Omfg!! Umpiring a disgrace.... Again

There were some iffy decisions going both ways but at the end of the day the umpires did a decent job.

Just being consistent , easy to say things like that when you win. Those blatant errors aren't good enough.

You've got to be kidding me! Have you ever umpired a game? I didn't think so. You clearly do not understand the difficulties of maintaining consistency through 3 different umpires, as well as letting the game flow to an adequate level. If you're the kind of supporter who sits through games whining about the umpiring, then maybe you should ask yourself why you turn up in the first place?

To watch my team play obviously.
I understand the troubles with consistency , but I clearly highlighted 3 disgraceful errors that were utterly bizarre pieces of umpiring. As I said the intention was fine , but errors of that magnitude took away from their performance. It's certainly not the worst game I've seen umpired this year , but I don't share your empathy.

Isnt it amazing how our supporters only see the ones that go against us and not the ones that go against the opposition. People on this thread are once again proving why we are regarded as the leagues biggest sooks. I reckon 80% of our supporters are pretty good but geez the other 20% make us look bad.

I am not a fan of the way the game is umpired but I blame that squarely on the the muppets who make the game difficult to umpire by changing the rules and ordering umps to pay soft frees all the time. Tonight bucked the trend and it was great to see.

And finally for people to make comments based on 2 or 3 mistakes, the great man bucks said it better than anyone tonight. The players make alot more mistakes than the umps yet the umps get alot more criticism.

To watch my team play obviously.
I understand the troubles with consistency , but I clearly highlighted 3 disgraceful errors that were utterly bizarre pieces of umpiring. As I said the intention was fine , but errors of that magnitude took away from their performance. It's certainly not the worst game I've seen umpired this year , but I don't share your empathy.

3, wow- can you tell me how many mistakes the players made tonight. I reckon each player made more than 3 on average. An expectation that umpires will not make errors is just crazy. I have never seen a game where mistake were not made by umps or players and I never will. I challange you to voulanteer at your local ammos club and umpire a few games in the 2s. Come back and report and we will see if you have a different opinion. Peoples expectations of other human beings in this world are laughable. I can only assume BIB that you don't make errors in your profession?

They made more than 3 errors , the ones I pointed out were ones that whoever officiated over them should be umpiring at a lower level the next week. I have no interest in umpiring , I have some muscle mass and hair.
I don't expect perfection from them , just being mildly competent. If a player made clangers of that magnitude they'd be playing 2's next week.
I think umpire number 13 was the culprit for both decisions , but didn't see who the completely incompetent boundary umpire was.

It wasn't too bad, but once again, without fail, we end up on the wrong side of the ledger.

Three options:

1) We're the dirtiest team in the AFL, and give up more free kicks than our opponents every week.

2) It's just an unbelievable coincidence that no matter what the result of the match is, we end up on the wrong side of the ledger 8 weeks in a row (if you include the pre-season)

3) The umpires have a bias against us that they are unwilling or unable to acknowledge.

If you apply Occam's Razor, 3) would seem the simplest solution.

That boundary umpire should be sacked after the O'Bree error , he was so far in , it defies belief that you could call it. O'Bree seemed to float another theory about his intention.
Clarke holding the ball was disgraceful.
The 50 metre penalty wouldn't have been paid if the field umpire wasn't an absolute twit , he paid it afteer the siren.
The intention of letting it go was correct , but those incidents were so appalling I refuse to call their performance half decent.

Ditto

They made more than 3 errors , the ones I pointed out were ones that whoever officiated over them should be umpiring at a lower level the next week. I have no interest in umpiring , I have some muscle mass and hair.
I don't expect perfection from them , just being mildly competent. If a player made clangers of that magnitude they'd be playing 2's next week.
I think umpire number 13 was the culprit for both decisions , but didn't see who the completely incompetent boundary umpire was.

SO your happy to pot them but when I set out a challange to go and see what its all about you say your not interested. I really am not a fan of people who are happy to bag on something they know little about. Thank god not everyone shares your opinion then we will not have a game to watch. In the 30 odd years I have been watching football the opinions on umps have never really changed. Now I wonder who's problem that is, the umps or the spectators? Id say the spectators. Im fairly confident that if you go onto brisbanes board they would say they had the rough end of the stick. The reality is as humans most of us unfortunately have an inability or are not willing to look at things through another persons eye. Its a bloody hard game to umpire and not made any easier by the officials of the game. Until you have the balls to give it a go and find out for yourself I think your criticism is totally unwarranted.

I think you should be going out to OPSM tomorrow and purchase a set of specs. I think the colour rose will suit you perfectly.

Wrong Ant22. What you imply is that umpires shouldn't be criticised in case no one wants to come up thru the junior levels. How on earth then did we ever get a current crop of umpires if hatred of umpires has been a consistent feature of the game?

In 1896, A collingwood / North game saw an umpire attacked by North fans with iron bars and fists. Somehow though we managed to find umpires, because there were pedants back then and always will be, just as there will always be met-cops.

What we need to do is put them on a leash because a lot of them are unrepentant power-trippers.

SO your happy to pot them but when I set out a challange to go and see what its all about you say your not interested. I really am not a fan of people who are happy to bag on something they know little about. Thank god not everyone shares your opinion then we will not have a game to watch. In the 30 odd years I have been watching football the opinions on umps have never really changed. Now I wonder who's problem that is, the umps or the spectators? Id say the spectators. Im fairly confident that if you go onto brisbanes board they would say they had the rough end of the stick. The reality is as humans most of us unfortunately have an inability or are not willing to look at things through another persons eye. Its a bloody hard game to umpire and not made any easier by the officials of the game. Until you have the balls to give it a go and find out for yourself I think your criticism is totally unwarranted.

I think you should be going out to OPSM tomorrow and purchase a set of specs. I think the colour rose will suit you perfectly.

Yep , yep , probably. Maybe forward your opinion to E.McGuire who is meeting with the AFL this week about this very issue.

It wasn't too bad, but once again, without fail, we end up on the wrong side of the ledger.

Three options:

1) We're the dirtiest team in the AFL, and give up more free kicks than our opponents every week.

2) It's just an unbelievable coincidence that no matter what the result of the match is, we end up on the wrong side of the ledger 8 weeks in a row (if you include the pre-season)

3) The umpires have a bias against us that they are unwilling or unable to acknowledge.

If you apply Occam's Razor, 3) would seem the simplest solution.
We won the free kick count against Geelong 18-15, but I see your point.

I haven't seen more than 30 mins of the match, because my projector lamp blew. :(

great effort awesome win by the boys!! but what is going on with the umpiring.

we are seriouisly being cheated in every game, and it almost cost us (again) tonight!!!!

the worst thing is, its obvious!!!!

anyway, i gave em plenty on the telly!!

bring on the dons!!!!!!!

Hey there Joffa's lovechild, they let you hop onto the Centrelink computer to post for a bit? Did you even watch the game with your right eye, or just with your left? At least some of your Collingwood supporting brothers saw it how it really was. Your kind of disgraceful bias is what gives your supporter group a bad name.

If you think decisions were not paid for you guys, have a look at what happened to J.Brown in marking contests, with BOTH your eyes. Fair dinkum.

Hey there Joffa's lovechild, they let you hop onto the Centrelink computer to post for a bit? Did you even watch the game with your right eye, or just with your left? At least some of your Collingwood supporting brothers saw it how it really was. Your kind of disgraceful bias is what gives your supporter group a bad name.

If you think decisions were not paid for you guys, have a look at what happened to J.Brown in marking contests, with BOTH your eyes. Fair dinkum.

Boo-hoo Bozo. One free to Brown for an over the shoulder. If there were any other (valid) frees, please enlighten us.

I only dream of umpiring like that game in game out. They let it go. Yer they missed a few but its a damn sight better then plucking them from thin air. Very consistant and best of all they did not want to be bigger than the game. I almost had then in the votes

Watch the first half! 10-5 frees. Shocking decisions both ways. Even commentators were talking about some odd frees and Bucks said he wished umps were more consistent!

Did anyone else notice Mclaren's handball receive to stop play when he spotted the Brisy player who needed to go off with the blood rule. 7 didn't show a replay but could have sworn the ball was live at the time.

Nah - Black had a free, or possibly a mark, and the umpire had spotted the blood, and was trying to stop play.

He ran in and was about to blow his whistle, and caught the handball on the way through - Smooth move, IMO.

For those saying it wasn't bad. I guess we agree in a sense where the defenders got a good deal for once, but around the grounds, there were frees being missed then frees being paid straight after for the exact same infringment, and its frustrating to watch. That 50 on the siren is one of the worst piece of umpiring I've ever seen. Not only because he paid it AFTER the siren, but because he took him about 65 metres closer to goal. He might as well have taken the kick for him!

Haven't seen the game yet, but I think we should make an effort to seriously criticise the umpiring each game even after a win, otherwise people are going to pull out the old chestnut and say we're only doing it because of a close loss.

I've got to say the umpiring was the best I've seen this year. They let the crap 50/50s go. They let the right things go which was great. However we still copped a bit of a raw deal with some bad decisions, but I think that was luck not through inconsistency or consistently bad umpiring.

I've got to say the umpiring was the best I've seen this year. They let the crap 50/50s go. They let the right things go which was great.

This.
For this reason it was one of the best umpired games i have watched all year. To be honest from a neutral point of view, it was pretty even. Both sides copped a few that weren't there. But overall there were 34 frees for the game. 15 - 19. Which is good considering the lopsidedness of some counts recently. (see St. Kilda vs Adelaide). Or the ridiculously high count (See Richmond vs Geelong and Geelong vs Hawthorn).

whenever there's rain around the game's umpired better because the umps have it in their mind to let go more body incidental body contact

but when it's dry they just throw that out the window. Oh Geishan, great leader of men you are not