Old Scholars Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter ROCKY ROAD

BVK coaching Triabunna. Anyone got any other old scholars news?
Uni lost a fair few, picked a couple up though

Heard a rumour a while back about Burbury back to Hutchins, but maybe nothing in it

OHA picked up Doran and 2 decent Clarence players. Think they’ll win it comfortably again

Things have been pretty quiet and not a lot of news getting about over the summer, but the relatively little mail I've been hearing is the Ships have been recruiting well and the Chooks haven't lost much. OVA will probably slip backwards under Beck, Bows have lost a few.

DOSA are still OHA's bitches going by what I watched today over at the Ship yard.
Hot off smacking the Saints by 25+ goals the week before, the Chooks never looked like it all day and got a 50 point touch up.
How many losses in a row for Richmond now?

DOSA are still OHA's bitches going by what I watched today over at the Ship yard.
Hot off smacking the Saints by 25+ goals the week before, the Chooks never looked like it all day and got a 50 point touch up.
How many losses in a row for Richmond now?
Richmond broke the all time record for most losses in a row in Tassie history awhile ago. Nothing looks like changing anytime soon with that club.

72 matches. I predict they'll either knock off St Virgils or Hutchins at some point.
The previous record for the Old Scholars FA solely, was St Virgils with 55 from 2015–2019.
Claremont are currently at 29-consecutive losses, NTFA Division Two club, University Lions (formerly Uni-Mowbray) are at 27, Rosebery-Toorak are on 22.
Screenshot_20250526_115321_Gmail.jpg Screenshot_20250526_115333_Gmail.jpg

Uni forfeited both the womens AND reserves today. Seniors got touched up to the tune of 160 points. They are a mess.
Richmond lost again. Lost count of how many that is in a row. Close to 80 anyway.
DOSA thrashed Hutchins.
Comp's a rabble this year.

Uni forfeited both the womens AND reserves today. Seniors got touched up to the tune of 160 points. They are a mess.
Richmond lost again. Lost count of how many that is in a row. Close to 80 anyway.
DOSA thrashed Hutchins.
Comp's a rabble this year.
Two horse race if ever there was one.

OHA reserves have won by forfeit two weeks on the trot.

The comp is really starting to see the result of having one team not be able to win for 5-6 years.

With the SFL Premier League teams now playing just in the South, OS teams are finding it harder to attract those players out of their original clubs.

The rise of Masters football too has hurt some clubs depth.

Richmond needs to be moved to the ODFA.

5 clubs left maybe then those clubs need to seriously look at moving to the SFL community league.

But we all know this won’t happen and it will just drag on the same next year.

The SFL would now be in front in terms of quality of players which wasn’t the case a few years ago.

The comp is really starting to see the result of having one team not be able to win for 5-6 years.

With the SFL Premier League teams now playing just in the South, OS teams are finding it harder to attract those players out of their original clubs.

The rise of Masters football too has hurt some clubs depth.

5 clubs left maybe then those clubs need to seriously look at moving to the SFL community league.

The SFL would now be in front in terms of quality of players which wasn’t the case a few years ago.
Not so sure about this, I have heard rumblings.

there's been '"talk" about combining the two for years but the old scholars didn't want a bar of it and claimed that their league was more a social league rather than a "serious" one like the SFL was.
Even 2 years ago the old scholars was most likely the better of the two but I reckon the community league is probably on par with it now, OHA & DOSA the obvious two best in the association, Cygnet, Huonville, Lindisfarne and Dodges the pick of the community league.
The old scholars has fallen massively over the past 18 months or so, the community league gets little to no publicity at all now so it might be something to look at.

I did hear today that it's highly likely that there will be an amalgamation of the Sandy Bay Lions JFC and University to join the SFL next year.
I would presume that they would join the Community League if that gets passed at the voting stage.
No idea on name and colours though, probably blue and white.
I was quite surprised to hear that, has anybody else heard similar?

I did hear today that it's highly likely that there will be an amalgamation of the Sandy Bay Lions JFC and University to join the SFL next year.
I would presume that they would join the Community League if that gets passed at the voting stage.
No idea on name and colours though, probably blue and white.
I was quite surprised to hear that, has anybody else heard similar?
Yes, apparently that's what's happening.

Ah so it is right then?
Pretty much a done deal was how it was explained to me, I was just quite surprised as I'd not heard anything about University's involvement until yesterday.
I know there was a fair bit of consternation among those that I was speaking with that if it does go ahead, and if Richmond weighs up its options and heads for the ODFA, then that could possibly spell the end of the Old Scholars as a competition after nearly 40 years.
Four clubs would most likely be an unsustainable concern going forward and it may see those remaining clubs with little choice but to come into the SFL.
I'll be interested to see how all this develops over the off-season.

Hutchins might also be a part of that merger with the SB juniors too.
The proposed new team want to play at Queenborough because the Uni oval is no good and has no facilities and Queenborough is having $$ spent on it at the moment.
In affect, 3 Sandy Bay teams rolled in to one to form a club to join SFL.
I reckon Richmond will head off to the Oatlands comp like Triabunna did years ago, can't lose every game for 5+ years and expect things to improve.
That'd mean the old scholars would be gone after this year.

Hutchins might also be a part of that merger with the SB juniors too.
The proposed new team want to play at Queenborough because the Uni oval is no good and has no facilities and Queenborough is having $$ spent on it at the moment.
In affect, 3 Sandy Bay teams rolled in to one to form a club to join SFL.
I reckon Richmond will head off to the Oatlands comp like Triabunna did years ago, can't lose every game for 5+ years and expect things to improve.
That'd mean the old scholars would be gone after this year.
I have heard a fair bit this week regarding OSFA clubs going to the SFL, haven't heard that about Hutchins.

So is there actual any real potential of Richmond joining the ODFA or is it more just suggesting that it'd be a better fit?