concerned those sort of comments are not appropriate and the moderator should have realised and done something about it before it got out of hand as it is now.

LATERZ

SAV IS SEXY-->36 UNTIL FOREVER-->ROCCA BROS ROCK MY WORLD!!!!

ah danni- the sombre voice of reason as always
smile.gif

sorry for being so 'sombre' Arch - but it is fact.

And there is simply no obligation for the club or moderator to do something about it. You can argue black and blue that the moderator should have known and thus deleted it, but then comes the fact that there is no obligation for the moderator to be a mind reader.

All I am saying is that if you want an apology - ask - don't demand - or you have no chance. How does the moderator know you aren't happy unless you tell him?

Ill tell you what, you can expect your apology as soon as you apologise for this

remember social misfit scums it has to be fair game!!
[This message has been edited by magpie_joffa (edited 06 October 2000).][/B]

And this

Originally posted by magpie_joffa:
yeah..go pie girl

Dont take these uneducated misfits too seriously piegirl!!!

ima just pissen myself larfin at all the crap on here, especially when they start
cryin to bluey just goes to show how piss weak they really are!!!!

Need i go on

So dont come here and threaten everyone on this board including bluey because you are upset by what someone said.

Seems to me have have a bit of the
"Pot calling the kettle black"
Symptons

No one here including JUBJUB is proud of what was written,but dont you dare threaten anyone

As Dannie said ask NICELY

For the rest of the collingwood supporters i am going on record saying that i am not attacking your club nor the rest of you, just joffa for posting this

At least when we bag your clubs we dont go making jokes about players that have passed away do we!
And I or any other collingwood supporter for that matter would never go that low!

Originally posted by Mags:
At least when we bag your clubs we dont go making jokes about players that have passed away do we!
And I or any other collingwood supporter for that matter would never go that low!

Nor would anyone else on this board bar JUBJUB

But Mags could you ever ever ever be held blameless for laughing at something that may be offensive to someone else? Have you never found your self saying something like " I really shouldn't laught but...."

It is the same thing. Do you think that maybe some blonde ppl in the world are offended by the blonde jokes? Do you think that this is the first time that joke has been made about someone who is no longer with us??

For example - the screen saver that travelled the world by email that when installed showed an underwater blur on your screen. It was titled, 'How JFK Jnr's laptop now looks'. It is a part of life. And if you are offended by something, in a situation where you have a chance of doing something about it - like this message board - then do it the right way - email the moderator. If you don't get satisfaction or reasonable explanation (and that means reasonable - not just that you didn't get your way) in a reasonable amount of time - then come out with guns blazing and demands. To do so before does nothing but antagonise.

ummmm.......those cmments SABRE are nothing like the ones made about darren millane!!!

so put off the act about ra ra apologise to us first and we'll apologise to you,just cut it out we r not in primary school anymore,things that were said about "PANTS" are totally not wanted and have hurt us pies supporters deeply and thats why we r taking it seriously cause you just dont make jokes outta those sort of things its not on!!!!

LATERZ

SAV IS SEXY-->36 UNTIL FOREVER-->ROCCA BROS ROCK MY WORLD!!!!

Rocasbabe

I'm not apologising for that,i dont say it nor did i enter the topic

I have already said i didn't like it

Joffa of all people shouldn't come out and demand apologises espcially when he owes a few.

Forget this crap about ,"you go first"
Now thats primary school material

Dont attack the board nor bluey because what one maybe 2 people said.

And again like Danni said freedom of speach,it may be in poor taste
But unless it isn't true then there is very little you can do about it

Ask alf
He might be able to explain it to you

Whats This Say In The User Policy?
Any user who feels that a posted message is objectionable is encouraged to contact us immediately by email. We have the ability to remove objectionable messages and we will make every effort to do so, within a reasonable time frame, if we determine that removal is necessary. This is a manual process, however, so please realize that we may not be able to remove or edit particular messages immediately.

We Pie Fans Would Like All Stuff About Millane Taken Off The Site Plz Bluey!

And just as it says in that quote Mags - contact by email - don't come on here with guns blazing making demands when you can't be held faultless for anything that may have offended someone else.

Mags

Sorry mate legal action isn't possible.

If legal action was, im thinking you had better start saving because you will probally cop your fair share

It might not be as bad but it is degrading never the less

Mags - Legal action or should I say - win-able legal action is not possible. You could waste all the money you wanted in hiring lawyers, solicitors, barristers, it wouldn't change it.

Had this been posted on the Collingwood "official" site, had there still been a formal link between the 'name' and the club, had the posting been left there, and then found offensive by his executors or family - then maybe a chance - but not here.

To trivialise the matter - and yes I know that sounds terrible but for want of a better word it is unfortunate - it is a case of don't dish it out if you can't take it.

Had the new Collingwood supporters not come on here with guns blazing, taking every bait, making baits of their own, used foul and offensive language, personal insults in retaliation to generalisations about a club, this would never had happened.

To take effective legal action (even if it was remotely possible to do so) would put all footy fans on this message board under scrutiny to see if there was any premise to such a 'bad' joke to be made. And under the circumstances - that is all it was - it had no unprovoked malicious intent. Had it come out of no where you may have been able to do something as an individual. But that is all.

You guys came on here and dished out heaps - the language and inuendos were terrible. And now something - bad taste as it may be - has offended you and you cry 'let's take legal action' - not gonna happen buddy - unless you were a winner of powerball last week and wanna waste your money on that.

Originally posted by Danni:

And there is simply no obligation for the club or moderator to do something about it. You can argue black and blue that the moderator should have known and thus deleted it, but then comes the fact that there is no obligation for the moderator to be a mind reader.

All I am saying is that if you want an apology - ask - don't demand - or you have no chance. How does the moderator know you aren't happy unless you tell him?

Danni,

I didn't know Bluey had a helper to decide which threads should or should not be closed.

I agree that the club won't do anything, but there have been much "lighter" threads started here lately that have been removed.

I don't really care if I get kicked off the BB for this, but, Sorry Bluey, you have seriously let your self down this time. Maybe the ones you did delete or close deserved it, BUT, to have seen the sick joke made about a former player who was tragically killed and seeing that it undoubtedly had over stepped the mark, should have had something click in your head!

Also JUBJUB, you can plainly see that you have offended ALL Collingwood supporters as well as other supporters, we DO demand (not ask as Sabre wants us to do!) an apology from yourself! Dont think we will let this issue go that quickly

WE ARE WAITING!!!!!!!!!!!

Comon CJ

I dont agree with you their

Bluey did close the thread

Not imediately i agree,but bluey may have been away at the time and closed it as soon as he got back

Also forget that "I dont care if I get kicked off" stuff,your no martyr.
Their is no way bluey is going to kick you off for that

By saying that just adds fuel to the fire

CJ - I will gladly stand by that statement I made earlier - there is no obligation for the moderator to do anything about it at all. As one of your fellow club supporters pointed out in a quote and I subsequently replied to - if you wish to take up a grievance do so by email with the moderator himself. There is no what-so-ever obligation on the moderator to take action without the offended parties contacting him. He is in no way obligated to be a mind reader to your offence.

I in no way perpurtrate myslef as his 'helper' and am just responding to a situation in the way I perceive it, and I do not appear to be alone in interpreting the way the scenario unfolded.

Anyone demanding apologies and retractions and closing of threads and disputing closing of others - are doing just what you accuse me of - pretending to be a 'helper'.

Alright, I admitt. I did go over the top!

A martyr? Sabre, there is the possiblity of being kicked off the BB for saying something like that to the moderator! I dont know if you have a job or not, but it is like going up to your boss, giving them an ear full and telling them where to go!

DANNI

Let me tell you about Darren Millane, he was a mans man he was adored and loved right across this country.

Nothing and i repeat nothing in my previous post would warrant the low filthy disrespectful comments made about Darren Millane is that clear.

The Millane jokes have upset a lot of people
and deeply offended-that is the issue here.

I was bought up to believe that at all times you respect those whom are no longer with us
you could also call it common decency.

Let me play devils advocate danni, some one very close to you tragically passes away what would your reaction be if that person became the brunt of sickening disgusting gutter jokes ?

You see danni i met Darren Millane and you could not meet a nicer bloke not that if he wasnt, would it justify the sicko's on here
whom for some strange reason seem to enjoy
by getting at us with these jokes.

And i believe thats what they are doing you see i dont believe human behaviour could be that low where these attacks are purely based at Darren Millane personally.

It is a very very sick attempt to try and get a response from collingwood people and yes to the smartarse who started this you did succeed.

I guess its a reflection on a society that has gone terribly wrong you see not to condemn such action is just as bad.

We have a moral and spiritual obligation to let these people know that this behaviour will not be tolerated!!

Football arguinng is all fair play its a part of this great game and should allways be.

During this process we name call we take the shit out of each other and then we walk away with a wry grin.

Even go to the pub and have an ale or two you see although i hate other clubs and on match days i hate all opposition supporters as soon as that final siren goes,i hold no grudges i dont offend too easily i guess it s due to my working class upbringing something i am very much proud of.

But i will draw the line at the low life gutter remarks directed at somone who is no longer able to defend himself is that clear.

And yes we do deserve an apology and the paticular threads should be wiped completely.

For gods sake just lets remember we are all brothers and sisters in a world im afraid that appears morally out of control.

This is a football forum lets just keep it to footy ok.

magpie_joffa - I never condoned what was said nor did I support it in any way.

Where you say 'is that clear' - is something that has been previously clear only to you. And that is something that you need to recognise as well.

Had you made a post similar to your last in the first place instead of a call-to-arms to fellow Collingwood supporters things would have been perceived/interpreted differently. The reality is tho - that just because someone makes a remark or comment that is distasteful to others, there is no obligation for anyone to be a mind reader to the offence that might/will be taken.

People have different limits, different boundries. What is too far for someone is not far enough for another.

You have taken offence to the comments (which I have totally agreed with your reasons to all along) yet you need to acknowledge that what you say may offend others just as much. This is a personal issue to you. Personal insults made against others can have the same affect on them.

All I am saying is that you need to show the others the same sort of respect you are asking for. How do you know that if you laughed when someone was called a **** that it didn't affect the person who was called that in the same way. They may have something in their life that a simple distasteful word like that affects.

Below the belt it may have been, but demanding your clubs supporters do something about it won't work. Explaining yourself like your last post just might tho.

The reality is that this whole thing extends from the initial abuse and personal insults that occured here earlier in the week. Some people just pushed each other too far.
And had that not happened - then neither would this incident.

everyone should just drop the topic (both sides) what was said most people agree shouldn't have been but everyone was pushed pretty far when we all suddenly arrived at once after leaving our (thought to have been) closing board and rocking the boat and i'm not saying it was all to blame on us collingwood supporters but everyone reached their limits and some just went over the top, in no way am i saying these horrible disrespectful jokes should be excused, just dropped.
tarkyn rocks
go pies!

ok fellow pies i say enough is enough!!!