Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Corey was a bit dull. I was disappointed that he didn't throw Dennis under the bus. Mike was trying so hard to get something out of him, but he played it down at every opportunity.

At least Sheahan didn't spend 90% of the program talking about drugs, drinking, gambling or legal problems. I enjoyed it, the problem with him not giving Mike the big story he's after is that Corey McKernan has too much respect for people to hang a bloke like Pagan out to dry.

In a few years time a Ben Cousins open mike would be interesting. Would be nice if he revealed a bit more about the culture of the eagles in the early 00's.

stated he was still close with a lot of the boys, probably doesnt want to stir the pot

Im not looking for controversy just was not a great one. He seemed to question himself a lot on reflectiom too, almost seemed to feel like he should of retired about 1998

In a few years time a Ben Cousins open mike would be interesting. Would be nice if he revealed a bit more about the culture of the eagles in the early 00's.

Don't be ridiculous... haven't you read this thread?

People only want to hear Cousins' thoughts on how to hold the football when he kicks it, and other such boring crap such as how playing in the WAFL for 2 years was so much more interesting than everything else.

I can understand your frustration but I dont think you're being fair or even accurate.
The VFL morphed into the AFL. It was those Victorian clubs who took the gamble of trying to create a national competition, and while it still has many, many problems and couldve been done in far better ways, it is what it is.
And you dont think the VFL becoming the AFL hasnt hurt Victorian clubs? Have you seen Sth Melb or Fitzroy lately? And how much longer do you think North or Footscray will last?

Then you add in GWS and GC to dominate drafts and affect lower ranking clubs, as mine was as GC came in, by taking the cream of the draft.

Spare me mate, Vic clubs have been screwed over too you know.

Ideally back in the day it wouldve been a seperate comp, Best 4 clubs in 1986 from WA, SA and VIC go into a national Premier type League while adding a team from Tassie and Qld, along with the already relocated Sth/Syd would have given us 14 teams. Bottom 2 ranked teams from the 3 main states drop out and make way for the top 2 locally ranked squads.

But too late for that kinda dream.

I know it doesnt fit in with your VFL view of the Development of the AFL but the SWANS MOVED TO SYDNEY IN 1982. South Melbourne were well & truly financially stuffed BEFORE the AFL started.
The AFL was the VFL response to being financially rooted.

Am not going to get into the VFL v WAFL/SANFL debate, but honestly I don't think I want to see an interview where Mike Sheahan talks to someone like Rick Davies (as great as that would be) or Barry Cable.

We know exactly how the conversation would go.

"Barry - you grew up in the Perth town of Narrogin and couldn't get a game with East Fremantle. You then tried your luck at Perth where you won 7 best & fairests and three Sandover Medals in a great career. Why did you take so long to come to North Melbourne?"

"One of the more famous incidents in your career was when you were cleaned up by Leigh Matthews. Was he the best player you ever played against?"

"Tell me about Ron Barassi. How good of a coach was he?"

A Jumbo Prince interview would spend 15 minutes of the interview talking about his one season at the Hawks, and gloss over everything else in a condescending manner.

Unfortunately I don't remember Mckernan in his prime. I remember him being booed by his own supporters at Optus Oval playing for the blues.

Seems like he was a weird player. Very good and very bad.

Unfortunately I don't remember Mckernan in his prime. I remember him being booed by his own supporters at Optus Oval playing for the blues.

Seems like he was a weird player. Very good and very bad.

When he was on, he was a very good player. But when he was off...man he was off

Maclure will have many stories to tell. He'll talk anyone's ear off. I can't see him being too controversial, but he'll be more interesting than Corey.

He was mostly off though from memory.

Strange selection really.
His first three years in the game were as good as anyone. Unfortunately, he became a very inconsistent player thereafter. I'd go as far as saying he was a wasted talent.

I'd love too see if he can track down Leon Baker or Paul Van Der Haar, they'd have many interesting stories to tell.

His first three years in the game were as good as anyone. Unfortunately, he became a very inconsistent player thereafter. I'd go as far as saying he was a wasted talent.

I'd love too see if he can track down Leon Baker or Paul Van Der Haar, they'd have many interesting stories to tell.

McKernan went off big time - Went from a close to elite player, to a borderline AFL player in the space of two years. Did get back some of his form when he was traded to Carlton. Think he may have had some issues with his eyes !

Sellars will have many yarns for Mike. A bit like Mckernan in that, he started his career off in a blaze of glory, but after a few years his performances declined. It was more of a slow burn. Played both CHF and CHB, though his better performances were at CHF. A strong player who was very team orientated, average pace,solid mark, strong in the contest and a decent kick. Think he was reported in his first game ! And he was in the Val Perovic class for drinking.

Corey made a really slow start at Carlton, and I remember games, particularly early on, at which Carlton fans would mock him relentlessly. His form picked up in the second half of the season and he actually won the Best & Fairest! (though, perhaps that said more about Carlton that season than it did about McKernan himself!)

Agree with others that the interview was a bit dull.