Open Training - Good Friday

Hey Scodog, if you head to the AFL site you will find a whole thread full of people who agree with my point of view regarding Good Friday games and the appeal telecast.

Back on topic and by all reports the call for people to come out and raise money at training this morning has been a success.

Some reports put the crowd at over 1,000 people, which isn't bad for a laid back training session.

Apparently Nathan Brown isn't out there, no surprise though as he's playing tomorrow and there's simply no need for him to train today and risk anything occurring.

I'm sure there will be better reports later on from posters who are/were actually there.:)

Hey Scodog, if you head to the AFL site you will find a whole thread full of people who agree with my point of view regarding Good Friday games and the appeal telecast.

Have you not read my posts?? I have absolutely no issue with football on Good Friday I actually agreed with you on your idea of the crucifixtion and resurrection cups. I actually think its a ripper concept even though it's a little tongue in cheek and has no possibility of getting over the line.

My issue with you on this is simply because of your attitude towards the Good Friday appeal which I find poor but your more than entitled to it....

Back on topic has the session started yet?

I was there (along with around 1000 others... great turnout).

Nathan Brown wasn't there, as it was only the senior squad for tomorrow's game.

The session was short and really uneventful. It really was just a touch session, where players just rolled around and got some touches in loosely structured drills.

Didn't like the look of a big thick bandage on Taz's leg, but seemed to move okay.

Yep, definately over 1k there! So I'll give you all a report as I said I would;

VFL SIDE:
First before the seniors came out the VFL side trained. Nathan Brown was notably absent.

What they did was fairly basic, the did the hash (#) drill. They did some handball and kicking drills including gathering the ball from low, and also they did a drill where the squad was positioned up roughly and they had to get the ball to the other end, without pressure. So basically they were all on the same team. In this drill they used the wings to get the ball through.

Corey Gault: He spent most of his time in this drill in the forward line as the only forward in there. He's slowly building up I noticed, he's got a good strong mark, although there were no contested marking situations.

Kirk Ugle: He's got a bag of tricks when it comes to goals. He's pretty accurate, and trains hard, as does Marley Williams, which is good.

Jarrod Witts: He also tried to replicate some of Ugez's tricks, but as expected he missed to the near side. It was a nice effort though. He's a very big guy, good mark. He's got a lot of muscle, which I wasn't expecting. I'd say he'd be able for a senior callup soon.

Simon Buckley: He's got a big kick on him, was mixed through the people taking kickouts and the ones kicking goals.

Ben Johnson: Trained well, I'd say he will play next weekend, he didn't look injured.

Michael Hartley: Was used in the group kicking out, shanked one horribly; it went into the crowd. Other than that though, he looked good, his kicks were accurate.

The boys did some rucking situations, while forwards and backs did their own thing. Forwards were kicking goals on the run, after they threw the ball to a team mate and they tapped it down to the ground, the player would then chase for the ball and kick it to goal.

Jon Ceglar was good in the ruck, he was competitive with Wood, who had his shoulder strapped.

The backs were doing kickouts, then the remainder of the back group were recieving and doing a 1-2 with a team mate and then kicking to a coach.

After that the boys were on the boundary line in lines, a coach was about 10 metres in, in line with them. The coach kicked the ball to the player running towards them, they had to mark, continue running and handpass it back to the coach. This is where I noticed the intensity of young Marley. He was one of the only players sprinting for the ball, the others were jogging. Next the drill changed to the coach rolling the ball to the running player, the player would gather and handpass it back.

That was the last drill they did, the majority of the group went back to the Westpac Centre. The most senior boys in that training were; Johnson, Wood and Didak.

After that, Wood and Didak remained back with two of the coaches, and continued working.

Wood: He was kicking goals from around 60-70 metres out, most of them went in, which was a good effort considering the intensity of the wind out there. He would run to get the ball and run back.

Didak: Didak was kept on his toes, having to kick to the coach, then run the other way, mark and kick back the other way. After about 10 minutes of this he crouched down with his head between his knees and had a breather for about 5 minutes. After the breather, although I'm not sure if the coach let him had it or Dids had just run out of steam. I was thinking the latter, Dids continued for another couple of minutes and then went in with Wood.

AFL SIDE:
The boys finally came out, they changed their shoes, the ones which were quicker; Ball, Pendlebury namely, had a kick to kick. The boys went for a warmup lap, stopping 3 times within the lap to stretch. Next the group did another kick to kick with a partner, this then changed to handballing, and later to handballing then running to the other 50 arc and back, then continuing the process.

Maxy, Rounds, Young and Yagmoor trained with them, Beams wasn't there, that I could see anyway.

The group split up again, forwards goal kicking, midfield doing a 'get out of traffic' drill, where they were split and half were trying to keep the ball the other half trying to intercept the handballs. Backs were doing a similar drill to the VFL boys, they were kicking then doing a 1-2 handpass, then kicked it to the player opposite them.

Alex Fasolo: Kept missing targets, the coach (not sure who the forward coach is) yelled his name dissapointedly. Fas told the crowd he'd warmed up, then took a shot and go it in, he celebrated. Him and Heater were trying to get better goals than eachother. Although his shots were on target, had there not been the wind pushing it to the far side then it would've made it through.

Jackson Paine: Took some good marks and got all his set shots in.

Chris Dawes: Got all but one in, but that was the wind's fault. Had tape on his knee, not sure if it was more of a bandaid type tape or if he was carrying a niggle.

Paul Seedsman: He suprised me, did very well in the goalkicking, he's looking good.

Dane Swan: Sporting a new hair cut, shaved at the bottom. Trained well as usual.

While they did that, Jolly was having a bit of 1on1 time with Bucks, they just handballed to eachother, nothing too strenuos.

The players slowly changed to the speckie bag, where they all got to show what they've got infront of the huge crowd. Daisy, Cloke, Fas, Paine, Dawes and Pendles got some good air time.

The players then did the same drill as the VFL boys, lines on the boundary line, coach 10 metres in, the coach delivered the ball the player had to handball it back.

Tyson Goldsack: Didn't look hampered by his shoulder, which was of concern last Saturday Night. Trained well.

Chris Tarrant: He also looked good to go, he participated in all the drills.

Nick Maxwell: Didn't look to bad, he should be right for next week no doubt. He's disappointed to miss, but understands it's better to be fit for the long run.

The players then did fake kicks, where they were aiming somewhere, but instead used the outside of their boot to deliver somewhere else.

Then they did a star handball drill, coaches were in the middle of the star trying to intercept the ball.

I think I pretty much covered it all, after that the boys hung around for a fair while signing, taking photos and taking donations.

Also as a side note, Sharrod Wellingham was not seen in the VFL or AFL side.

If anyone wants some information on a specific player just say and I'll try and recall something for you :)

Good Friday Appeal sends a terrific message to the community and brings people together. It makes people stop and think.
I do like the idea of the Crucifixion Cup with proceeds going to the Good Friday Appeal. Tin rattlers, percentage of the gate, percentage of food and beverage revenue, half time promo. Should be a block buster involving Coll, Carl, Ess, Rich, Haw or maybe even Melb or North. Possilbly Melb v North during the day at Ethiad and maybe even a bigger game at the G at night?

Don't Storm play on Good Friday? Would be a great fundraiser for the hospital.

However, it is the holiest day on the Christian Calendar.

I was there (along with around 1000 others... great turnout).

Nathan Brown wasn't there, as it was only the senior squad for tomorrow's game.

The session was short and really uneventful. It really was just a touch session, where players just rolled around and got some touches in loosely structured drills.

Didn't like the look of a big thick bandage on Taz's leg, but seemed to move okay.

VFL would of Trained Early this Morning

Paine trained very well, didnt miss a set shot.
Fas was innacurate.
Beams was there and trained well.
maxy trained strongly, dont know why hes missing again.
and ben reid didnt do much only kicking with butters i think??

Paine trained very well, didnt miss a set shot.
Fas was innacurate.
Beams was there and trained well.
maxy trained strongly, dont know why hes missing again.
and ben reid didnt do much only kicking with butters i think??

Big Game for Paine Tomorrow Night;)

Is Reid Injured? or just not Pushing Him?

I believe in people paying as much tax as is required to provide good to excellent services. I do not believe that money for public hospitals should have to be raised by charity. My cousin's 2 year old child is having a foot amputation in the hospital today and my cousin is staying in the new accomodations.

Putting myself in the shoes of these parents is not going to change my mind. Yes I do believe that the appeal on ch 7 that goes all day from memory makes for very boring viewing on a dull day. My point is that if we were taxed at a higher rate to fund a top class medical service these appeals would not be necessary. And we should be doing a lot more than we are for people who do not have the same level of care in their country as we do in our country.

If your worried about it being boring TV then here's a tip. Channel 9 , 10 , 11 ,one , abc 1 , abc 2 , abc 3 , abc 24 , sbs1, sbs 2 ,72 ,73, gem and go. If your TV doesn't pick up these channels maybe a DVD or we could do an all day appeal to get you one.

Really complaining against fund raising for sick kids. What has the world come to.

If your worried about it being boring TV then here's a tip. Channel 9 , 10 , 11 ,one , abc 1 , abc 2 , abc 3 , abc 24 , sbs1, sbs 2 ,72 ,73, gem and go. If your TV doesn't pick up these channels maybe a DVD or we could do an all day appeal to get you one.

Really complaining against fund raising for sick kids. What has the world come to.

Mate, if you read me properly, you would know that I am in favour of taxing people more for medical services so that we do not have to resort to raising money thru charity for something that should be paid for by us all. Then ch 7 would not have to run a boring fund raiser all day and we could have a footy match in the evening.

But I suppose like so many Australians you would rather pay less tax for less public service. A hospital (of any kind) should not be relying on charity for revenue.

If you care to check the thread on the AFL site you will find plenty of people who think the appeal makes for boring TV and think 7 should be showing a footy game instead.

Mate, if you read me properly, you would know that I am in favour of taxing people more for medical services so that we do not have to resort to raising money thru charity for something that should be paid for by us all. Then ch 7 would not have to run a boring fund raiser all day and we could have a footy match in the evening.

But I suppose like so many Australians you would rather pay less tax for less public service. A hospital (of any kind) should not be relying on charity for revenue.

If you care to check the thread on the AFL site you will find plenty of people who think the appeal makes for boring TV and think 7 should be showing a footy game instead.
Don't agree entirely with the way you put things MMD but total agreement for higher taxes to provide decent public services.

Far too many have bought the mindless drivel about governments needing to be trim and make a profit.

Governments exist to provide services and leadership to the community not to sell public assetts willy nilly and wash their hands of the responsibility they were elected to serve.

Rant over :eek:

TD , tigers might have trouble containing all 3 big forwards, which will be goood.
Hes a better mark then dawes, but i still like dawesy better.
Not quite sure, he certainly wasnt being pushed, if hes injured hes not badly injured.
Also Jolly looks very very fresh.
and wtf is with swannys new haircut haha:thumbsdown:

On the appeal topic:

Without the funding the rch is a good hospital. The funding enables it to be a world class institute. People from all over the world travel to our children's hospital.

The government fund and we give to keep it leading edge.

I don't understand how anyone can not support such an amazing cause.

On the appeal topic:

Without the funding the rch is a good hospital. The funding enables it to be a world class institute. People from all over the world travel to our children's hospital.

The government fund and we give to keep it leading edge.

I don't understand how anyone can not support such an amazing cause.

Fantastically put Shellz!

Good to hear about the photo with taz as well

Good Friday is easily the most boring day of the year, whether Collingwood train or not. I also fail to see why the Good Friday appeal is seen as such a big deal, giving money to a hospital that already receives money through taxation. There are people much worse off in overseas' countries that are more in need of money than a childrens' hospital which has just been moved into plush new buildings. Not to mention the fact that one TV channel devotes much of its programming on an already dull viewing day to showing half-baked celebrities personning phones in a studio.

When is the AFL going to wake up and hold a Crucifiction Cup on Good Friday, which could be followed up on the Monday by the Resurrection Cup? Enough of Good Friday boredom.

I was a patient of the children's for a couple of years. They are a fantastic hospital and I have no doubt that the money raised on good Friday goes a lot further than in any other hospital.
I do see your point RE: taxation, but I have to agree with Scoodog in saying that if it even helps save one child's life it's worth it.

Good Friday matches are fine by me. I think people, regardless of their religious beliefs or anything else, would be happy to have games on a Friday.
:)

Here is a selection of comments from the thread on bigfooty AFL. Many support the appeal but not the ch 7 fund raiser and some suggest alternate means of raising the money thru playing a Good Friday match:

How could it not be considered a good thing to bring 60k+ people together and have good Friday appeal collectors everywhere? Done right, a shitload of cash could be raised including a lot of people who wouldn't donate the regular way. I can't stand the appeal broadcast with c grade celebrities talking crap for hours. A game of Footy between two big clubs would be better for awareness than the same old shit we see each year.

What is Good Friday anyway?

I'm beginning to think that Demetriou's attitude has more to do with channel 7's reluctance to televise the game in opposition to their Good Friday appeal. Could be massive for Fox Footy if they were able to televise a game in the future.

I would like to see an evening game played between Stkilda v North.

The proceeds of the game are kept by the clubs, but collectors at the ground and on the telecast constantly promote the appeal. I've no doubt that they would make more money appealing for people to donate during the footy, than they would with whatever they would serve up in the evening part of the appeal.

Win for the hospital, win for the clubs, and win for all footy fans.

I think it should be an occasion where the afl raises money for charity. It'd be great to have it be like the Anzac day match but not the same teams every year. Also with channel 7 hosting the footy it would make for a great part of the good friday appeal.

Thank goodness I am yet to see why there should not be a match on. If Melbourne is so focused on a silly charity thing, then put 2 of of Melbourne teams playing....

Originally Posted by LightTower4
I wouldn't call raising money for sick kids a silly charity.
That said, I'm all for the footy on Good Friday. A game of footy would not affect the donations, infact it would probably help it.
The Channel 7 telethon is very ordinary viewing and it's amazing the public donate the amounts they do given Channel 7's lame 'gala concert' or whatever they call it that comes on at 8.30. Most people have donated by 7.30 anyway - 7 hold back on big corporate donations towards the end of the evening to to make it worthwhile viewin

What is good Friday? .......Sigh ..........whatever

Also not a single person has argued against your call to play a game, we are all pulling you up for remarks on the fundraiser.

Even as a catholic, I'd be happy to see a game, but like I said your posts on the fundraiser have been the height of stupidity, the fact you think we are arguing over a game getting played proves it

Good Friday football would be good but don't call it the crucifixion cup , RCH cup would be better than some religious BS.

Also not a single person has argued against your call to play a game, we are all pulling you up for remarks on the fundraiser.

Even as a catholic, I'd be happy to see a game, but like I said your posts on the fundraiser have been the height of stupidity, the fact you think we are arguing over a game getting played proves it

I am well aware the fundraiser is the bone of contention, hence the comments regarding the effectiveness of a fundraiser that I quoted i.e. replace it with a match. If that happens, then ch 7 will broadcast a match rather than a bunch of celebs on phones.

My main gripe is that there is nothing interesting, such as a footy match, to watch on good friday. If we need fundraisers because of insufficient revenue from taxes then so be it, but we do not need to devote an entire day of TV programming to raise it.

My other point is that we give an infintesimal amount in oversea's aid. If I had to choose between giving to the children's hospital or Oxfam or Doctors without Borders, my money would go to the latter 2 causes which most need it, not the children's hospital which is already extremely well supported.

If you had ever lived in a 3rd world country, you would see for yourself that people in those countries get almost no help, whereas in Australia, everyone is going to get far better than a basic level of care.

What charities do you support that help people beyond our own borders? Or do you just want to help those who are already well off in the first place?

I'm a Protestant Opti... So we should probably never speak to each other.

;):p

Open Training - Good Friday