B: N.Clarke, M.Michael, M.Kennedy
HB: M.Pike, J.Leppitsch, J.Akermanis
C: D.White, M.Voss, N.Lappin
HF: L.Power, J.Brown, T.Notting
F: R.Hadley, A.Lynch, D.Cupido
Foll: C.Keating, S.Black, S.Hart
Inter: D.Headland, M.Ashcroft, B.McDonald, D.Bradshaw

I believe, if Matthews chooses the best players he has (and I don't think he was in the position to do that last year), and plays them in position, it is then down to the players to deliver.

Matthews has forged a tight defense. In fact, I'd say our defense was quite good against Port in that last encounter. "What?" I hear a few say! Well, considering the extent to which we were smashed in the midfield, I reckon our defense was at least respectable in keeping Port's score from being higher.

It's down to the much hailed midfield, to now deliver on all the hype they receive. When you've got the likes of Voss, Black, C.Scott (out for this week, though), Lappin, Akermanis, Hart, Ashcroft, and others to choose from, there 'should' be no excuse for getting smashed out of the midfield.

Perhaps last season, in the absence of Keating, with two inexperienced (yet galant) ruckmen, you could excuse it to a certain extent.

This season, and this game in particular, I am expecting our midfield to deliver on its name.

Akermanis had a shocker the other week. He needs to play the tagging role on Wanganeen, I believe, not only to regain some discipline and form, but also because he is more than capable of shutting Wanganeen (a creative player), down.

Lappin needs to step it up on the wing as well. It's no use playing your own game and letting your opponent run free, if you cannot match and better his output.

Hart should have a tagging role on either Kingsley or Francis.

I'm hoping the likes of Notting and Headland, can provide a bit of pace and athleticism to the side. Port have a few players who seem to have a physical edge. Notting and Headland could perhaps provide this for the Lions.

Headland perhaps needs to concentrate on disposal, once he has the thing. Similarly, Notting needs to make every touch count.

Hadley in a pocket could provide a small, classy crumber, allowing Power to be more damaging further up the field.

D.White on a wing, hopefully will play a creative role, rather than a manning up one, similar to his masterful performance against Hawthorn. I'd let the guy run anywhere!

Hopefully, they'll kick to the likes of White, Leppitsch, Pike, and the ruck, from the kick ins, too.

Lynch needs to be given a bit of space in the forward zone. I'd start Bradshaw on the bench, and alternate the too, according to the mode of the game.

Similarly, while I've put Headland on the bench and Kennedy in the starters, if the side looks a bit tall, I'd switch Headland into defense.

Kennedy's inclusion is vital though. It allows Matthews the freedom to swing guys like Leppitsch, Lynch, Bradshaw and Brown around. Similarly, Kennedy has looked in pretty good touch, even though he's had limited ground time.

Hopefully, and we were killed here a couple of weeks ago, Keating and McDonald can counter the strength of Matthew Primus (gee, wouldn't we love him now!).

Hopefully, with our #1 ruck, and Voss and Hart back in the side, we can get our midfielders back on track.

Good on you Olmy! You've picked a team to match any early in the season. I particularly like the positioning of Hadley. He has an uncanny ability to get the ball and what better place than in front of goal.

Personally, I like to see Whitey on the half back line. He defends like mad when the team is under pressure and when we roll he has the ability to be an attacking defender, consigning his opponent to a defensive role. This makes him very hard to match up.

Pity we don't have the services of Chris Scott. We certainly leaves a big hole when he is missing, particularly when the game gets physical. I don't blame him for feeling frustrated last game - I think even I would have done something stupid.

Heres hoping we get a year out of Crackers because if we do, it'll be a good'un.

Tassie Steve

Olmy,

That was a damn good analysis, from a Brisbane perspective, couple of questions for you.

1/- Port's defence was touted as being too small prior to the Ansett Cup G/F, by placing Bradshaw, who I thought looked your best forward, on the bench, does this not give away any supposed advantage?

2/- By placing Bradshaw on the bench you are saying Brisbane has to match the Port defence with run and pace vs. run and pace, therefore setting up a shootout scenario?

3/- In a goalfest type match, doesn't the home team usually have the advantage?

4/- The inclusion of Wakelin into the Port defence is significant, he destroyed Lynch last game, I see the Port defence as a suffocating, smothering type, it chokes off the supply, causing inevitable death, I cannot see Headland and Hadley making any change in this area from last game.

5/- The inclusion of Michael Voss is huge for Brisbane, he is in the top half dozen players in the league, his inclusion, plus putting D. White in the midfield mix are seen by yourself as the antidote to the Port pace and midfield run. Time will tell if your guys can keep the Port guys occupied or not.

6/- Your defence has lost it's best player from last game, Chris Scott, Port will be able to add into it's attack one or two of Bowen Lockwood, Matthew Bishop or Mark Harwood, all tall hard running marking players, not world beaters, but still good players. It will be interesting to see your defence defend from the centre square back, due to Port's long range attack, will this streching of your defence work for you, or for Port?

7/- The single element which Brisbane looked totally inadequate in was ruck, Matthew Primus absolutely DOMINATED your rucks, Cain Ackland provided some very useful minutes with his leap and aggression. This area has not been changed by you, what will stop the outcome from being the same?

Anyway, I enjoyed your post, please have a look at the above and we can have some good footy discussion.

FOOTY'S BACK, AT BLOODY LAST

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Firstly Asgardian, I am hoping that the last encounter was an abboration - hopefully a number of our players will put in a much improved effort - they are certainly capable.

In some ways, that could answer a lot of the questions posed.

In regards to Port's "small" defense, well, I believe we lacked players who were making space for themselves in that last game. Hopefully a few players, the likes of Notting, perhaps Headland, along with Cupido, Power, Hadley etc., will be willing to make space to run to, and hopefully, our midfield won't just bomb it long.

Lynch was beaten by Wakelin, but admittedly, didn't have his greatest night. I'm sure if we look back over the years, Lynch would have had a good outing against Wakelin too.

For this game, I just don't want to see Bradshaw and Lynch on at the same time. I just don't think it works against the likes of the Port backmen - they don't make enough space.

I'm not really expecting a goal-fest situation.

C.Scott's absence is notable. He was certainly in our best few the other week, and is in our top few players overall. I am banking on the other defenders, to be able to play at their best to cover his loss, along with a more defensive mind-set from our midfielders.

D.White proved against Hawthorn, that his marking of the ball, and creative play along the wing can win games. He played well in the back half last week - but we didn't win. Hopefully a change in position for one of our top players might make a change to the result. It's worth a try!

The likely inclusions into Port's squad will certainly give them a number of tall options in attact. However, considering the improved status of our defense in regards to height, I feel that we will be able to counter the majority of Port's tall options.

The ruck is an issue, but once again, hopefully Keating and McDonald will have a better run this time. Primus had a great game - there will be just as much pressure on him to replicate it (even if he does have a psychological advantage).

The major point I see, is that the Lions need to be more defensive in the midfield. Funnily enough, they also lacked aggression and offensive skills at the same time, the other week!

Kingsley had it all, for the whole of the night, and guys like Cockatoo-Collins and Wanganeen only need a handful of touches to make it count - however, all three can be tagged out of the game. Similarly, Francis and Dew can be hot and cold. I'm hoping that the improvement of our midfield, will help tip the balance in our favour.

I have every confidence in our defense (at this stage), and if our forwards can play intelligent football (something our midfield should also take note of), we should have no trouble posting a decent score (we have done that in the past).

I am expecting a relatively close game. Port may run away with it (perhaps in stages), but I don't see this game as being unwinnable for us.

If we do win, it will be a huge psychological boost for many a week to come.

Originally posted by Asgardian:

That was a damn good analysis, from a Brisbane perspective, couple of questions for you.

Anyway, I enjoyed your post, please have a look at the above and we can have some good footy discussion.

Thanks mate! I enjoyed the questions too!

YAY!!!!!!!

Olmy's Game Plan is back!!!!!!!!

And a ripper of one for the inaugral season 2001 editions!

Good work! Love it!!

And sooooooooooo bloody accurate it is scary! Hmmmmm wonder if any of the 'brains trust' actually will read it?? could we be that bloody lucky??

its not that accurate at all. he has 4 players there that didnt make the side...clarke,kennedy, notting and hadlee. obviously the brainstrust doesnt listen!!

I thought that the key to the last game was Primus - both in the air and on the ground. Really the only way to break that up is to give him something to think about - Keating going forward and doing damage. Time for an imaginative use of McDonald ... could he go forward ( get an extra dimension to his game ) ?

I can't see the Lions turning around such a big loss ( a huge challange ) in a week in exactly the same environment but those big guys, esp. Lynch and Bradshaw have got to stand up and force the opposition to change the pattern.

OLMST*R-YOU ARE A GENIUS!maybe we should make you head honcho at the match committee and you can do the line up week in,week out because you seem to get it right better than lethal..oh yeh is the game being televised here in melbourne?templar tells me theres no coverage,mate we're in footy's home town,therefore there shall be coverage...

go lions-no repeat of last time..

Originally posted by templar:
its not that accurate at all. he has 4 players there that didnt make the side...clarke,kennedy, notting and hadlee. obviously the brainstrust doesnt listen!!

Well no-one's seen your offering yet. I'd say that having only 4 players missing out of the squad is fairly accurate. Especially considering this synopsis came out before selection night.

Besides, the observations (perhaps rather than the selections) made by Olmy, and also Asgardian, are at least thought provoking, and I believe, a quite genuine run-down of how things might eventuate.

You seem to have a lot of criticisms, yet few answers yourself, dumplar.

OLMY - where's Johnson, mate?!