ONE ONE WORD " ESSENDON" !!!!!

Greatest Essendon side only if they win the GF. Same goes for question #2.

If Essendon does with the GF; then:

#1: Best one I've ever seen. I wasn't around during the Dick Reynolds era, but I doubt any of those teams ever put up nearly 200 points in a finals match. I don't remember 1984-85 much cause I was little and 1993 wasn't THIS good.

#2: Maybe once in a millenium. Might have to wait to 3000
wink.gif
Nah, seriously, it's probably a 1 in 20 or 30.

Thoroughly the most dominating performance I've ever seen in my life. 20 goal margin in a final, and North's not exactly chopped liver (chopped Kangaroo, maybe). Lloydy had 7, Hird had 5; that's 12 just from two guys! 9 goals at quarter time, 15 half, <b>25</b> at 3QT.

Still heaps of footy to be played yet. Melbourne came very close to beating us, and we all know what can happen when Carlscum plays us in a final.

It was just an awesone performance by the greatest football club in the land.

I had an awesome day. 100 goals to Lloyd, 125 point margin. It was a sea of red and black.

My throat is sore from the amout of yelling I did.

I love footy... love it.

GO BOMBERS !!!!

Yeah, congratulations Bomber fans. Most of you have been really modest this season, when really you've had the right to brag for quite a while (don't start now though!), so you deserved to thump North so well.

I don't think I've ever barracked so hard for Essendon in my life. But why Oh why couldn't you have reached the 200 point mark? So close.
smile.gif

Well done
smile.gif
One down, two to go....

PS- Is there such a thing as Footy Adultery? Cos I sure felt like I was cheating on my team today!

I was watching the match on tele and when Lloyd kicked his 100th, it brought a smile to my face. It doesn't matter what team he plays for-I'll still say it. CONGRATULATIONS MATT!

Well, what I can I say?

First, the victors. I think that great teams leave their mark on the game. The 90s have had three great teams. The Eagles took the art of the one percenters to a new level. North took physical agression at the ball to a new level. Adelaide took foot and hand passing skills to a new level. This Essendon team will be the first to combine all three at such a high level in the one side. Every single skill of the game, they excelled at. Every word that has been written and spoken about Essendon since yesterday rings true, so I won't add anything else than to wish them well in the rest of their campaign and congratulate their club for putting such a fine side together.

For my boys. Well, I feel a crushing disappointment and a burning anger. Disappointment in that we didn't make a contest of the game and anger at the fact that stalwarts like Carey, Martyn, Archer, Stevens, Blakey etc. have been let down by our mid range and younger players like Simpson, Grant, Clayton, Abraham, etc. To beat Essendon, let a lone win a premiership, you need a team effort....not just the same half dozen or so players putting in week in and week out. What can players like Blakey, McCartney and Martyn do when the Essendon midfield players have the time and space to deliver the ball so precisely to their forwards? An example, in the first quarter...the ball was on the edge of the centre square in Essendon's attacking half...Long has the ball, Clayton is within a metre of him....Long had as much as five seconds to get rid of the ball...Clayton did not do as much as even try to touch Long....give Long one second, let alone five, and you will get punished, and we did. The only players that can bank their paycheques this week without feeling guilty are Jason McCartney, Peter Bell, Byron Pickett, and David King. Carey, Blakey, Martyn, Archer, Stevens, McKernan and Harvey have enough credits in the bank to be forgiven. The rest of them should be ashamed of themselves.

Anyway, Hawthorn this week. For my money, winning that game is not nearly as important as seeing the boys play with some pride. That's all I want to see.

Firstly I would like to congratulate Essendon on a fantastic win. All Essendon supporters must have been so inspired by their teams performance yesterday. Shinboner as a North supporter I share your disappointment and bewilderment.

No excuses.. Essendon are the most powerful team ever put together..The Roos are too slow in the midfield and have nothing up forward apart from a worn out champion called Carey who cant do it on his own and a never say die
David King who never gives up.
Carlton are stuffed without Kouta which leaves Melbourne to take on Essendon which means Essendon are going to win by about 20 goals..bring on the draft ..bring on season 2001..the fat lady is about to sing ..its Essendon's premiership.

Go Roos.

Well done Dons,

Hard running to every contest in numbers, and excellent foot skills - no hospital chip kicks.... and more importantly SCOREBOARD PRESSURE. Was it 8 straight ?

Look what happened to Blues and Cats when they couldn't convert their opportunities.

Listening to ABC commentary and Eade - he felt that the Roos are easy to coach against because they don't have a Plan B. ( Plan A has been working well for some time ) Once Fletcher shut down Carey and McKernan fizzled out, no real match up dramas. He felt that Scholl HAD to be included as a leading forward.

PS. No one over 21 should be allowed to run on the the ground . It's a really BAD look.
( esp. whenthey run thru' the Roos players and give them a spray ! )

Well, was that a bloody enjoyable game of footy, or what(what for Shiners). Don't think I've ever witnessed anything like it. I did think we'd have a comfortable victory, but 31 goals for Christ's sake. 31 goals. That's the kind of score the Cats of the early ninties used to dish out to poor unfortunate cellar dwellers in the H&A. Your not meant to do that to the 4th placed Reigning Premier in a final.

I had to listen to it on the radio because of a family emergency. You know your doing alright when:

1. Rexy does the fat lady call midway through the 2nd quarter.
2. Dwayne and Tim are joking about the Dons taking on Man Utd for the best team in the world (sorry to Real Madrid).
3. You hear Bomber fans were leaving early.

Sorry Shiners but I had to laugh when I saw big Corey on the replay, doing his growling technique before the first bounce, ala the Saints match. Very funny in the knowledge of what was in store for the rest of the arvo. How good was King? Much as I can't stand the mouthy prick, he played a blinder. Boy was he pissed about the North fans this year, when interviewed. Said they'ed been missing all year and asked 'em back for the Hawks game. Undercurrent of resentment brewing there.

I hope someone wacked those Dons fans who mouthed off to the Roo boys when Lloydy kicked his 100th. They looked like absolute immature dickheads running onto the ground like that. Hello ******s, it meant to be for the kids! Dan I hope you weren't amongst them.

Hey Shiners were you like me after the '90 GF? I had a Bomber jumper on under a jacket and on the way out of the ground had the thing buttoned right up, to avoid those wonderful Maggie fans insults.

Cheers

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

Rice80

Yeah, a memorable match for both of us, but for very different reasons.

The only colours I wear to the footy are my trusty scarf and I didn't hide that at all. It stayed draped over my jacket for everyone to see throughout my walk from the MCG back into the city and into Pelligrini's for a coffee, in the Paperback Bookshop and Gaslight Records for shopping therapy, and back to Little Flinders Street to collect my car.

I didn't cop any abuse from Essendon fans (in fact, I've received plenty of sympathy from the ones that I do know) after the game....it's a bit different from a few incidents with Carlton, Collingwood, Adelaide and Richmond fans in the past. But I got the feeling that even the Essendon fans were trying to keep a lid on things with last year in mind.

David King was right about the North fans not turning up to support the boys this year and it was shameful the number of North fans that left the game early.

As for those Essendon fans that abused the North players, I hope the North players took it to heart. I read somewhere that one of the North players tried to get at one of the Essendon fans but was restrained by a trainer....a bit useless if you ask me because the player should've been venting his fury on the Essendon players throughout the match. But out of the 50,000 or so Essendon fans there, you're bound to get a few morons.

Anyway, it's a black spot in North's history and one of Essendon's finest games. What more is there to say?

ONE ONE WORD " ESSENDON" !!!!!