Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Mostly good interview with Simon Beasley, though I'm getting frustrated with Sheahan's persistent questioning of his subjects' finances. Kekovich, Capper, Beasley...

Yeah what was up with that? Looked like he was trying to embarrass Beasley by talking about how much money he has. So he's been successful. Good on him. It's none of Mike's business how many properties he has and what they're worth and what suburb he lives in and it's certainly not mine.

I've come to the conclusion it'd be great if someone else could host this show who wasn't a complete twat.

Just saw a preview of the upcoming McKernan episode. He's starting to look a lot like Peter Rowsthorn.

peter_rows_m1861888.preview.jpg

Yeah what was up with that? Looked like he was trying to embarrass Beasley by talking about how much money he has. So he's been successful. Good on him. It's none of Mike's business how many properties he has and what they're worth and what suburb he lives in and it's certainly not mine.

I've come to the conclusion it'd be great if someone else could host this show who wasn't a complete twat.

Yeah its frustrating, i doubt mike is on casual rates at fox footy for a start. Yes its nice to know what the blokes up to now, but if he is well off good luck to him. ALmost seems like Mike wants to make it like they are very lucky and its unfair they have some coin perhaps.

He also likes to point out how he reported on x person at x time, well i said in 1992 you were past it how did you feel? umm mike we dont all care what you thought about us.

But i do love the show, could be anyone doing the interviews its the subjects that make it

My thoughts exactly. That and the Carey incident.

potentially the shoulder in the prelim and certainly the move to the Blues?

Love it how Mike asks Beasley why he started League football so late, Beasley rightfully told him he didnt and had been playing league football at Swan Districts. Mike just shuts up then as he is vic centric about everything.
I remember Blight telling him no one cared in SA about the VFL and Mike again quickly changed the subject.
In those days VFL/WAFL/SANFL League games were exactly the same achievement and level.

As much as I like watching Open Mike, Mike Sheehans dismissal of players pre VFL careerers gives me the sh^%ts.
If it wasn't for strong WAFL or SANFL comps, half the people in Victoria wouldn't have a team to support.

How can you ask someone who played in the most successful WAFL team of the early 80's "Why did you start your career so late ? " GIVE ME A BREAK. Swans beat Collingwood on their own dung heap in a pre season game in the early 80's, and won three WAFL premierships in the same period, but none of that has any significance because he didn't lace up a boot for a second rate VFL team. Swans , South Freo or Claremont would have beaten most VFL teams in the late 70's to early 80's.

Billy's older brother John Duckworth. Legend at West Perth, went to SA and won a Magery. Brian Adamson, took West Perth to court for restraint of trade for a clearance to Norwood. He came back to play for West Perth after taking them to court. Probably wouldn't interest anyon other than me, Freofalcon and h Greatwhiteshark.
Even better if we get Dennis to host it.

Any suggestions for sanfl or wafl guys who could be guests

Plenty. Stephen Micheal for one. Absolute champion for South Freo who carved up in a strong WAFL comp and State of Origin. Geelong chased him and even Sam Newman thanks him for not coming over because he would have never played 300 games if he had. Pointless to name any WAFL or SANFL champs to be on the show because as pointed out by Mike himself, unless you played VFL footy, you never played the game.

Id like to see him do a few, hear some stories you dont hear much. When i was younger i had just for laughs and just for laughs 2 and youd get different stories from different players. Few wafl and sanfl guys you otherwise never heard of as a young kid in tassie, some great stories.

Plenty there for mike to tap into that footy fans dont already know and would enjoy. As you say we are talking quality footballers

Billy's older brother John Duckworth. Legend at West Perth, went to SA and won a Magery. Brian Adamson, took West Perth to court for restraint of trade for a clearance to Norwood. He came back to play for West Perth after taking them to court. Probably wouldn't interest anyon other than me, Freofalcon and h Greatwhiteshark.
Even better if we get Dennis to host it.

Big fan of Billy and John. I think John owned the Brissy hotel in North Perth and Billy coaches North Beach Amos.

Mal Brown, John Todd telling their stories about their time in the WAFL. Hated Todd with a passion, however absolutely loved his book.

Mal Brown played a handful of games for Ninthmond in the 70's and is an absolute legend at Punt road. In the WAFL during the late 70's to early 80's, he was a human headline. At Claremont he put a player back on the field after he had been taken off. This in the days of one reserve player and once he was off he was off. He punched out half of the Carlton side in a clash of the Premiers comp in Adelaide while he was playing for East Perth. He lost a bet while coaching South Freo against East Freo and had to walk down Hay St in a bikini during rush hour. He shoved a microphone up a reporters nose while coaching Perth against West Perth at Lathlain. So many memories of the man growing up.

Round it off with how much he charges for public speaking engagements and an ATM balance and we've pretty much predicted the whole show here I think.
You missed the bit about him owning a pub or two. Another "achievement" that Mike likes to dwell on.

Any suggestions for sanfl or wafl guys who could be guests

Countless numbers of them mate, but whats the point. The country has been sold that unless you played VFL you were second rate.
It is a joke the whole AFL saga and to see professional blokes like Mike being able to turn a blind eye is obviously a simple cheque in the mail.
The history over the real history of Australian football has become so Vic centric that it is laughable now.
It has gotten so out of hand in every facet of football recording in this country where 75% of the country just laugh at it now.
Victoria once admired for their strong sense of pride and sense on all things australian football have become the laughing stock of the country.
Self, Self Self would fit perfectly for Victorian football.

It has gotten so out of hand in every facet of football recording in this country where 75% of the country just laugh at it now.

I can understand your frustration but I dont think you're being fair or even accurate.
The VFL morphed into the AFL. It was those Victorian clubs who took the gamble of trying to create a national competition, and while it still has many, many problems and couldve been done in far better ways, it is what it is. And I do see a WCE tag under the team you follow, without the Victorian competition and history there would be no WCE.

And 75 percent of the country laugh at it now? 75 percent of the AFL following public are based in Victoria, so we both know that is just emotion talking there.

Victoria once admired for their strong sense of pride and sense on all things australian football have become the laughing stock of the country.

Laughing stock of the country? What are WCE and Freo home ground crowds like in comparison to the WAFL or SANFL?

And you dont think the VFL becoming the AFL hasnt hurt Victorian clubs? Have you seen Sth Melb or Fitzroy lately? And how much longer do you think North or Footscray will last?

Then you add in GWS and GC to dominate drafts and affect lower ranking clubs, as mine was as GC came in, by taking the cream of the draft.

Spare me mate, Vic clubs have been ****ed over too you know.

Ideally back in the day it wouldve been a seperate comp, Best 4 clubs in 1986 from WA, SA and VIC go into a national Premier type League while adding a team from Tassie and Qld, along with the already relocated Sth/Syd would have given us 14 teams. Bottom 2 ranked teams from the 3 main states drop out and make way for the top 2 locally ranked squads.

But too late for that kinda dream.

Love it how Mike asks Beasley why he started League football so late, Beasley rightfully told him he didnt and had been playing league football at Swan Districts. Mike just shuts up then as he is vic centric about everything.
I remember Blight telling him no one cared in SA about the VFL and Mike again quickly changed the subject.
In those days VFL/WAFL/SANFL League games were exactly the same achievement and level.

Wasn't Simon Beasley a late starter to WAFL. Didn't he play in the Amateurs until he was 21 ?

I can understand your frustration but I dont think you're being fair or even accurate.
The VFL morphed into the AFL. It was those Victorian clubs who took the gamble of trying to create a national competition, and while it still has many, many problems and couldve been done in far better ways, it is what it is. And I do see a WCE tag under the team you follow, without the Victorian competition and history there would be no WCE.

And 75 percent of the country laugh at it now? 75 percent of the AFL following public are based in Victoria, so we both know that is just emotion talking there.

Laughing stock of the country? What are WCE and Freo home ground crowds like in comparison to the WAFL or SANFL?

And you dont think the VFL becoming the AFL hasnt hurt Victorian clubs? Have you seen Sth Melb or Fitzroy lately? And how much longer do you think North or Footscray will last?

Then you add in GWS and GC to dominate drafts and affect lower ranking clubs, as mine was as GC came in, by taking the cream of the draft.

Spare me mate, Vic clubs have been screwed over too you know.

Ideally back in the day it wouldve been a seperate comp, Best 4 clubs in 1986 from WA, SA and VIC go into a national Premier type League while adding a team from Tassie and Qld, along with the already relocated Sth/Syd would have given us 14 teams. Bottom 2 ranked teams from the 3 main states drop out and make way for the top 2 locally ranked squads.

But too late for that kinda dream.

Dice Man I hope you do realise that without the likes of the WCE & Brisbane coming into the VFL in 87 & the millions of dollars that their licence fees & subsequent TV rights deals brought with them, the likes of Footscray & North Melbourne would have been gonski by the late 80's! :rolleyes:

Countless numbers of them mate, but whats the point. The country has been sold that unless you played VFL you were second rate.
It is a joke the whole AFL saga and to see professional blokes like Mike being able to turn a blind eye is obviously a simple cheque in the mail.
The history over the real history of Australian football has become so Vic centric that it is laughable now.

The funny thing GWS is that WA & SA football watchers are probably more knowledgeable on Australian Football history than many of our Victorian counterparts as we not only had our own WAFL & SANFL to watch live on a Saturday afternoon but we could also watch a VFL game live on TV on a Sunday Afternoon & then watch the Winners on a Sunday Night & see the replay of other VFL games ..& thus we could see for our own eyes that the standard between our respective WAFL/SANFL competitions was not that much different from the VFL! But try telling Mike "VFL Only" Sheahan that there was not much difference between the standard of VFL footy to the WAFL/SANFL of the 70's & 80's!! :rolleyes: