Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Wow... I've never seen this before. Thanks for posting. As much as it is a little cringing to listen to for people who didn't know EJ all that well in 2015, it does take one back to a time when then this stuff was hilarious. If you grew up with EJ Whitten you would understand this was the bloke inn a nutshell. He swore like a trooper and gave it out..... but he copped it his way and laughed and had a drink later. Bill Cannon would have laughed at this.

Thoroughly enjoyed the Open Mike special on Ted Whitten.
Loved EJ, blokes bloke who LIVED life to the fullest.

There's plenty to talk about:

The golden era of full forwards
Winning the Coleman
His marking
Blight
Doing his knee and missing the GF
1998 and falling out with Blight
Being Freo's first real superstar
will be interesting to see if he gets the full story around the Blight falling out :)

Sheehan will probably say he under performed at Freo which couldn't be further from the truth considering the team he was playing with!

Hope they chat about Modra's child that's had a few health issues and how Mods has done a great amount of charity work around those issues.

You wouldn't meet a more down to earth guy.

Maybe a quick chat about his currant job as well. He picks up bobby calves from Dairy Farmers down on the south coast of SA. Every farmers kid comes out and has a chat each week

I think people are expecting a story where there is none.

I think the most we'll get about any of Modra's off-field antics during his time at the Crows will be a laughing acknowledgement of the "slept in and missed training, dropped back to West Adelaide" indicident during the Robert Shaw era (mid-1995, I think). I doubt it will get too personal or sordid.

I thought it was pretty good. It was much "lighter" than some of the episodes that we've seen recently - but I think that's a good thing. You can't have heavy ones like EJ and Eustice every week.

I thought he had some pretty good insights on the way they're currently taught to umpire, the transition from playing to umpiring, and the way that players treat him.

I thought the Bannister one was ok. Would have liked to hear more about Pagan and then ratten taking over. Could have also asked about his good mate Fev who lived with Jordan after he got kicked out of home by the Mrs.

I reckon the biggest insult to your playing ability would be a guarantee from Ratten that you would play the rest of the 2007 season. I guess in the end he helped get them to their goal, so well done to all

Enjoyed the Bannister episode.
Sometimes those sort of interviews give a greater insight into AFL football than more high profile interviews.

One thing I found interesting was the reference to Capper.
Most of us probably have our opinions on Warwick and I'm not too sure many would be that complimentary.
But without (AFAIK) any fanfare or publicity he spent the day with Bannister's brother, simply because the brother was a fan of Capper.
Obviously had an effect when you consider that Jordan thought the 2 things that brought the greatest joy to his brother, after he became a quadriplegic, were the birth of his son and Capper's visit.

I thought Bannister was great, helped to humanise umpires. He spoke well.
2 points stuck out to me;
He said "service the game" several times when referring to umpiring. Sounds like wank corporate talk.
When he was talking about the Brownlow, he said "if you see someone under packs or breaking lines like a Boak or Fyfe". This just reinforced that umps really only notice mids. I don't think a forward or defender will ever win the award again.

I think an ep with Mark Fraser would be good, given he was the first player (I think?) to become an umpire, plus his career as the son of an Essendon legend, then going on to head the MRP.

Enjoyed the Bannister episode.
Sometimes those sort of interviews give a greater insight into AFL football than more high profile interviews.

One thing I found interesting was the reference to Capper.
Most of us probably have our opinions on Warwick and I'm not too sure many would be that complimentary.
But without (AFAIK) any fanfare or publicity he spent the day with Bannister's brother, simply because the brother was a fan of Capper.
Obviously had an effect when you consider that Jordan thought the 2 things that brought the greatest joy to his brother, after he became a quadriplegic, were the birth of his son and Capper's visit.
I think Capper gets a bum wrap because he's played the clown for so long. But he's alright. His Open Mike is one of my all time favourites.

have heard different things from people who have met/known Capper, some say hes deadset idiot and other saying its all an act hes actually pretty intelligent, apparently he made an asolute killing on real estate during and after his playing career.

I met both Capper and Mark Jackson at sportsmans night. Capper was fantastic with everyone and even seemed a little shy.

Jackson was a deadset flog

after knowing that after a game every decision they make gets reviewed as right or wrong no wonder they are prone to make silly mistakes, there would already be enough pressure just walking out onto the ground in front of big crowds and people watching on tv.